Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Belgian-Style Seitan Stew With Dark Beer Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Belgian-Style Seitan Stew With Dark Beer

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2009

      Very nice! Instead of seitan, I took your recommendation and made it with portabellos and threw in some button mushrooms and zucchini. Excellent. I served it atop some rice pilaf, but this would be FABULOUS over some garlic mashed potatoes (that's how I plan to serve the leftovers)! Made for Veg*n tag. NOTE: I just made this again with a mixture of baby bellas and button mushrooms. I added a half of a small zucchini and next time I will add even more, as it is great in here. I used Negro Modelo for the beer which worked well. I did have to thicken mine up a bit with corn starch (probably due to the moisture in the mushrooms).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      I personally give it 3 stars but my guests give it 4. It was a bit sweet for my tastes, though I'm not sure from what- either the brown sugar, caramelized onions, or possibly the beer I used (a very dark London porter). I decided to try Trader Joe's fake beef strips (which were TERRIBLE, btw!) so my advice: use your fake meat wisely- stick with a tried and true sub! I enjoyed this and would like to try it again, but it wasn't outta this world.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      Wow! This was my first time eating/using seitan and I LOVE it! It has a great texture and is so full of protein. I kicked up the veggies bigtime- celery, mushrooms, snow peas, carrots. Added extra broth (and beer) to compensate. I skipped the oil (to lower the fat), flour (I wanted it more soupy), and the molasses (couldn't get my bottle open, haha!) When I make this again, (since I am not vegetarian) I will use beef broth in place of the veggie broth, and also maybe add some minced garlic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Delicious! I used Sam Adams Winter Lager and made this with a mix of seitan and portabella slices; as suggested, I served it over mashed potatoes, which worked perfectly. I think this would be even better with more veggies. I will make this again and experiment. Thanks for posting this! My whole family really liked it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      I made this for dinner tonight. When I asked everyones opinion, the rating was everywhere from 2 stars to 4 stars, so I am going to give it 3. They did like this much more than the last time we had seitan, next time I might try it using mushrooms instead. I think they would like it much better that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Wow! Yummy, tasty, so satisfying -- I will make this again and again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This came highly recommended to me and it didn't disappoint! I thought the gravy was fantastic...yes a bit sweet like someone else said, but that's what made it different. I used some homemade seitan (much easier to make than I would have ever thought) along with mushrooms, spinach and peas. As suggested in one of the reviews, served over mashed potatoes - really delicious! This feels like real vegan comfort food - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      We loved this! The first time I used half seitan, half portabella mushrooms, then, because I didn't get around to making the seitan, I used all portabellas the next time. Both ways were great. I used Killian's Irish Red, left over from St. Paddy's, and while it is a somewhat sweet dish I wouldn't change a thing! Oh, and we had it over mashed potatoes. Thanks for a yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Belgian-Style Seitan Stew With Dark Beer

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.7
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    54%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 35.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seitan

    white wine vinegar

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes