Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Game-Day Grub >

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Chili, Wings, Dogs & Beyond
    Jalapeno Poppers

    Jalapeno Poppers

    A Flavor Touchdown For Your Mouth
    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    Try One of These Sudsy Sippers
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer Simmered Brats Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Simmered Brats

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2011

      simple, easy, and super tasty! we love these on football days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      These were very good. I only had two beers so I added 2 cups of chicken broth to the beer, turned out very good. I loved the flavor of these and the onions.....yummy. I will make this again as we all loved it. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Great! I also added butter to the simmer. We loved these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Very good, added the cajun seasoning to the mix and also some smokehouse pepper. Had them with just white bread since we aren't much for rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      AWESOME! I forked the brats and I added a stick of butter to the simmer. Also garnished with saurkraut, sliced tomatoes, and finely chopped cucumber.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Thank you for the recipie. I refer to it everytime I make brats which is at the very least once a month. We're from OHIO and we are a brat eating state! We even have a Brats festival! Anyway, I have even used 2 beers and the the rest water, or 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth. And even all water when we had no beer or chicken broth. I'm real funny about cooking sausage and always afraid it's not done. I am confident everytime when I do it your way, then put it on the grill for 10 mins on high. Watching very closely because of flare ups! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      These are quite yummy, even if you don't bother to brown them off after simmering in the beer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      I made these on my Labor Day weekend camping trip. Everybody loved them. It was a nice change of pace from a camping hotdog. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      *Made for ZWT III* These brats were very good. They were quick and easy to make with lots of flavor. I used a homemade dark beer to simmer these in and they turned out wonderful. In addition to the reserved onions, I served these with diced tomatoes, sauerkraut, and stone ground mustard on a cracked wheat bun. My family really enjoyed these. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      The only thing I do different is to FORK the casing while soaking in the beer/onion/butter mixture. It gets all that flavor into the brats. Particularly when I take it from the grill and put back into the beer mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      This is almost exactly how I make my brats except that I add about half a stick of butter or margarine to the beer, and I dont ever boil the brats in the beer. I just simmer them in it for about 15 min then put em on the grill. DON'T BREAK THE CASINGS!!! EVER!!!!You lose a lot of flavor in the juice that escapes if the casing breaks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      *Made for PAC 2007* Like newspapergal stated, this is exactly how we do them in Wisconsin, Right On NormCooks! These were our first grilled brats of the season and they were perfect. Thanks for sharing. Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      I hadn't had brats until a friend from Wisconsin educated us - and this is how he taught us, sometimes omitting the Essence (or garlic salt sometimes). It's the perfect recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      I am eating these as I type. DH told me at the last minute that he wanted beer brats for dinner. I've never made them before since they aren't a frequent meal here in the south, so I came searching for a recipe that sounded good and relatively quick. This fit the bill and I'm sure glad I chose it. These are delicious! I substituted garlic for Essence of Emeril and grilled the onions. DH is pleased and I have to say I deserve that last beer because I did do good! :D Thanks for posting a great recipe, Norm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      Left out the butter, and just simmered the brats in beer and onions then grilled. Tasted so yummy, our guests had seconds and thirds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      This was easy to many. Your recipe has one more ingredident then my ...I'm in a hurry recipe... has, it is the onion. So this will be my new I'm in a hurry recipe from now on. Because just how long does cutting an onion take me. So thanks Bee, in showing me a new quick way to fix my brats. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      Excellent recipe and easy. I live in an apartment and used an indoor electric grill during the Monday Night game. Came out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      These were great! I made them last night and everyone enjoyed them. Nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      I made this as an extra dish to goo along with my brisket for our 4th of July party. I decided not to use the essence ingredient and instead substituted with some minced garlic cloves and chopped jalepenos. This is a very good and easy dish to make. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      This is the same way I make my brats... the onions come out with a sweet taste that's just perfect! I haven't tried adding any Essence, but I will next time. I cook mine on my George Foreman grill. (No stars since I didn't actually make this today-- just saw the recipe & it's the same as my method.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Simmered Brats

    Serving Size: 1 (353 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.6
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    79%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 318.2 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites