Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beet Risotto With Walnuts and Gorgonzola Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beet Risotto With Walnuts and Gorgonzola Cheese

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2013

      This was very good! We used sodium-free chicken broth and I still thought it was quite salty (probably because there's so much salt in the cheese and we're used to low-salt food). Next time, I'll omit the salt altogether. We also think it would benefit from more walnuts and that it would be even better with toasted walnuts, so we'll use 1/2 cup of toasted walnuts next time. This is so tasty if you are a blue cheese lover!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      We enjoyed this beet risotto for dinner tonight. It involved very little prep and looked pretty on the plate. We followed the recipe as posted except for omitting the sea salt based on other reviews and because my veggie broth was not unsalted. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      INCREDIBLE. I halved the recipe and made it with several substitutions: short-grain California brown rice, vegetable broth, omitted extra salt, goat's cheese, and one small onion plus 1 minced garlic clove instead of shallots. The only major difference this made to the cooking procedure was that the rice took WAY longer to cook (about 45 minutes of slowly adding and stirring), and needed more liquid (I estimate maybe 3.5-4 cups total). The end result was delicious, SO aesthetically pleasing and well worth the time, though! I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      Great rich recipe. I subbed emmenthal for the gorgonzola out of a deep-seated fear of very strong cheese, but next time I may try the gorgonzola if I'm feeling adventurous. It is beautiful. I took a pic and will upload it when I have more time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      Terrific. Mild, but not bland; there was a surprising amount of flavor to it. It was very rich tasting, but not overwhelming ... the walnuts added wonderful crunch, and the combination of gorgonzola and beets was terrific. This is a definite keeper -- thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      I substituted Goat Cheese as I'm not a huge fan of Gorgonzola. This was a pretty simple dish to make and a beautiful presentation! Raised many eyebrows!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      Wow-this was so great and gorgeous...hot pink/red! I think this might be a must for Valentine's Day year every year! It really was so yummy and a great combo of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      Wow. This was amazingly good and easy to make. I used 2 cans of rosebud beets instead of fresh. This is definitely a keeper. It fed three of us (with leftovers for a fourth) for a main course. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beet Risotto With Walnuts and Gorgonzola Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (290 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 572.7
     
    Calories from Fat 237
    41%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 28.9 mg
    9%
    Sodium 1070.2 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.6 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 18.7 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beets

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes