12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I laughed when I saw this recipe. My dad would make these for us when we were growing up, he called them donuts, but coming from outside New Orleans it is a bit of an insult to call them beignets. For those who have never had a beignet, no these are nothing like them, but they are a very tasty treat that are a great fun thing to make the kids.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erindipity July 18, 2008

I was just going over the reviews & decided to try these as I had a can of Grands in the fridge
what a surprise they are really great & hubby loved them to we put some of our favorite jam
in it after cooking, very yummy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwinana_11748783 March 08, 2011

Made this recipe today to celebrate Mardi Gras and they are excellent! Purchased Pillsbury flaky biscuit dough and prepared them as directed. A friend who has had traditional Beignets from Cafe du Monde said they were just like the real deal! I also had some lemon curd on hand for an added flavor. Will definitely keep this recipe for either next year or whenever I need to make a quick breakfast option for a party.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking_neko83 March 09, 2011

I have made doughnuts out of refrigerated biscuits and they are very much like these beignets. Very easy to whip up and goes great with a cup of tea or coffee. I made half with the powdered sugar and half with a cinnamon sugar mixture. Made for December, 2008 Aussie/NZ Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 December 31, 2008

I have never had traditional Beignets but these were delicious! If this is what they are like than I am a fan! I am also lazy so if I can make something like this and have a taste treat I give you 6 stars! Thanks for bringing a tradition that can be easily made! A keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee July 07, 2006

If you have ever had authentic Beignets at Coffee Call in Baton Rouge or Cafe Du Monde in New Orleans, this isn`t even close to the real deal ! However, that said....not a bad, cheap treat for the kiddies ! Just sayin`....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdvorak06 January 29, 2013

I haven't tried this recipe, but had these, Kentucky style, last year. The difference is they provide a bowl of melted chocolate to dip them in-be sure to serve them warm-doesn't get any better than that!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
val March 08, 2011

We tried these last night and they were yummy. Quick and easy, too. Will definitely make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessi Leigh May 12, 2009

I liked these, but never having had a traditional beignet, I don't know if they were close or not. For me, they were not quite sweet enough with just a dusting of powdered sugar. But had a good taste and were very easy. Also, didn't know what beignets look like but the little slit didn't seem to stick there, they just turned into half-circles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crocheting Mama June 08, 2007
Beignets for Ze' Lay- Zay! (Lazy)