102 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks for this recipe. It has become a big favorite with my family.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellen October 29, 2001

It was okay, not a lot of taste - I may try the comments above, but it was good for a hot meal.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen Jones October 15, 2001

This is the first I have made this super casserole and since you gave several options for the ingredients I will list what I put in it: Whole wheat macaroni, 1 lb hamburger, i spanish onion, 3 cloves garlic 1 14 oz can Italian stewed tomatoes, Campbells Cheddar cheese soup, aged cheddar cheese some sliced and some grated 1 tsp hot pepper flakes. I placed sliced cheese on top with spaces between and then sprinkled grated over the spaces The casserole is excellent. This recipe filled a 9"x13"x2"pan and made 6 Belly buster servings (I have frozen 5).I remember when you posted this (I think it was one of your first recipes) and it hit the top of the charts for weeks -I don't know where all the 5 star reviews went but I know there were at least 100 reviews. well deserved too. Thanks Derf for a great casserole recipe -- posted Apr 11, 2004, 4 members found this helpful Additional comments _ I made this recipe with chicken and it is equally as good enjoyed by all Thanks again Derf

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy August 15, 2005

We will make this again. It was enjoyed by all. I just added some velvetta cheese sauce with jalapenoes in it and I added 1/4 c Salsa. Excellent thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy ny April 04, 2010

I purposely made this bland for my youngest. He is a VERY picky eater. And he loved it! Instead on the canned soup, I used some cheddarella. For the adults in the house, to kick up the flavor a bit, we added some salsa to it. Thanks so much, Derf. A definite keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ March 30, 2010

I've made this recipe a few times and I think it is a great recipe. I use this recipe as a base and add whatever other ingredients I may have such as kidney beans, italian sausage, taco seasoning, etc. Very easy and very tasty

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassytoon October 25, 2009

This was very nice, I made it pretty much as directed, but since I try to sneak pureed veggies into my kids meals, I added with success 1/2 cup of pureed cauliflower, 1/4 cup of pumkin, and 1/4 cup of yellow squash, and my childrem and I gobbled it down...Thank you

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmsings October 11, 2009

All I can here is "MMMMMMMM....Goooood"!!!! This was a hit.....no leftovers tho!!! lol

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meeka777 April 17, 2004

My children love this...the name alone cracks them up ! We have found it makes quite a lot, and the leftovers tend to get kinda starchy and pasty, so we add some salsa or spaghetti sauce when we reheat the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri Newell February 27, 2004
Belly Buster