Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Belgian Waffles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Belgian Waffles

    Average Rating:

    85 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 85

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2003

      This is an excellent recipt. It is so easy to make. Although you have to beat the egg whites, that takes only a few seconds. The waffles are so light and delicious. Don't forget to add the vanilla and salt. Try some cinnamon. Also, I cooked mine for 3 minutes. I make them often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2003

      Fantastic Waffles. They are so my lighter than normal waffles...which I tend to think weigh you down. I added a little 1/2tsp, cream of tartar and allspice. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2003

      These are the best Belgian Waffles we ever had and they were easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I read all the reviews before making these, so I made some modifications before I started. I added 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar (for a total of 4), and decreased the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon. I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt instead of 1 pinch of salt. I have a Salton electric waffle maker - but it's not a Belgian waffle maker. Each waffle took 2 ladles of batter (used my gravy ladle), and I sprinkled some miniature chocolate chips before closing the iron. This made about 12 waffles. I froze the ones we haven't eaten. The kids LOVED these waffles, and said they liked them better than my usual pancakes. This recipe is a keeper!

      By the way - I used my Kitchenaide mixer so I beat the egg whites, salt, and vanilla first (whipped the egg whites until fluffy, and then added the salt and vanilla). This was easier than doing it in the order of the recipe - if I did it like the recipe I would have had to transfer the flour mixture to another bowl, clean the bowl, whip the egg whites, and then hand stir them in the flour mixture bowl. Too much work! So I mixed the egg whites first, transferred them to a small bowl, made the flour mixture, and then gently added them to the flour mixture. This saves a step.

      I think I'll add the cream of tartar to the egg whites next time so they hold up better when I blend them back into the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      This was a lot of work for what it was. The waffles stuck to our waffle iron (which NEVER happens!). We have a Waring Pro Belgian Waffle Maker and always have good results except with this batter. We won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Delicious! This is the main recipe I use now. Light, fluffy, and wonderful with sliced strawberries & bananas on top :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Tried this recipe yesterday and it turned out terrible. The texture was heavy and the taste was not good. I used the exact measurements listed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      Best waffles ever. Topped them with Neoplolitan ice cream, hot fudge sauce and lightly sweetened whipped cream. Spectacular!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      These are as pretty and as tasty as the ones we had in Brussels! The texture is light and crispy on the outside; tender on the inside. We offer a choice of powdered sugar, Blueberry Syrup, mixed fresh berries, whipped cream and real maple syrup. Gave my DH a flip style Belgium waffler for Xmas which worked perfectly for this recipe. Beating the egg whites separately only took an extra bowl and one extra minute, so please don't be put off by that extra step. You won't regret it! Thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      folding the egg whites in made the waffles have holes and they were not as good as other Belgian waffles I've had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      Pretty good. I used whole wheat flour for 1/2 cup of the flour to add some nutrition and fiber and it was hardly noticeable, still light and crisp. I also like snacking on plain waffles and don't think it needs any more sugar in it. It could use a little something more, I'm thinking of adding orange zest and a pinch of cinnamon next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      This recipe is very quick to make and is very good. The waffles had a great flavor and texture. I will definitely be making these more often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2004

      These waffles were real tasty. I looked all over for a Belgium waffle recipe that didn't require yeast or egg seperating and I finally found this one, Thankyou for the great waffles!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2014

      This is my "go-to" waffle recipe, and I've tried lots! I use a Waring Pro Double Waffle maker (makes two at a time), and they come out absolutely wonderful. I came out with five beautiful waffles, and used a 1-cup measure to pour the batter, and didn't have any areas around the edges that need "just a little more" to make the perfect waffle. I have used 4 T of powdered sugar, and sometimes switched to 2 T granulated, and didn't notice any difference. I can't thank you enough for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      This is a wonderful recipe that my family really enjoyed! Like others, I made a few slight modifications. I used granulated sugar instead of confectioners sugar, added cream of tartar to the egg whites, and added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp ginger to the dry ingredients. Topped with vanilla yogurt, homemade mixed berry sauce, and whipped cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      These were just "okay" for us. The recipe that came with my Belgian waffle iron beats anything else I have tried, including yeast Belgian waffles....but I misplaced that recipe booklet and hoped this would be a good substitution....but it doesn't even come close. Not terrible, but not what I was hoping for, either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      These were great! I made a double batch to freeze for weekday breakfasts. My Belgian waffle iron used 1/3 cup per waffle, and about 5 minutes to cook. Kept warm in a 200 degree oven while the rest cooked. Served with sliced bananas and whipped cream. One batch made 12 waffles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      I made the recipe exactly as is without modifications. The end result were light and airy waffles. I did find that they stuck to my non-stick waffle maker (a Krups) and I haven't had this problem with any other waffle batters (might be something to do with the egg whites?). After the first waffle got stuck, I sprayed the waffle iron with Pam and that prevented further sticking. If you don't usually grease your non-stick waffle maker I highly recommend you do. These are tasty and I would make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      These waffles are fantastic! Perfect amount of light, fluffy and crispy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      I didn't find that these had much flavor. They weren't awful, but they weren't great. Are Belgian waffles supposed to be bland and I'm mistaken?!?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Belgian Waffles

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.0
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    26%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 78.2 mg
    26%
    Sodium 167.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes