Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Belgian Carrots Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Belgian Carrots

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2011

      Like another reviewer, I left out the sugar, because I like the natural sweetness of carrots. I don't think I could have waited a day to eat these--they were delicious! I think the sauce would be good with other vegetables as well. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      These were fantastic! My DS's have discovered they like cooked carrots and we have been trying them different ways. Both boys had seconds on these!! Made as is and would not change a thing! Made for PRMR 5/2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Delicious! I didn't add the sugar, because I find carrots to usually be sweet enough, and I doubled the nutmeg. Very nice change from just steamed carrots.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I made this on Sunday,it worked out well.The only comment I have is the listing of 8 carrots.Here in Canada these come in all sizes,so I took a quess ,picked 8 similar shaped and size and then measured for future reference.I used about 4 cups of carrots and the balance seemed to work out correctly.I have recorded the number,and will make again.thanks.Don Steele

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Delicious! Reminds me of the creamed peas that my mother makes except subtly sweeter. Made it during the cool of the morning--appreciate make ahead recipes when the temps escalate! Used fat free half and half, and because I only had 2 carrots and some leftover peas I added the peas to it. I drained them thoroughly in a colander then put them back into a warm pan so they dried off nicely. Thanks for posting, Syd. Made for PRMR.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      We liked these - the kids were so so on them. I made as directed only cut the recipe in half. I agree with another reviewer not worth the extra calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      THis was a very nice recipe. I tried it because I had heavy cream to use up, and, although it was quite flavorful, it was not worth all the calories. I guess I will stick with Carrots in Milk. But if calories and cholesterol are no problem for you, then do give this a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      I loved these! Loved the nutmeg. I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream, and it was still delicious! Made for Zaar Stars! Thanks for sharing a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      Outstanding! Foolproof and delicious. I just returned from Belgium a few days ago, and tried this recipe in hopes to add a memory to my recipe file ... It did not disappoint! Carrots...Belgium...Ummmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Nicely sweet and very delicious. I used half and half and fresh parsley. I would reduce the amount of parsley I use next time as the flavor wasn't as complementary as I had hoped. The carrots were wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      I could've eaten the whole pot of carrots myself, that's how good this was. I didn't have any parsley, so added about a teaspoon of dried chervil instead. I used light cream, and let the sauce cook until it got nice and thick. Thanks for the delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Just had this with dinner--such an interesting way to eat carrots! I subbed half and half for the heavy cream and ended up letting the sauce reduce for about 10 minutes and letting it sit for another half hour--ended up making the sauce pretty thick. Anyhow, loved it, as did BF--thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      We very much enjoyed this, and although I didn't cook it a day ahead, I did prepare it several hours ahead, and indeed the flavours were wonderful, delicate, creamy, just sweet enough, we loved it. Very easy with very little preparation required. Thanks for a lovely way to do carrots, Syd, a keeper! Made for Vegetarian Swap, February 09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      I made this recipe with about a dozen - very sweet - baby carrots so added only 1 teaspoon of sugar. A wonderful blend of flavours. What a contrast to the loathed vegetable of yesteryear that as a child I struggled to eat because I found it so boring! Definitely a recipe I'll make again. Thank you for sharing it, Sydney Mike! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      Missed reviewing this one during the World Tour - one of those recipes that in our house has become what I call a repeatable. Have enjoyed a number of reruns using carrots from my back yard garden. How good - it's already been added to my Thanksgiving menu. So like a vegetable dish one would expect at an up scale restaurant - and you don't have to leave home to enjoy! Thank you Syd for one of those recipes that one just can't say enough good things about - and can't wait to serve family and friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      the flavor was great although even with patting the carrots dry with paper towels i found them to be a little watery after adding on the cream, all in all a nice recipe with good flavor, thanks Syd!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Wow these are fantastic. I cooked and enjoyed them 2 days ago and just had what we call in my house re-runs. They were even better today. Thanks Sydney Mike for a great recipe made for JUNE/JULY Beverage Tag: How Does Your Garden Grow?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      These are amazing! I love carrots to start with, but this was an exceptionally tasty dish. Very easy to make and the flavors blend wonderfully. I will definately be making these a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      These are the best cooked carrots I've ever tasted! I've always loved raw carrots, but until the last few years, never cared for them cooked. This recipe is soooo good--it tastes like restaurant quality veggies. I cut back on the recipe because there were just two of us here to eat dinner. Next time I'll make the whole batch and hope for leftovers. Thanks for posting SydneyMike. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      This is so easy to do and so yummy. I used only 1 tsp of sugar. No parsley cause didn't have any leftover. No nutmeg cause I don't like nutmeg. A bit of seasonning salt and pepper was added. It was delicious. And I bet tomorrow will be better for my lunch ;) Thanks Sydney Mike. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Belgian Carrots

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.7
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    67%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 56.5 mg
    18%
    Sodium 318.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites