14 Reviews

Oh, yes! This is fantastic and makes a fabulous presentation! Thanks so much for the luscious breakfast and dinner frittata.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lutie May 04, 2008

It came out just like the photo! I was so pleased with myself!!! Instead of the cream I actually used lite cottage cheese. Tasted soooooooooo good! My boyfriend could have eaten the whole thing himself given the chance!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HVLS September 10, 2006

Very nice and presentable dish! I love the basic idea of it. Anyhow, I think flavor can be intesified, more mediterranean, by using strong goats cheese for cream cheese and using some herb, I used 2 tsp Herbs de Provence mixture mixed in eggs. Beautiful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare July 20, 2006

This is very tasty and colorful. I halved the recipe. Omitted the summer squash(didn't have it)and the salt. I used 12 grain bread and added some hot turkey sausage, cooked and drained. I baked in a loaf pan. This is on my "for company"list. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH October 18, 2005

I used smoked sausage in mine. It was good but hard to keep lit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dteply2002_12914343 April 04, 2012

This recipe has so much vegetables that I didn't think it was going to fit in my springform pan, but it did. I brought it over to my neighbor's place for our HOA meeting and everyone really like it! I, being very critical of my own cooking, didn't think it was great. It was good, but I thought it needed more salt and flavor. I had already salted all the vegetables while cooking and added 2 1/2 tsp. salt in the egg mixture and it still wasn't salty enough. I also didn't feel like there were enough eggs because it just wasn't eggy enough. It's more like a vegetarian pie. I used 1 1/2 cups of swiss and 1/2 cup of Gruyere and thought that's a lot of cheese, but it wasn't. Actually, I thought it could use a little more cheese. I do, however, love the presentation. Although, my photos didn't come out as nice as the other ones. Overall, a good recipe. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace Lynn July 23, 2011

I made this for work and it got rave reviews. I made the mistake of decorating the bottom of the springform pan before placing the bread cubes on top LOL. Actually, you can decorate the frittata at the end since you don't turn the frittata upside down. I used a combination of whole wheat and white bread cubes. The wheat bread held its shape more. This is really loaded with veggies and it was so pretty no one wanted to cut into it. Even after I cut it, it was still beautiful. Once someone had the first piece it disappeared like magic! Thank you for sharing your recipe LonghornMama!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog October 19, 2007

I made this as part of our Easter dinner for my daughter who is a vegetarian. For once, I thought I would not just provide the traditional vegetarian lasagna. The rest of the family are meat-eaters but I want to respect my daughter’s dietary preferences without being over-whelmed. This, dish was a crowd pleaser; it was something new and was visually appealing. Even though, it included a good dose of squash, the boys ate it without complaint. I did have to carefully monitor the cooking to get it come out right. In my oven, it took longer than expected.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha Mazz April 17, 2006

This was excellent! I took this to work for a "going away party" for a co-worker who got a new job. Everyone raved over it and asked for the recipe. I followed your directions almost exactly. I did have to use a mix of yellow and white cheddar cheese instead of Swiss, and I used whole wheat bread for the bread. This had a wonderful flavor and the presentation was beautiful! Thanks LonghornMama for another wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. October 28, 2005
Bell Pepper Frittata