Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beignets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beignets

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2011

      I absolutely LOVE this dough recipe. I have done both a refridgerator rise and a normal rise with a cloth on top of the dough (until doubled in size). This makes great beignets too!! I can't fry them fast enough for my crew. I do add vanilla into the dough when I add milk.

      I also love to use this dough to make king cakes and cinnamon rolls. If you use the dough for a king cake, divide it in half after the dough has doubled in size. Roll it out to a big rectangle, add your choice of filling, roll up and push ends into each other to make an oval. Put on greased baking sheet and bake 375 for 30-40 minutes. Then ice!! Just make sure you divide dough in half....other wise you will have a HUGE king cake that may take over your oven!!

      Thank you for a very easy versitle recipe! I have been using it for about 4 months now and I just love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      Just like the Milocat, I started on my beignet journey after watching "The Princess and the Frog". The first time I tried this recipe I overworked the dough and used too much flour, not realizing that the dough needs to be much stickier than dough I'm used to working with. Lesson learned: do NOT, whatever you do, use an electric mixer with this recipe, and don't be afraid if the dough is uber sticky.

      Also, since I was too impatient to wait 24 hrs for my beignets, I just let the dough rise until doubled in size at room temperature (about 2 hrs) and the beignets were still delightfully puffy.

      I now have enough beignets to feed a small army even after using just a quarter of the dough, so next time, I'll be sure to halve the recipe. I'm going to try freezing the dough to see how well it keeps.

      Bottom line- yum! Heart attack in 5 years here I come!

      UPDATE:
      Be certain not to make more beignets than you're going to eat at one go. Once fried, they do *not* keep well, even overnight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      Never again will I buy Cafe Du Monde beignet mix. Although I'm not a fan of using yeast this recipe was so very easy. The beignets were wonderful!!! I will agree with other reviewers who said that it makes a huge amount of food. I used about 2/3 of the dough and got about 50 beignets. I probably make them a bit smaller than recommended though. I did not leave the dough in the frig overnight either. I'm going to leave what's left over in the frig and fry it up in a day or so. I also used my kitchen aid to mix the dough. Absolutely fantastic recipe!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I made this recipe last night and fried the Beignets this morning and served them with cafe au lait; reminded me of Cafe du Monde in New Orleans. Best Beignet recipe I have made, easy with a few adjustments. Instead of the hand mixing, I used my normal Kitchen Aide blade on 2 to mix the first four cups of flour into the batter, then I switched to the bread hook and added the rest of the batter, increased the speed for dough and let run until the dough cleaned the sides of the bowl and formed a ball. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I only fried up half the recipe as it makes a lot of dough and used the other half to make some awesome Cinnamon Rolls. The rolls have light, tender bread with a slight sweet taste in addition to the cinnamon and sugar mixture. YUM, definitely a keep, I would have served both in my Tea Room if I still had it opened.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2004

      The whole family loved these heavenly, deep-fried treats. I halved the recipe and I still managed to make 15 beignets! Better than donuts (I think - let me get a donut!), crispy outside, puffy/tender inside, and a nice sprinkling of icing sugar to lend just the right sweet note. Not for everyday - definitely special.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      Ok so I finally tried this recipe and it was just ok. I read the reviews so I guess I expected to be wowed but actually I was a little under whelmed. The recipe was easy to make, I just threw everything in the mixer, and it was fun to see them puff up when they were frying but the taste was like fried bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      This Recipe is AMAZING! you honestly don't have to make it 24hrs. before you need it. i only waited 4hrs. and it was perfectly fine! :) its pretty sticky, but that was alright. its very easy to roll out.

      YUMMY TIP-

      to COAT (and i mean COAT!!) the Beignets in powdered sugar, i suggest first sticking all of the beignets in a trash bag (unused, of course!) and then melting butter in the microwave (it depends how much you make, i make a little over 24 and i used 3/4 of a stick) and pour it into the bag with the beignets in it. then, once you have shaken the bag until you feel all the beignets have been coated, pour in the powdered sugar. how ever much sugar you would like is great. this will make them super sweet! i am defiantly going to make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      These did not puff up as much as I'd hoped they would. Through trial and error, I ended up folding them in half to make them thicker, and they puffed up more then. These are really tasty covered in powdered sugar, and we might try them again, but I'm looking for a denser beignet more like what our bakery here makes. Thanks for sharing a tasty recipe, though! My children LOVED these this morning for breakfast. Update: I made the second half of the dough without rolling it. I just pinched off and slightly flattened the dough before frying and it puffed up while remaining dense and eggy! I'll cook them this way from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      First time making beignets. It was super easy, and very tasty. My kids gobbled them. I used whole milk and just let it rise for about 2 hours at room temperature. I am really looking forward to making the remaining 2/3 of the dough tomorrow and seeing how it turns out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Made these for an army of eaters and they still disappeared quickly! Thanks for posting; we'll definitely make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      I've never had beignets before, but after watch The Princess and the Frog so many times, I really wanted to try them! This recipe was great! It was so easy to make and they turned out amazing! I made a half recipe and we got about 18-20 nice sized beignets.

      I didn't have any evaporated milk, so I used whole milk that was leftover from making ice cream.

      After frying- only about 1 minute total for ours- we dipped them in powdered sugar, but off a corner, and poured honey in them. Soooo good! Sort of like a sopapilla, but better! Next, I'm going to try them with a cherry sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Carrie - go ahead and make these soon - they are YUMMY! Though I could swear I bought a can of evaporated milk, I could not find it in the pantry, so substituted buttermilk. I also cut the recipe in half, and it still made a lot - but no complaints from that front! My husband and I really enjoyed such a nice breakfast treat, and memories of Cafe du Mond.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      My 4 year old and I just made a half batch of these for our Mardi Gras breakfast. Although I didn't have evaporated milk, I substituted whipping cream, they turned out great! I guess I need to make sure I have evaporated milk next time. I also only let them rise for 1/2 hour. Next time though, I'll be on the ball and do them accordingly...I'm not sure how they could be better, though...Thanks, for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      When I made these Beignets, they where a hit. We also halved the recipe and it still made a ton. I feel like I will never have to go to New Orleans again. My husband and I gobbled them all up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      These were wonderful. I didn't have any evaporated milk in the pantry, so used 2%. Only put them in the fridge for about a half hour since it was a last min party thing. Worked out fine. Just like the ones I had in Louisiana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      So my friends and I made this in school for our "Great Southern Cook - Off" in Socials/English class to mark the end of our reading of To Kill a Mockingbird. It was a major hit! Everyone loved it so much we won the cook - off and took home the grand prize of the Golden Spoon! This is one recipe I will definitely remake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I made these for my kids and they loved them and the dough held up well in the refrigerator I actually made them for several days with the same results each time. This recipe does make a huge amount so next time I will cut the recipe down for our small family

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      My six-year-old son wanted beignets, and so he did all the mixing while I put everything for half this recipe into a bowl for him. He mixed and mixed, and then I finished off the dough. The dough was very plastic and nice in the morning, easy to roll out, even after gently flattening it and kneading it a few times to distribute stuff. I fried half the dough, at about 325 degrees as we're over 5000 ft in altitude and oil seems to smoke sooner up here, and they turned out wonderful, crisp on the outside, soft on the inside, and perfect with the powdered sugar. I'm keeping the other half of the dough in the fridge for tomorrow because we could only eat half, and I'll see if it turns out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beignets

    Serving Size: 1 (1747 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.7
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    17%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 18.5 mg
    6%
    Sodium 115.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites