9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful recipe. It was a little sweet but the caraway seed neutralized it for me. Easy to do and tasty. Made for Beverage Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff April 10, 2008

Ah, cabbage! Ah, beer! Super combination. I skipped the caraway (not a fan), used a pilsner style beer (next time I think I'll try a darker beer) and added a shake of red pepper to offset the sweet. Absolutely delicious stuff. Made for the 'ZWT IV Bier ist Nahrung Challenge for the Daffy Daffodils. Thanks AuntWoofWoof!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma Field May 29, 2008

Fabulous! I made this to serve with braised pork steaks with cider and creme fraiche for B and B guests - they loved it! Made it EXACTLY as posted - NO changes are necessary IMHO! A keeper - I can see me making this many times again! Thanks Auntie! FT:-) Made for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart May 27, 2008

ZWT4: Made this for our Memorial Day BBQ - perfect over brats for a nice change of pace!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose May 26, 2008

Excellent cabbage recipe!! The mustard really made this for us. I served this as a side dish, but next time I think I'll do it as a main. It's so satisfying and has so much flavour that you really don't need anything else with it. Very tasty!! Thanks AuntWoofieWoof!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz February 17, 2008

Out of this world delicious!!! I loved the mustard and the caraway seeds together. It turns out tangy and a little sweet. The only change that I made was that I halved the amount of bacon. Thanx for posting this awesome cabbage recipe! I'll be making this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* November 19, 2007

So good, I used dry smoked sausage in place of the bacon and added in two large spoonfuls of fresh garlic and also increased the onions to two, I found in order to remove the beer taste I had to cook it for more than 30 minutes though, this was thoroughly enjoyed by my family, thanks for sharing!...Kitten

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz July 28, 2007

OMG! I can’t believe I followed the whole recipe EXACTlY as written! This was easy to make, I just wish that some kindhearted salad company will start selling shredded cabbage in my neck of the woods. The beer gives it a sort of German-type appeal as do the caraway seeds. The only change I will make in the future is to use a little bit less of the caraway- just personal preference. Thanks for this tasty and easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhMyStars! October 10, 2004

Very good Cabbage, I really enjoyed it. You can't tell that it has beer in it. I used splenda instead of sugar and used dejon mustard. Other than that made just like the recipe said. Thank you for posting the recipe, we love cabbage.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz March 09, 2004
Beered up cabbage