85 Reviews

I decided to make this tonight since I had some leftover beef that I could add and make a quick one dish meal. I was delighted that it was so easy to make and tasted great! I used basmati rice and green onions, light butter and a bit more soy sauce than called for. Will definitely make again. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas March 26, 2010

I lived in Okinawa Japan for three years and while it is American dish they made this everywhere but, they used ginger jelly to fry it in. I can't find it here in the states so I add either fresh or powered ginger to it . It makes a big difference. I also use frozen peas and carrots to shorten the cooking time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aylalea March 23, 2015

Good simple fried rice. Carrot must be precooked or cut in very small pieces (instructions suggest grated?) to cook through in such a short time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 06, 2014

Great rice, but NOT the Benihana recipe - their TRUE secret is adding garlic to the butter before bringing it to your table, in fact it is best to make it and let it sit in the freezer for a while. I have the real recipe, but I definitely don't feel like posting it here...this is close though, just add garlic for near perfection in rice technology!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adamcooksoakland January 14, 2012

This is close to how I cooked it when I lived in Japan. We added cooked ground beef to the pan when the eggs were done and then melted the butter. Then the other ingredients were added and mixed constantly until done.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Etienne January 17, 2010

Loved this; my idea of excellent comfort food. Because I served this with Evergreen's Sesame Chicken which already has plenty of soy sauce, I decided to flavor this with oyster sauce. Wonderful way to enjoy brown basmati, Andy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea February 03, 2008

This recipe for Benihaha Japanese Fried Rice has now become one of my fiance and I's favorite meals. I had to double the recipe as it does not make enough for two "hearty servings." I used plain white rice and added extra soy sauce based on our preference. We also mixed in chicken breast that we had cooked. Very similar taste to our favorite Japanese restaurant but with half the calories and half the cost!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlightner2015 June 24, 2015

This recipe is close to Benihana Rice but so far all recipes I have reviewed for the copycat is off on one thing. The garlic butter is omitted. If you go to Benihana again taste it well and slowly and think what you taste. Garlic for sure. I will write a recipe for Benihana Copycat Rice and it is so darn close. But this recipe gets 4 stars because it is very close to the real thing. Great job!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Simply Delish March 28, 2014

This is by far the BEST recipe I have ever come across for Fried Rice. It never fails, always tastes like it is from a great Chinese or Japanese Restaurant, is super easy and my family LOVES it! <br/><br/>AND you can adjust it any way you want and it still tastes right! You can add/subtract ingredients ... it is a great recipe to always have handy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DannyBoyBrady August 04, 2013

REALLY good fried rice recipe. I served this with some garlic chicken and soup. Thank you for sharing with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 05, 2013
Benihana Japanese Fried Rice