15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are delicious! The recipe definitely makes at least 24 cupcakes. Mine baked in about 15 minutes, not 25 (seems like a looong time for cupcakes). They were fully cooked at that point but still nice and moist. I liked the glaze with them because the cupcakes really aren't very sweet themselves. I made the glaze with a little less milk, and added a pinch of salt and a splash of vanilla, and it was perfect. I also sprinkled a little nutmeg on top of the glaze...why not? My coworkers gobbled them up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
okayjocelyn March 17, 2011

I can't believe I held onto this recipe for 4 years before trying it out. It was a HUGE hit at our party last night. I paired it with this Cream Cheese Meringue Buttercream instead of the glaze: http://www.anediblemosaic.com/?p=5894. I actually wanted to make the frosting and needed something to put it on. These were a perfect match.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reeces Pieces January 29, 2012

I was just about to make these when I saw that my review from YEARS ago never posted! Anyway, I love these! I've been making them for a while now, but I make my own icing using:
½ Cup Unsalted Butter
6 Cups Confectioners Sugar
¼ Cup Reduced Fat Milk
2 Tbsp Vanilla Extract
Dash of Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
The cocoa makes the frosting look like the foam from the Guinness!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PumpKIM March 06, 2011

ZWT6: This recipe called to me because of the lone bottle of Guinness sitting in our fridge from St. Pattys day!!! Delicious cupcakes - the Guinness compliments this recipe perfectly adding to the chocolately flavor of the cupcakes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose June 21, 2010

Made for ZWT and am so glad I did, because they are fantastic! Perfect for Father's Day...or any day really!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan June 20, 2010

Very very yummy! I did get 30 cupcakes each filled with 1/4 cup batter. I skipped the glaze because we have a cream cheese frosting that is our fav and I wasn't sure if I could get my guys to eat this with something new on top. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus November 08, 2009

Yummy!!! A very simple looking chocolate cupcake with a wonderfully surprising taste. I love cooking with Guinness Stout!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homeschool Mommy October 31, 2009

These are a hit at my house! I didnt use the glaze b/c my hubby hates cream cheese but used a simple powder sugar glaze and they were awesome. I made them in a large muffin tin making 8 with this recipe and people were picking at the crumbs! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brieanhowied March 28, 2009

I have found a new GREAT recipe. These cupcakes are so moist and so rich in chocolate flavor (no you can not taste the Guinness). This recipe made 24 cupcakes instead of 12. Next time I'll look for a frosting recipe too since this one has a glaze top but still very OMG good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cat-602 March 23, 2009

Incredible cupcakes! A very adult cupcake as well, dense and not too sweet. I'm making them again today. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buckybear206 March 13, 2009
Beer Cupcakes (Yes Really !)