Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beet Root and Apple Raita Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beet Root and Apple Raita

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2011

      Adding the ground spices seems redundant. I would add either whole or ground but not both and my first choice would be the whole spices (which were lightly crushed in a pestle and mortar). A big change I made in this recipe was using raw beets and they were of excellent quality, locally grown organic ones and small. Served over mixed greens and has a wonderful taste although messy to prepare. Thanks for posting. Reviewed for Veg Tag January.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      Although there were just the 2 of us, I didn't cut back on this recipe (I love beets & apples, just never paired them up before!), & was very pleased with the combo of spices! Couldn't have been better, I'm sure! This is definitely on my list of special things to make the next time we have company! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      I made this tonight and tried to stick to your recipe as much as possible. I used low fat yoghurt (didn't support the pomegranate molasses as well for feathering with the knife but was lower fat) and had to use yellow mustard seeds-otherwise I got it right. I used both the whole spices and the powdered-I think the powdered blended into the yoghurt while the whole roasted spices gave lovely little bursts of extra flavour when you bit down on them. I have another theory too-roasted whole spices and powdered spices are as much the same as tomato and tomato paste-same thing, but much different tastes and often used in the same dish. As far as mess goes (see other review) I covered my chopping board with a little foil while I peeled and diced my oven roasted beetroot-so no mess. We loved this raita alongside a beef curry and rice and are looking forward to leftovers! Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Loved the crunch of the apples, the texture of the roasted beets, the creaminess of the dressing with the snap of the seeds. I used only the seeds not the ground spices. Didn`t need then. I also made the recipe for 1 and it could be easily shared with an other. This is feel good eats! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      Totally new combination of flavors for me. A great side dish for Korma for dinner last night. Every time I would take a bite the combo of bursts of flavor with the crunchiness was very interesting. Made for ZWT8.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      Wonderful, different, wonderful!! DH saw it and thought it too different but when he tried it he almost ate the whole thing! I love it!!! It is certainly one of the best raita's out there. I used a medium to large organic beet, (not saying that's 500g) definitely better than a non organic one, more flavourful, DH said the non organic one I once used tasted sandy. I cooked it by simmering it in sea salted water with some white vinegar, cooled, peeled & diced, an organic pink lady apple once and another time a market fresh Autumn Mackintosh apple, about the same amount as the beet, (not saying it is 500g either), I use the full amount of yogurt, I use regular mustard seeds as that is what I have on hand, 3 % or Balkan yogurt, I press some fresh ginger in my garlic press to get some ginger juice and used a little bit of the crushed ginger, sea salt, to taste, less pomegranate syrup, which made a pretty design done with a sharp knife, plus the rest of the ingredients. Delicious served with Saudi Rice With Lamb and Potato which I intend to do over again. Also has been served with Pine Nut Rice Pilaf (Piñon Rice Pilaf), Kebab Iroog and a fresh salad with Afghan Salad Dressing for a great meal, masha Allah. I will make this again for sure!!! Originally made for, Please Review My Recipe: from 10 July 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      WOW! this looks SO good and tasty - i'm really good at being able to read a recipe and tell if it's extraordinary - this is an amazing mix of flavors - and healthy and sounds DELICIOUS - i can't WAIT to taste it! beets and apples together? that is a Stroke Of Genius! almost like a dessert - the kind of food our children will love to eat! thanks SO MUCH for taking the time to share this amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beet Root and Apple Raita

    Serving Size: 1 (245 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.6
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    25%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.9 mg
    2%
    Sodium 418.4 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 31.1 g
    124%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger juice

    pomegranate syrup

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites