9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great recipe. I changed it a bit by searing the meat first and adding two parsnips, one and a half baking potatoes instead of red and one Yeungling traditional lager for flavor. (I left out the mushrooms though I they would have been a nice addition.)
It turned out fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpollywog February 22, 2011

I thought that this recipe was very good.The only thing is that I thought that 10 hours was a bit long for a 2 pound roast as did another reviewer. I cooked it on low for under 8 hours and it was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plainbil January 12, 2009

This is a nice way to pot roast--it's easy and th result was a nice and tender roast. My husband prefers much more spice but liked this just the same. Important to note is that in my crock pot the roast was done after 7 hours on low so keep the time frame in mind. Also, be sure to use a roast with plenty of fat for flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy June 03, 2008

Delicious! I left out the mushrooms but it was awesome! We'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen's Kitchen April 28, 2008

DH declared it the best roast beef I've done in the crock pot but he still prefers the oven one but is willing to try it again. I used 1.5 kilo bolar blade roast and cut all the fat off leaving 1 kilo of meat and it took 7 hours to cook to well done (which is what I estimated) and the meat was very tender though the vegies were a little underdone (cut up smaller next time) and the gravy was great. I did omit the onion and celery due to allergy issues. Thank you Gatorbek. Made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat April 25, 2008

Delish! My DH loves a good tender roast and this really hit the spot. I used baby carrots, fresh mushroom slices and since some of my red potatoes were going bad (sigh), I also added a peeled, quartered russett potato. The roast was very moist - fork tender in fact! I added a little bit more liquid and it was a wonderful base for the flavorful gravy. Thanks Bek - I had a very happy hubby! Made for PAC Spring 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme April 18, 2008

This was so simple to prepare and finished just so moist and yummy! I was concerned about the limited amount of liquid but it turns out so well. The one major change I made was use coffee instead of water for the liquid and I love a dark juice (old habits are hard to break). My roast was done in 8 1/2 hours on a 10 hour setting (but it always tends to run hotter). Loved every morsel! Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom April 09, 2008

My BF was in charged of cutting the potatoes in quarters but I saw that for him that meant diced LOL I used fresh mushrooms. My beef roast was 1 1/2 pound so I put it on low for 8 hours. But it was a dry meat (French beef roast and won't buy again). The veggies taste so good. I added beef granules in the sauce to give a little bit more taste (maybe the lack of flavour was due to the beef roast I got). I put the sauce in the microwave to thicken it. Thanks Gatorbek :) Made for Photo tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 08, 2008

This roast turned out really well. It was moist and flavorful. I cooked mine on low for about 10 hours. We really enjoyed it! Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 April 01, 2008
Bek's Pot Roast (Crock-Pot)