Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Belly Buster Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Belly Buster

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2001

      Thanks for this recipe. It has become a big favorite with my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2001

      It was okay, not a lot of taste - I may try the comments above, but it was good for a hot meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2001

    • on August 15, 2005

      This is the first I have made this super casserole and since you gave several options for the ingredients I will list what I put in it: Whole wheat macaroni, 1 lb hamburger, i spanish onion, 3 cloves garlic 1 14 oz can Italian stewed tomatoes, Campbells Cheddar cheese soup, aged cheddar cheese some sliced and some grated 1 tsp hot pepper flakes. I placed sliced cheese on top with spaces between and then sprinkled grated over the spaces The casserole is excellent. This recipe filled a 9"x13"x2"pan and made 6 Belly buster servings (I have frozen 5).I remember when you posted this (I think it was one of your first recipes) and it hit the top of the charts for weeks -I don't know where all the 5 star reviews went but I know there were at least 100 reviews. well deserved too. Thanks Derf for a great casserole recipe -- posted Apr 11, 2004, 4 members found this helpful Additional comments _ I made this recipe with chicken and it is equally as good enjoyed by all Thanks again Derf

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      We will make this again. It was enjoyed by all. I just added some velvetta cheese sauce with jalapenoes in it and I added 1/4 c Salsa. Excellent thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      I purposely made this bland for my youngest. He is a VERY picky eater. And he loved it! Instead on the canned soup, I used some cheddarella. For the adults in the house, to kick up the flavor a bit, we added some salsa to it. Thanks so much, Derf. A definite keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      I've made this recipe a few times and I think it is a great recipe. I use this recipe as a base and add whatever other ingredients I may have such as kidney beans, italian sausage, taco seasoning, etc. Very easy and very tasty

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      This was very nice, I made it pretty much as directed, but since I try to sneak pureed veggies into my kids meals, I added with success 1/2 cup of pureed cauliflower, 1/4 cup of pumkin, and 1/4 cup of yellow squash, and my childrem and I gobbled it down...Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2004

      All I can here is "MMMMMMMM....Goooood"!!!! This was a hit.....no leftovers tho!!! lol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2004

      My children love this...the name alone cracks them up ! We have found it makes quite a lot, and the leftovers tend to get kinda starchy and pasty, so we add some salsa or spaghetti sauce when we reheat the next day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2014

      After reading everyone's posts, and hearing that some felt this main dish was bland tasting, I decided to kick this dish up a notch, so I used a mild Italian sausage in place of the hamburger, and boy did that really give this main dish lots of flavor. Also when making this... I decreased the elbow macaroni to 12 ounces, and used a 1/4 cup of yellow diced onion, plus I used 1-1/2 teaspoons of jarred minced garlic, also used 1-(14.5 oz.) can of plain/regular diced tomatoes, and 1-(14.5 oz.) can Del Monte Diced Tomatoes with Garlic & Onion (in place of the 28-oz. can of whole tomatoes). After I browned the sausage, onion and garlic, (and draining off any excess grease), I then heated the meat, tomatoes, and soup all together in the same skillet while I cooked the macaroni. And once the soup was incorporated into the meat/tomato mixture, I then added 1-cup of shredded (sharp) cheddar cheese, and stirred till the cheese was all most mixed in, but not completely melted in. After I added the meat/tomato mixture and the macaroni into a 4-quart baking dish, I topped the casserole with 1-cup of the shredded cheese. I loved how the cheese on top the casserole, was a bit crusty after it baked in the oven. I really liked how this main dish turned out, and will make it again, but next time, I will make this using ground beef, probably use stewed tomatoes, and a can of Campbell's Fiesta Nacho Soup. The possibilities in making this main dish are endless!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

    • on December 04, 2011

      This was pretty good and not as bland as some of the other reviewers made it out to be but I did make a few minor changes due to ingredients on hand! I used 1 box of elbow macaroni, one 14 oz can of stewed tomatoes, one 14 oz can of diced tomatoes, about 1.5 tbsp garlic you get from a jar, 1lb ground beef, onion powder, a can of pepper jack cheese soup, and shredded cheddar on top. It could use a little bit more spice but the guys still ate it up! Next time I might try another users suggestion of hormel no bean chili instead of ground beef even though it is terrible for the body!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      This was a huge dissapointment...even added an extra can of soup, but that did nothing for the flavor...very bland. Also, had way too many noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      I made this tonight for my family. They loved it. I added a teaspoon of Red Wine Vinegar and used diced tomatoes with Italian seasoning. We added sour cream to our bowls and plenty of salt and pepper. All in All, it was pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      I thought it was a bit boring. Instead of the cheese soup, i made a sauce from velveeta, chicken broth and hotsauce. Also, i used a can of chili-ready diced tomatoes. I think ill add salsa and another can of chili-ready next time. If i had jalapenos, i wouldve added them. I wish i could think of more STUFF to put in this! This has some potential to be a college kid's dream recipe. Ill try this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      A perfect dinner for this cool fall weather. We just served it with pear, romaine lettuce and blue cheese salad and Mexican corn. What a treat. Derf, Thank you for posting this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Very easy, very tasty recipe. These are the changes I made: left out the onion and garlic ( I didn't have any on hand) I used a can of diced tomatoes with oregano and basil, and I added two cans of cheese soup rather than one. It made a LOT. Which was great, its given me and dh lunch for a few days. Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I respect your family's recipe and I am very appreciative that you posted it to share with others. However, in my honest opinion I think this recipe lacked flavor. I tried adding spice to tinker with it without luck. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I am a college student, so I don't have a lot of money to spend on food. I made this recipe because the ingredients were cheap and easy to find and I planned on eating it all week. I loved it! It's delicious, easy to make, easy to reheat, and cheap. The cheese sauce really made it good. I substituted garlic powder for the garlic cloves and used ground turkey instead of ground beef. I will definitely be making this again. I have a picture tutorial of this recipe on my blog: http://www.dreamindomestic.com/2009/10/12/revamping-recipes-belly-buster/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Belly Buster

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 562.4
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    30%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 67.8 mg
    22%
    Sodium 382.5 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.5 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 29.3 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes