10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

thank you for taking the time i have spent many hours looking for this recipe. yours is the only one without rasberry jello, this jelly is excellent! again thank you! mariann ps my entire family are canadians,small world!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariann August 08, 2001

I hate beetroot but my husband loves it pickled, so rather than waste the beautiful "juice' i made this and didn't have very high hopes...I WAS DELIGHTED TO BE PROVED SO WRONG. ALL JELLY LOVERS HAVE TO MAKE THIS; IT TASTES LIKE RED/BLACKCURRANT/RASPBERRY JELLY & IT IS DELICIOUS...NO BEETROOT TASTE AT ALL, JUST SWEET & AN AWESOME COLOUR, GREAT RECIPE, I AM A CONVERT, THANKYOU DiB's

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fishwyfe December 16, 2007

WONDERFUL. It really does taste like berry jelly. I cut the sugar by 1/2 c. because I ran out...and still love this. Really easy. I did strain the juice because I didn't peel the beets, and even after scrubbing them had fines in the juice...easir than trying to peel them. Try this even if you hate beets. Love to use stuff you would normally toss....GREAT RECIPE!!!!!!!! Batch 3 and 4...I used the reduced sugar form of pectin (pink box) and cut the sugar to 5 c. per batch. My 3 year old and 2 year old ate the leftovers by the spoonful...like it was chocolate. Very good in oatmeal, and on waffles.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farmchick #2 June 23, 2010

I had juice enough juice from beets I had canned and am glad I thought to look for a recipe for jelly. That juice is too pretty to throw out! I used what I had on hand- one tsp of raspberry extract, and the "no sugar needed " pectin. I did add 3 c sugar. It turned out great! So glad I tried it, and so glad you shared. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenweina August 15, 2013

The jelly is very good. But instead of wasting the beets when I drained the water I pureed the beets and added them back to the 4 cups of drained water and boiled everything for about 10 - 15 minutes to thicken, then filled the jars. Gave them a hot water bath for about 10 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
06mary July 20, 2013

Excellent!!! No one believed me that this was beets. Highly recommend straining in cheese cloth. Don't skip this step. Makes all the difference in the world :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k2oneal July 29, 2012

Really love this jelly. Tastes like a berry jelly. Thanks for the great recipe. I made it exactly as listed and it turned out wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pumpkin's Cookin' November 14, 2011

This is excellent, I have been making beet jelly for years, the kids absolutely love and this is the exact recipe that I have been using. Guaranteed if you like the taste of raspberries, you'll like this jelly....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristinebeckrow September 16, 2009

I just got done making this and just had to review it! Its great!! My father gave me some beets from his garden and I wasn't sure what to do with them. About 80% of the beets were a golden variety the rest were the average red beet. The color is wonderful like cherry koolaid. The taste is excellent. I think that in the future I will try turning it into a preserve by adding pineapple, apple and cranberries. I've never eaten a beet in my life before now but I am now a 'convert'. If you are happening to make boiled beets for dinner, save the liquid until you have enough or are ready to make this recipe. I made the recipe as is except for the golden beets and the taste was completely different than I had expected. The smell while it was cooking was like a spiced pineapple...very enticing. Thanks for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saeriu September 01, 2008

this is very close to my mothers recipe for grape jelly the only difference is that you add a pkg of grape freshie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crossforcrash September 03, 2004
Beet Jelly