Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer Rocks / Bierocks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Rocks / Bierocks

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2010

      These are also known as Runzas, Cabbage Burgers or Kraut Burgers. I've made them often, as did my Mother. Those who say these need to be "kicked up" are not putting in enough black pepper. There should be enough that the mixture is actually a bit spicy HOT on your tongue, from black pepper alone. (I.e. a lot more than you imagine normally using in anything else.) You'll be surprised how delicious it is-- live dangerously and work that pepper grinder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      Grandmother (Fresno CA) made these all the time. Used a home made yeast bread. She was originally from Kansas (German Mennonite) where they were also popular. Locally at The Beer Rock Shop I have seen versions using ground pork and other meats too. Still I prefer the Beef mixture at the end of the day. We used a brown mustard for dipping sauce and went well with a good German beer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This is an old family recipe in my family and we use all those ingedients except we also use mozzerella and cheddar cheese. I couldnt eat Bierocks without that yummy, melted cheese thats in the middle surrounded by that yummy seasoned cabbage, meat and sauteed onions. YUM! We dont use lots of pepper or salt either...we just season the cabbage and meat very well and sautee the onions. It's delicious...give it a try!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      Hey I'm from the C.V too (Clovis/Fresno) I've always taken the short cut of using buscuit dough, the canned kind. I roll out the dough, place the filling inside, place another on top and pinch them together. Yum~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      We really liked these. I couldn't get my rolls to come out to 7 inches either, but I just went with the size I got. I added a squeeze of our favorite mustard on the inside of each. Thanks - I will make these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      I made this and cooked the beef and cabbage, then added dry onion soup mix with a little water, cooked down. Soup mix added just the right seasoning. They were gone in mintues.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2014

      I am also from Fresno. All 4 maternal great grandparents emigrated from Germany. I learned to maked bierrocks from my Grandmother and mom. I also agree about previous comments about pepper. I grew up with them being spicy! My mom told me to put too much pepper, then put in some more. Probably 2-3 tablespoons. Agree with the homemade bread, too. I have used the frozen bread loaves with some success, but I love it with potato bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      Take me back 35 years to the Bullard HS Cafeteria! Thanks...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      This was a great recipe. The only change I made was to decrease the cabbage and increase the onions and add a package of onion soup mix. I did have a problem with getting the edges of dough to seal but I added a bit of water to edges and they sealed fine after that. Thanks Katie for a delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      I have been making beer rocks for 50 years. Learned the recipe from a Latvian lady. My filling, however, has ground pork sausage and bacon as well as sauerkraut and dried onion soup mix. A lot more work but homemade potato bread dough is the best!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I made this recipe veggie friendly by using ground veggie burger. Like previous posts I added a little mustard to the meat mixture. I also coated my pan with a little bit of Pilsner before cooking and occasionally added a little beer during the cooking process.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Great idea, but as others have said- it needs to be kicked up. Instead of ground beef, I used corned beef hash. I added about half a can of guinness (it's BEER rocks, afterall!) Also garlic and onion powder plus a little bit of celery seed. I brought them to a party and they were finished off pretty quickly. Thanks for the inspiration.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      Made for friends and the bierocks came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      This was my first time making bierocks and I'd say they turned out pretty good. I omitted the onions (just forgot!) and added 2 tbs light brown sugar. I had a hard time getting the yeast rolls to seal up, but nevertheless, they still turned out tasty. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      I learned to make these years ago from my husband's grandmother. The original recipe calls for homemade bread dough but I always found it difficult to roll out the dough and the bierock all the same size. I started using frozen Texas size dinner rolls. They're larger than the regular dinner and roll out to a perfect size. This is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Yup just like my grandma makes them :) I was born and raised in central california. Only alteration I would insist on is HOMEMADE DOUGH!!! I know it's easier the other way but I only know them completely from scratch ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      I am also from the Central Valley of California. I have not been able to find the correct recipe in years!!!! This recipe was awesome!!!!! Thanks Katie in the UP

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2006

      Have enjoyed ( Bierocks ) for years .I make them with my homemade dough.You can season anyway you like.I use less cabbage and onion and sometimes add cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      This is a good base recipe but it needs some serious kicking up. We did enjoy it, but the flavors are a tad bland by themselves. Next time I make it ( which I will do as we like the recipe) I will add mustard powder, fresh garlic, and carraway seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      Wow made the bergers everyone enjoyed them this will be a keeper. The only thing I did diferant was I had to use 2 rolls I could not git 1 to come out to 7".But other then that they were enjoyed by all .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Rocks / Bierocks

    Serving Size: 1 (97 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.0
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    25%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 23.4 mg
    7%
    Sodium 34.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    frozen yeast dinner roll dough

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes