Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ben's Garlic Cheddar Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ben's Garlic Cheddar Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2012

      I made these, instead of scalloped potatoes, to go with a new meatloaf recipe that I was trying. I only made one modification, after preparing them as described here...I added a small container of sour cream. The potatoes were AWESOME and perfectly complemented the meatloaf. My husband was absolutely in love with these. They'll definitely be making a return appearance to my dinner table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      These were good, but I'm not sure if I would make them again or not. If so, I may adjust the amount of cheese sauce as the potatoes were softer than we like. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      So simple and so good! Honestly, this is simple enough for a week night and good enough for Thanksgiving. I did use a but more garlic than ask for but I usually do in most things. The potatoes cooked while I did the did the chops and veggies then it was a matter of 3 mins to smash up those spuds and enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      These were really easy to put together and had a great flavor. I used OreIdas steam and mash potatoes and it was the perfect amount and make the cook time a lot faster. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Thought these were pretty good, but I guess my potatoes were a little large because I had to add more milk, and I wish I had added more butter and garlic to strengthen the flavor. Next time, I'll make those changes and maybe top it with bacon, cheese and chives! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      These were very well-flavored mashed potatoes. Heating the sauce was a good way to make sure the ingredients were well blended and the potatoes would stay hot. My potatoes must have been extra-large because I needed to increase the quantity of all the sauce ingredients (except the garlic).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      My daughter voted this the bestest smashed potatoes ever! I followed the recipe as written except the salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      If you love mashed potato,you can't fail to love this.I also went down the low fat route with the milk and the cheese,and used low fat margarine instead of butter. It still tasted absolutely delicious!! Thanks WiGal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Very good but I found that the milk wasn't quite enough for my size of potatoes so I added more until I got the right consistency. I love the method used here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Very yummy side for apple-cider basted pork roast. Yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      I love the recipe. Only change I made was using half and half instead of milk and kosher salt. This will be a go to recipe for sure. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Yum! This is so good. I did use fat free half and half instead of the milk and low fat sharp cheese. This I hope made it lower in fat. Loved the combination of ingredients. We enjoy our mashed potatoes on the thick side so just used a potato masher and not a mixer. Thanks for posting. Made for Fall PAC 2009 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Next time I will cut down on the garlic. Made for Ramadan Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      i loved these potatoes. The garlic & cheese in them was great. Made for "Every Day is a Holiday"! tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      I liked it, but found it a little dry. DS didn't care for it at all. I made as posted, and used sharp cheddar. Thanks for posting! Made for Holiday Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      Usually I don't like garlic mashed potatoes but these ones I love them probably because of the cheese. I had orange old cheddar, it was not sharp enough. I'll have to try with shard cheddar cheese. Thanks WiGal :) Made for Holiday tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      I realize that many people prefer their mashed potatoes smoothly white (or as close to it as some added cheese will allow), but since I like the skins, most of the time I just don't peel the potatoes, & I didn't for this recipe either! Just diced them on the small side & steamed them! After that, the recipe directions were followed right on down, & we had a GREAT TASTING SIDE DISH ~ The sharp cheddar really did it! Thanks for sharing a very nice recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in I Recommend tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Great potatoes! I used twissis' idea of making the cheese sauce in the pan I cooked the potatoes in, then adding them back in and mashing - it worked perfectly. I used an extra clove of garlic and the potatoes had such great flavor. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      These were quite good, though honestly I think I prefer them without the cheese. I used unpeeled Yukon gold potatoes (personal preference) and scaled it down a little. Because I wasn't sure how it compared quantity-wise to the Russett potatoes, I didn't mix the cheese and milk in with the garlic-butter mixture, but added them in until it seemed enough. The cheese gave it a somewhat gooey texture that I wasn't crazy about, but the flavor was good. I also used 3 large cloves of garlic in the batch, so about tripled--we love garlicky potatoes! Thanks for posting, WiGal! Made for Holiday Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      These are easy to make and so delicious! I love the taste of garlic, the cheese, the butter, how they're all blended together..oh, and I garnished it with cheese :D WoW! Thanks for posting this, WiGal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ben's Garlic Cheddar Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.1
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    31%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 29.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 440.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites