Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer Cheese Fondue Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Cheese Fondue

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2002

      Ate a pot of this without much help from anybody. I didn't feel very well afterwards.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2002

      very good fondue! if I were to make it again, I think I would tweak the cheese and use more swiss/less cheddar. also, I added a dash of worchestire sauce and a bit of fresh ground pepper...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      I followed the directions to a 't,' and mine was still quite stringy. That does NOT mean that we didn't eat the heck out of it, anyway! I did add i chopped green onion to the pot, as well as a few tsps of worcestershire sauce, as well as the hot sauce. I used fat tire beer and served with toasted rosemary seasalt bread cubes, pretezels, and sundried tomato wheat thins sticks. all were very tasty, and next time I think I'll even try apples!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This dip had a great flavor. I read the other review about it being soupy. I just whisked everything together while it was on the stove and all the textures melded together very well. It was gone in just a few minutes! We will make this one again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      We LOVED this! My husband just returned from several business trips for a few weeks so I wanted to make a romantic dinner for him. This was low-key and great. I used low fat sharp cheddar to cut down the calories a bit, but regular swiss. I followed the rest of it exactly. It did not get stringy for us, it was nice and melted through - I have a cuisuinart fondue pot that I left on heat setting 3. That worked great. I just heated the beer in there and everything - didn't even have to do the stove-top part. :) Very easy and made for a great dinner for us! Thanks for sharing - can't wait to serve this one to company!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I think this turned out great. It melted just find (use a really low heat) and was a good consistency for dipping. I followed the recipe exactly except for the hot sauce since my toddler would be eatling it. He really liked the "cheesy bread" as a result. I would make it again. I saved the leftovers and reheated it with some milk the next day and added it to some macaroni for Mac-n-cheese. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      This did not turn out well at all. Which was too bad since I had a house full of guests to serve... Followed all the directions to a 'T' and the fondue ended up separating with a mass of stringy cheese floating in a mostly beer soup. The cheese was too stringy to stick to the bread and the soupy part just made the bread soggy...not to mention the flavor wasn't very good. I was disappointed that it didn't turn out well at all for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Other than the hot sauce, we followed the directions exactly and this turned out great! Others have complained about the liquid separating from the cheese. We didn't have that problem. We did use whole fat cheese which I believe made a big difference. We will make this again. Wonderful recipe! Thank you so much for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This is soooo good! Great flavor and easy to make. i used a local micro brew for the beer and the taste was great. i had no problem getting the cheese to melt. Yummy!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      This recipe did not come out well at ALL! The cheese sunk to the bottom of the pot and there for when you dipped your bread into the pot you got a weird mixture of a bit of melted cheese and beer! If you dug down into the cheese at the bottom it was a stringy mess! The cheese mixture was good, but I definitely will not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Really good dip! I took another chef's advice and added a little worcestershire. I used Tillamook cheddar and fresh swiss and it was fabulous! Full fat melts best. I also used an idea from another chef to serve it in a bread bowl- I used pumpernickel and served with pumpernickel cubes and pretzel bites! Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      I had a hard time getting the cheese to melt, and once it did it was very difficult to eat because it was so stringy. The issues with the melting could have been the type of cheese I used (2% milk cheddar cheese, and regular swiss), but I probably would not make this again. I definitely wouldn't make it for guests because it was a mess to eat. It's too bad because I had such high hopes for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Very good. Tried to make with a crock pot and the cheese wouldn't melt. Had to do a double boiler in order to melt but very good once it did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I made this for Boxing day at my parents using Great West Honey Wheat Ale(Saskatchewan's own). Most of us really liked it but my brothers didnt...though they have enjoyed their share of beer, I think its more the idea that they are too tough to eat bread dipped in cheese. I thought the flavor was great, I could have added a few more drops of hot sauce but my mom doesnt like things spicy...next time. I didnt use the flour, corn starch instead because I couldnt find her flour container. I will make this again with more hot sauce. We get together a couple times a year with friends for fondue parties and this will be on my list then. Thanks a bunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Needed a little somethng extra so I added about 1tpsp. of cdried chopped onion, extra hot sauce and some cayenne pepper. Also, it needed just a touch more Guinness. Also made it with different cheeses and was equally wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      This was a SUPER EASY recipe!! My husband and I really enjoyed. We are giving it only four stars because we think the consistency could be improved upon. Next time we will substitue Velveeta for the cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      excellent! as much as a hit as my swiss fondue (I served two side-by-side)! I was entertaining and found it much easier to melt the cheese on the stovetop and then, once totally melted, pour it into the fondue pot and allowing the candle to simply keep it melted and warm. I attempted cooking over the candle but had very little success. as a hint for reducing time grating cheese, I got my cheese at the deli counter and then just sliced in the opposite direction, creating a sort-of shredded effect. very easy and time-efficient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      The taste was ok, but it separated (cheese lumped at bottom and liquid floating on top). I don't think I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2003

      I liked the taste but im not sure I know how to use a fondue pot. The cheese burned to the bottom and the liquid seem to stay on top. but thank you for sharing this recipe. It was a learning experince for my entire family..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      I have to agree with Kirstin, this was wonderful, although I will definitely also go with more swiss than cheddar next time (which will be soon). Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Cheese Fondue

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.0
     
    Calories from Fat 151
    63%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 54.6 mg
    18%
    Sodium 192.5 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites