7 Reviews

Adding the ground spices seems redundant. I would add either whole or ground but not both and my first choice would be the whole spices (which were lightly crushed in a pestle and mortar). A big change I made in this recipe was using raw beets and they were of excellent quality, locally grown organic ones and small. Served over mixed greens and has a wonderful taste although messy to prepare. Thanks for posting. Reviewed for Veg Tag January.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 07, 2011

Although there were just the 2 of us, I didn't cut back on this recipe (I love beets & apples, just never paired them up before!), & was very pleased with the combo of spices! Couldn't have been better, I'm sure! This is definitely on my list of special things to make the next time we have company! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike September 19, 2011

I made this tonight and tried to stick to your recipe as much as possible. I used low fat yoghurt (didn't support the pomegranate molasses as well for feathering with the knife but was lower fat) and had to use yellow mustard seeds-otherwise I got it right. I used both the whole spices and the powdered-I think the powdered blended into the yoghurt while the whole roasted spices gave lovely little bursts of extra flavour when you bit down on them. I have another theory too-roasted whole spices and powdered spices are as much the same as tomato and tomato paste-same thing, but much different tastes and often used in the same dish. As far as mess goes (see other review) I covered my chopping board with a little foil while I peeled and diced my oven roasted beetroot-so no mess. We loved this raita alongside a beef curry and rice and are looking forward to leftovers! Thank you so much for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS February 05, 2011

Loved the crunch of the apples, the texture of the roasted beets, the creaminess of the dressing with the snap of the seeds. I used only the seeds not the ground spices. Didn`t need then. I also made the recipe for 1 and it could be easily shared with an other. This is feel good eats! Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ December 26, 2010

Totally new combination of flavors for me. A great side dish for Korma for dinner last night. Every time I would take a bite the combo of bursts of flavor with the crunchiness was very interesting. Made for ZWT8.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn August 22, 2012

Wonderful, different, wonderful!! DH saw it and thought it too different but when he tried it he almost ate the whole thing! I love it!!! It is certainly one of the best raita's out there. I used a medium to large organic beet, (not saying that's 500g) definitely better than a non organic one, more flavourful, DH said the non organic one I once used tasted sandy. I cooked it by simmering it in sea salted water with some white vinegar, cooled, peeled & diced, an organic pink lady apple once and another time a market fresh Autumn Mackintosh apple, about the same amount as the beet, (not saying it is 500g either), I use the full amount of yogurt, I use regular mustard seeds as that is what I have on hand, 3 % or Balkan yogurt, I press some fresh ginger in my garlic press to get some ginger juice and used a little bit of the crushed ginger, sea salt, to taste, less pomegranate syrup, which made a pretty design done with a sharp knife, plus the rest of the ingredients. Delicious served with Saudi Rice With Lamb and Potato which I intend to do over again. Also has been served with Pine Nut Rice Pilaf (Piñon Rice Pilaf), Kebab Iroog and a fresh salad with Afghan Salad Dressing for a great meal, masha Allah. I will make this again for sure!!! Originally made for, Please Review My Recipe: from 10 July 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat October 18, 2011

WOW! this looks SO good and tasty - i'm really good at being able to read a recipe and tell if it's extraordinary - this is an amazing mix of flavors - and healthy and sounds DELICIOUS - i can't WAIT to taste it! beets and apples together? that is a Stroke Of Genius! almost like a dessert - the kind of food our children will love to eat! thanks SO MUCH for taking the time to share this amazing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carrie sheridan July 23, 2013
Beet Root and Apple Raita