8 Reviews

Very nice! Instead of seitan, I took your recommendation and made it with portabellos and threw in some button mushrooms and zucchini. Excellent. I served it atop some rice pilaf, but this would be FABULOUS over some garlic mashed potatoes (that's how I plan to serve the leftovers)! Made for Veg*n tag. NOTE: I just made this again with a mixture of baby bellas and button mushrooms. I added a half of a small zucchini and next time I will add even more, as it is great in here. I used Negro Modelo for the beer which worked well. I did have to thicken mine up a bit with corn starch (probably due to the moisture in the mushrooms).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride August 18, 2009

I personally give it 3 stars but my guests give it 4. It was a bit sweet for my tastes, though I'm not sure from what- either the brown sugar, caramelized onions, or possibly the beer I used (a very dark London porter). I decided to try Trader Joe's fake beef strips (which were TERRIBLE, btw!) so my advice: use your fake meat wisely- stick with a tried and true sub! I enjoyed this and would like to try it again, but it wasn't outta this world.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain April 23, 2009

Wow! This was my first time eating/using seitan and I LOVE it! It has a great texture and is so full of protein. I kicked up the veggies bigtime- celery, mushrooms, snow peas, carrots. Added extra broth (and beer) to compensate. I skipped the oil (to lower the fat), flour (I wanted it more soupy), and the molasses (couldn't get my bottle open, haha!) When I make this again, (since I am not vegetarian) I will use beef broth in place of the veggie broth, and also maybe add some minced garlic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear March 09, 2009

Delicious! I used Sam Adams Winter Lager and made this with a mix of seitan and portabella slices; as suggested, I served it over mashed potatoes, which worked perfectly. I think this would be even better with more veggies. I will make this again and experiment. Thanks for posting this! My whole family really liked it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serah B. December 18, 2008

I made this for dinner tonight. When I asked everyones opinion, the rating was everywhere from 2 stars to 4 stars, so I am going to give it 3. They did like this much more than the last time we had seitan, next time I might try it using mushrooms instead. I think they would like it much better that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom May 21, 2011

Wow! Yummy, tasty, so satisfying -- I will make this again and again. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeneziaAmore December 22, 2010

This came highly recommended to me and it didn't disappoint! I thought the gravy was fantastic...yes a bit sweet like someone else said, but that's what made it different. I used some homemade seitan (much easier to make than I would have ever thought) along with mushrooms, spinach and peas. As suggested in one of the reviews, served over mashed potatoes - really delicious! This feels like real vegan comfort food - thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner March 01, 2010

We loved this! The first time I used half seitan, half portabella mushrooms, then, because I didn't get around to making the seitan, I used all portabellas the next time. Both ways were great. I used Killian's Irish Red, left over from St. Paddy's, and while it is a somewhat sweet dish I wouldn't change a thing! Oh, and we had it over mashed potatoes. Thanks for a yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mangomom June 10, 2009
Belgian-Style Seitan Stew With Dark Beer