47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We have a favorite whole-wheat waffle recipe but I needed one that made just a couple more. This was excellent! My only complaint is that mine didn't get crisp at all. <br/><br/>We have a Belgian waffle maker and this made 7 or 8 (I lost count as my kids kept grabbing the ones I made!).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happygrl April 18, 2013

This will be my new go-to waffle recipe--I had these this morning and really liked how they turned out. They are not as dense as the description made them sound--I would call them "hearty" but not dense (I found them to be pretty airy actually, probably because they use more baking powder than my normal recipe). I was also pleased that they were so light given the use of only whole wheat flour. I cut the recipe by four, and it made 3 waffles; I also used melted butter instead of the oil, which might have helped it crisp up so much. Served with caramelized cinnamon apples--perfect fall breakfast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ames Shaps October 15, 2011

These are great. I used whole wheat pastry flour. I also separated the eggs and whipped the egg whites before folding them into the rest of the mixture. Those changes made a very fluffy, light waffle, which is awesome for whole wheat. Great results! Next time I will add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. Will also try subbing oil with applesauce or pumpkin. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl May 20, 2010

Wonderful waffles, the first recipe I tried in my new Belgian waffle maker. I made 5 servings with 1 egg for a trial batch. They were not too dense and had some crunch, may cook them longer next time. I subbed stevia for the sugar, light margarine melted for the oil and added a bit of multi grain hot cereal for crunch, more fiber and nutrients. I am going to try subbing apple sauce or pumpkin for the oil as suggested in other comments. Thanks for posting and for all the hints in the comments!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lightlovebeing December 02, 2013

Excellent, healthy waffle recipe. I love that it's made with whole wheat flour. I also like that it doesn't have that much sugar. Once you put some pure maple syrup over them, it's plenty sweet enough! Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood November 10, 2013

LOVED IT--To me it was fluffy, yet dense at the same time, Very filling I used 2/3 cup of batter per waffle for my waffle maker. I also halved the recipe (with 2 eggs). They didn't come out as pretty as some of the pictures still, but rarely anything I make does :). Delicious! I have a few extra waffles and I am really hoping that they are going to freeze and reheat well,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon0911 February 10, 2013

Excellent whole wheat waffle recipe. Definitely the best I have had. The whole family loved it. I added mini chocolate chips for my kids & husband as a special treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UBThere2 February 08, 2013

These were great! Light and fluffy with good flavor. Worked well with my waffle maker. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life February 04, 2013

I was feeling lazy this morning and wanted a recipe using whole grain flour that didn't require me to separate and beat the yolks and whites separately. I used Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour in place of regular whole wheat flour. The amount of baking powder seemed off, and because I was almost out I only used one tablespoon of baking powder. My waffles came out light and fluffy with a great taste. Whole wheat flours vary immensely from brand to brand and depending on the density of the flour you might need to use all three tablespoons. of baking powder. I mentioned Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour by name because I've had great success in substituting it for white flour in most recipes ( I wouldn't use it in cakes where a fine crumb is desired). When using whole wheat flours it is important to let the batter sit for 10-15 minutes so the flour can absorb the liquid. Resist the urge to add more flour at first if the batter seems thin, it will get thicker with time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deniseathome November 11, 2012

WONDERFUL! For 2 adults, half a recipe is enough. I used 2 eggs for half recipe and would use 4 for a full one. We like the egg taste. Beat the eggs for 1 minute before adding the rest. Mix dry ingredients together before gradually adding to eggs and alternate with milk. They were very fluffy, crispy and much better than any batter mix of the market.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anoushka July 31, 2012
Bella's Whole Wheat Belgian Waffles