20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Ate a pot of this without much help from anybody. I didn't feel very well afterwards.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misfit July 09, 2002

very good fondue! if I were to make it again, I think I would tweak the cheese and use more swiss/less cheddar. also, I added a dash of worchestire sauce and a bit of fresh ground pepper...

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirstin in the Couv March 12, 2002

I followed the directions to a 't,' and mine was still quite stringy. That does NOT mean that we didn't eat the heck out of it, anyway! I did add i chopped green onion to the pot, as well as a few tsps of worcestershire sauce, as well as the hot sauce. I used fat tire beer and served with toasted rosemary seasalt bread cubes, pretezels, and sundried tomato wheat thins sticks. all were very tasty, and next time I think I'll even try apples!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Froggus. December 05, 2010

This dip had a great flavor. I read the other review about it being soupy. I just whisked everything together while it was on the stove and all the textures melded together very well. It was gone in just a few minutes! We will make this one again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sting901 January 02, 2010

We LOVED this! My husband just returned from several business trips for a few weeks so I wanted to make a romantic dinner for him. This was low-key and great. I used low fat sharp cheddar to cut down the calories a bit, but regular swiss. I followed the rest of it exactly. It did not get stringy for us, it was nice and melted through - I have a cuisuinart fondue pot that I left on heat setting 3. That worked great. I just heated the beer in there and everything - didn't even have to do the stove-top part. :) Very easy and made for a great dinner for us! Thanks for sharing - can't wait to serve this one to company!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ November 08, 2009

I think this turned out great. It melted just find (use a really low heat) and was a good consistency for dipping. I followed the recipe exactly except for the hot sauce since my toddler would be eatling it. He really liked the "cheesy bread" as a result. I would make it again. I saved the leftovers and reheated it with some milk the next day and added it to some macaroni for Mac-n-cheese. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzyQ in Seattle February 16, 2009

This did not turn out well at all. Which was too bad since I had a house full of guests to serve... Followed all the directions to a 'T' and the fondue ended up separating with a mass of stringy cheese floating in a mostly beer soup. The cheese was too stringy to stick to the bread and the soupy part just made the bread soggy...not to mention the flavor wasn't very good. I was disappointed that it didn't turn out well at all for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers May 20, 2009

Other than the hot sauce, we followed the directions exactly and this turned out great! Others have complained about the liquid separating from the cheese. We didn't have that problem. We did use whole fat cheese which I believe made a big difference. We will make this again. Wonderful recipe! Thank you so much for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy R. May 18, 2009

This is soooo good! Great flavor and easy to make. i used a local micro brew for the beer and the taste was great. i had no problem getting the cheese to melt. Yummy!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerissa M. March 04, 2009

This recipe did not come out well at ALL! The cheese sunk to the bottom of the pot and there for when you dipped your bread into the pot you got a weird mixture of a bit of melted cheese and beer! If you dug down into the cheese at the bottom it was a stringy mess! The cheese mixture was good, but I definitely will not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RLWeygandt November 20, 2008
Beer Cheese Fondue