9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious! I used Mexican chorizo for the spicy sausage, and only half of it, since I know just how spicy it is. Loved the chorizo with the potatoes. All great flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito October 25, 2011

This soup has been in a cookbook for me to try for ages, and I finally did. It is very delicious and nicely spicy. I used my own broth, made without salt, and beans that I cooked myself from dried, and found that this was sufficiently salty, no additional salt needed. I also used just half the sausage, although I might add more to the leftovers. The soup is very thick and I ended up adding some water (my broth is very rich and this did not thin out the flavor). I did add some chopped lovage with the potatoes - that adds a little bite also and worked very nicely. I just downed one big bowl and am heading back to the kitchen for another. Lovely and warming on a cold afternoon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte October 17, 2011

Delicious Soup....I misread the recipe and added both the tomatoes with chilis AND the diced tomatoes. Turned out very good. I made this for my family visiting from out of state and everyone wanted the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Rumple February 17, 2009

Oh man! This soup was so good! I'd give it a thousand stars if I could! I did change a few things. I used bite sized chicken chunks instead of sausage (didn't have any). I threw in some chopped fresh basil, and used fresh diced tomatoes. And to serve I topped the bowls with shredded Parmesan cheese and chives. Yummy!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kyene January 08, 2009

This is a very quick, easy and tasty soup that I will definitely make again. I followed directions as posted, and next time will mash more of the potatoes to thicken it a bit more. Other than that, I would not change a thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 November 17, 2008

Very good and extremely easy to make. I used 6 cloves of garlic, 2 potatoes, and I did have to add some chunky salsa to spice it up a bit. I added probably 1/4 cup of Pace salsa. Was ready to eat from start to finish in under 30 minutes and is really good. Must try it!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover November 11, 2008

This is really delicious soup and simple to make. I used hot Italian sausage and slightly more chicken stock along with one-half pint of heavy whipping cream. I used just regular canned diced tomatoes instead of the Rotel and it was still very spicy thanks to the flavor of the hot sausage. I did use cannellini beans which are good. My DH also thought butter or navy beans would be good in this soup. He loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 April 18, 2008

Excellent Tuscan Soup. Very easy to put together and the flavors were great. I did use more chicken stock and let it reduce some and used 2% milk in place of the evaporated/heavy cream, but I don't think it changed the flavors at all. Oh, and I could not find cannellini beans, so used great northern, which we love. Congrats on getting the SI in the Game Forums.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ April 18, 2008
Bek's Spicy Tuscan Soup