86 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an excellent recipt. It is so easy to make. Although you have to beat the egg whites, that takes only a few seconds. The waffles are so light and delicious. Don't forget to add the vanilla and salt. Try some cinnamon. Also, I cooked mine for 3 minutes. I make them often.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaine8145 October 28, 2003

Fantastic Waffles. They are so my lighter than normal waffles...which I tend to think weigh you down. I added a little 1/2tsp, cream of tartar and allspice. Delicious!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joygi April 16, 2003

These are the best Belgian Waffles we ever had and they were easy to make.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuAnn Hampe April 05, 2003

I read all the reviews before making these, so I made some modifications before I started. I added 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar (for a total of 4), and decreased the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon. I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt instead of 1 pinch of salt. I have a Salton electric waffle maker - but it's not a Belgian waffle maker. Each waffle took 2 ladles of batter (used my gravy ladle), and I sprinkled some miniature chocolate chips before closing the iron. This made about 12 waffles. I froze the ones we haven't eaten. The kids LOVED these waffles, and said they liked them better than my usual pancakes. This recipe is a keeper!

By the way - I used my Kitchenaide mixer so I beat the egg whites, salt, and vanilla first (whipped the egg whites until fluffy, and then added the salt and vanilla). This was easier than doing it in the order of the recipe - if I did it like the recipe I would have had to transfer the flour mixture to another bowl, clean the bowl, whip the egg whites, and then hand stir them in the flour mixture bowl. Too much work! So I mixed the egg whites first, transferred them to a small bowl, made the flour mixture, and then gently added them to the flour mixture. This saves a step.

I think I'll add the cream of tartar to the egg whites next time so they hold up better when I blend them back into the batter.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Babylemke August 29, 2010

This was a lot of work for what it was. The waffles stuck to our waffle iron (which NEVER happens!). We have a Waring Pro Belgian Waffle Maker and always have good results except with this batter. We won't make it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beave91885@yahoo.com August 11, 2009

Delicious! This is the main recipe I use now. Light, fluffy, and wonderful with sliced strawberries & bananas on top :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy May 16, 2009

Tried this recipe yesterday and it turned out terrible. The texture was heavy and the taste was not good. I used the exact measurements listed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
b_wine109 November 28, 2008

Best waffles ever. Topped them with Neoplolitan ice cream, hot fudge sauce and lightly sweetened whipped cream. Spectacular!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clean Plate Club August 28, 2008

These are as pretty and as tasty as the ones we had in Brussels! The texture is light and crispy on the outside; tender on the inside. We offer a choice of powdered sugar, Blueberry Syrup, mixed fresh berries, whipped cream and real maple syrup. Gave my DH a flip style Belgium waffler for Xmas which worked perfectly for this recipe. Beating the egg whites separately only took an extra bowl and one extra minute, so please don't be put off by that extra step. You won't regret it! Thanks for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cucina Casalingo March 02, 2008

folding the egg whites in made the waffles have holes and they were not as good as other Belgian waffles I've had.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klenehan May 27, 2007
Belgian Waffles