6 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very yummy! Loved the use of the different spices and how easy and quick this healthy dip was to prepare.
It was very garlicky, but we enjoyed that. Serving it with plain crackers or bread would probably be good for mellowing that out a bit, though if one prefers.
My only change was to leave out the lemon juice as I cant have it.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing a keeper with us, chef floWer!
Made and reviewed for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #54 July 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 04, 2011

WOW! i used 2 REALLY big cloves of garlic & after sitting it was really garlicky. dd & I loved it, dh said it was too garlicky. i love the hint of cinnamon that comes through. we decided that this will be a part of our Halloween buffet! Between the garlic & the color, it's perfect! This is a wonderful recipe for many reasons - I will also be suggesting it to my mom for her heart patients. THANK YOU! made for Aussie swap 5/11.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo May 26, 2011

I am a cheat with this recipe, as I know it already - or a very close version from Northern Cyprus! So, I knew that I would love it before I even made it Rose! The spices are ESSENTIAL to the flavour and I also kept mine a little chunkier for texture, not so pureed as suggested. I used fresh beetroot that was already cooked and bunged in an extra clove of garlic as I love it with beetroot. Made for make my recipe in the OZ/NZ forum edition #9 and very much enjoyed thanks! FT:-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart October 10, 2009

I liked this dip but my kids did not. I tried this with flat bread and it was ok.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loretta in Louisiana September 14, 2009

I think that something is missing in the recipe. The recipe gives the option of using canned beets or fresh beets.<br/><br/>Canned beets are cooked and soft while fresh beets (not cooked) are crunchy. I suggest that the recipe should mention that fresh beets should first be cooked prior to combining with the other ingredients in a food processor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ross from Mason City July 24, 2014

A great dip. Served with Pita bread and another couple of dips and yoghurt it made for a easy and quick Saturday night meal. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap August 2011

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kathy August 13, 2011
Beetroot Dip / Beet Dip