Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beet Greens With Caramelized Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beet Greens With Caramelized Onions

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2012

      I made this for dinner on Friday night. It was very tasty and I ate most of it myself. Will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      The taste of the vinegar was quite strong for me. I liked the combination of flavours but would have liked something a bit more subdued.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      This was really good! The flavor of the beet greens combined with the caramelized onions and balsamic vinegar was superb, but I could barely taste the thyme and I couldn't taste the rosemary or the garlic at all, so next time I will probably double them. Overall, though, definitely a great greens recipe that I'll be making again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      Oh, so good. And also good for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      If I would have followed the times on this, it wouldn't have turned out at all. My onions were done in less than 15 minutes and nearly burned. Next time, I'll keep the oil at a lower temp the entire time. I did mine with dried herbs as well since I can't keep herbs growing all winter long. I really enjoyed it and will try it again when I get some more beet greens, I just will make the tweaks with the times and temperatures.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I followed recipe exactly and give it 5 stars, but my dh & family only give it one....but only because they just like plain old beet greens. I on the other hand, thought they were a great change, and much like a braised green, but with a wonderful flavor. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Tasty greens. Mine were on the very mature side, so I was a bit concerned they might be bitter, but they weren't. I used dried herbs, as it's what I had on hand. I used a tad extra balsamic, as well. I'll definitely be making these again (perhaps adding toasted pine nuts--something I like to add to other greens).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      This was a really wonderul dish! I did use dried herbs as that was what I had to work with...but I made some very slight additions to dish. i added slightly less than 1/4 tsp curry powder....also threw in a handful of sliced blanched almonds with the herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      This recipe was quite yummy. I did add the apples (peeled and chopped) before I added the greens. I also had some cooked beets I sliced and added to the mix, as well as a few dried cranberries. This dish would be pretty on the table around Christmastime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      Chef Lee was on the mark about this delicious recipe working with dried herbs. Next time I plan to add some cubed apple to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Fabulous recipe for greens!!! The slow cook on the onions along with the balsamic and herbs are just perfect to balance the flavor of the greens. I used dried herbs and it worked fine!! I had never had beet greens before and they were surprisingly mild, I didn't find them bitter or gritty at all. They taste a lot like their bottoms, the beet!! Slightly sweet and earthy. I loved the beautiful rose color that the beet greens turned the sauce and the onions!!! Very pretty dish!! I will definitely make this again with fresh herbs. Love this recipe, thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      A new way to enjoy greens. We had never had beet greens before but bought fresh beets and decided to look for a recipe to use them. Glad I did. the flavors melded together wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Delightful. I am so glad to discover another way to enjoy greens. Mine was probably a little heavy on the onion (but I wanted it that way); I used one large sweet onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      AWESOME. The beet greens have a slightly bitter aftertaste, and this recipe works with it instead of against it. I made this using fresh baby beet leaves, and then added the beets after following the "dressed up" version of Baked Beets. This was awesome, thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      These were very good, but ther recipe didn't hold up and needed some tweaking. Once I added the spices and vinegar, the instructions said to cook for 5-15 minutes. The liquid was completely gone in less than 1 minute. I went ahead and added the greens, but then needed to add water two or three times so that everything would cook. The taste was very good, once I got the greens cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      Easy and wonderful! Never discard the greens of beets, I covet them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      Delish! Recipe is perfect as is no changes necessary ;). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beet Greens With Caramelized Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 115.4
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    53%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 323.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites