Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bella's Whole Wheat Belgian Waffles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bella's Whole Wheat Belgian Waffles

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2013

      We have a favorite whole-wheat waffle recipe but I needed one that made just a couple more. This was excellent! My only complaint is that mine didn't get crisp at all. <br/><br/>We have a Belgian waffle maker and this made 7 or 8 (I lost count as my kids kept grabbing the ones I made!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      This will be my new go-to waffle recipe--I had these this morning and really liked how they turned out. They are not as dense as the description made them sound--I would call them "hearty" but not dense (I found them to be pretty airy actually, probably because they use more baking powder than my normal recipe). I was also pleased that they were so light given the use of only whole wheat flour. I cut the recipe by four, and it made 3 waffles; I also used melted butter instead of the oil, which might have helped it crisp up so much. Served with caramelized cinnamon apples--perfect fall breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      These are great. I used whole wheat pastry flour. I also separated the eggs and whipped the egg whites before folding them into the rest of the mixture. Those changes made a very fluffy, light waffle, which is awesome for whole wheat. Great results! Next time I will add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. Will also try subbing oil with applesauce or pumpkin. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      Wonderful waffles, the first recipe I tried in my new Belgian waffle maker. I made 5 servings with 1 egg for a trial batch. They were not too dense and had some crunch, may cook them longer next time. I subbed stevia for the sugar, light margarine melted for the oil and added a bit of multi grain hot cereal for crunch, more fiber and nutrients. I am going to try subbing apple sauce or pumpkin for the oil as suggested in other comments. Thanks for posting and for all the hints in the comments!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      Excellent, healthy waffle recipe. I love that it's made with whole wheat flour. I also like that it doesn't have that much sugar. Once you put some pure maple syrup over them, it's plenty sweet enough! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      LOVED IT--To me it was fluffy, yet dense at the same time, Very filling I used 2/3 cup of batter per waffle for my waffle maker. I also halved the recipe (with 2 eggs). They didn't come out as pretty as some of the pictures still, but rarely anything I make does :). Delicious! I have a few extra waffles and I am really hoping that they are going to freeze and reheat well,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      Excellent whole wheat waffle recipe. Definitely the best I have had. The whole family loved it. I added mini chocolate chips for my kids & husband as a special treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      These were great! Light and fluffy with good flavor. Worked well with my waffle maker. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      I was feeling lazy this morning and wanted a recipe using whole grain flour that didn't require me to separate and beat the yolks and whites separately. I used Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour in place of regular whole wheat flour. The amount of baking powder seemed off, and because I was almost out I only used one tablespoon of baking powder. My waffles came out light and fluffy with a great taste. Whole wheat flours vary immensely from brand to brand and depending on the density of the flour you might need to use all three tablespoons. of baking powder. I mentioned Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour by name because I've had great success in substituting it for white flour in most recipes ( I wouldn't use it in cakes where a fine crumb is desired). When using whole wheat flours it is important to let the batter sit for 10-15 minutes so the flour can absorb the liquid. Resist the urge to add more flour at first if the batter seems thin, it will get thicker with time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      WONDERFUL! For 2 adults, half a recipe is enough. I used 2 eggs for half recipe and would use 4 for a full one. We like the egg taste. Beat the eggs for 1 minute before adding the rest. Mix dry ingredients together before gradually adding to eggs and alternate with milk. They were very fluffy, crispy and much better than any batter mix of the market.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      I was pleasantly surprised at how good these turned out. I did use white whole wheat flour (got it at King Arthur Flour) which gives results closer to white flour than ordinary whole wheat flour. Still, I was expecting a heavy and grainy result, but instead got fluffy regular waffles. Now, these are NOT as light as Belgian waffles made with white flour; they are more like the kind in the freezer section. But, since I'm trying to go whole grain these days, I'm saying this recipe is a keeper. Try it, you'll like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Perfect waffles. Tasty and healthy, thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Very tasty. My first try at Belgian on 2-waffle maker -- lots of excess batter for me, so hoping refrigerating it works & will make more tomorrow. I liked plain with butter the best. UPDATE: I halved the recipe (using 2 eggs) and it didn't seem to come out quite right, so next time I might try halving it using 1 egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Fabulous! I didn't have high hopes for a whole wheat waffle recipe, but these were delicious and had a wonderful, light texture. I love that these were fast and easy to make and that I didn't have to separate eggs and whip egg whites. I used whole wheat pastry flour and ended up with 24 small Belgian waffles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Yum! I actually thought it was very fluffy for a 100% whole wheat waffle. I used applesauce instead of oil; the rest as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Perfect. I had gotten used to whole wheat just not tasting good, and relied on my family being hungry enough to eat anything. These waffles are actually TASTY. ?!?! And easy - other recipes had me whipping egg whites to get them fluffy. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      I did not really like the outcome the first time I tried this recipe with 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil. The second time I used all applesauce, a tablespoon of oatmeal and wheat bran, and pumpkin pie spice and it improved greatly. They came out nice and crispy, just how I like them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      My husband substituted egg whites and one egg, honey for the sugar, and light olive oil, and they were still *amazingly* good! Thanks Bella!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Made enough for about 4 people. I'd say double or quadruple it if you want enough. It was really good though. I subbed some flour for flax meal just to add some omegas and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Delicious! I am always ISO healthy waffles and these are pretty close. I took the suggestion of the last reviewer and subbed some wheat germ and flax. I'll be making these again. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bella's Whole Wheat Belgian Waffles

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.2
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    45%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 39.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 341.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites