Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer Can Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Can Chicken

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2002

      5 stars just for the unique factor involved! I used my own barbecue rub for this. I put about 2 tsps. of the rub inside the beer can, too. Chicken was moist and beautiful to behold! Important to note here that a full-flavored beer works better than some of the lighter brands.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      With whole chickens on sale at 49 cents a pound, I had to try this beer can recipe. Exceptional flavor, tender and juicy! I used McCormick Grill Mates for chicken for the rub and also added about a teaspoon full to the beer. Had to make a few adjustments to the charcoal grill so the chicken had room to "stand up" with the cover on. A 4 1/2 lb. chicken took about 90 minutes. I'll be making this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2001

      This is a great way to cook cornish game hens as well! I cook them in the oven at 375 for about an hour. I also put vegetables and spices in the beer such as garlic powder and onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2001

      I have done this chicken but not on the barby as i have not got one with the lid so i do it in the oven and it turns out really well,I put garlic and herbs plus slices of lemon under the breast skin. Really yummy. pauline

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2001

      Super recipe and sooooo easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      i have been doing this for years! we entertain very often in summer and so several different kinds at one time! i inject the chicken with a mixture of cajun spice and beer, and rub the iside with the same, let it marinade in refride by pouring beer on it put them in large ziplock bags for easy marinading) for about 4 hours before grilling. i also add the cajun spice to the beer can that it is cooking on! have also tried several other types of marinde injection with it. lemon pepper is also great! remember to add the same spice to the beer while cooking for extra flavor. butterball chickens are the best to use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2002

      I recently tried this technique and the family ejoyed it very much. How can you go wrong with anything that combines a Barbeque and Beer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2003

      OUTSTANDING!!! I just rubbed the chicken with equal parts of pepper, salt, paprika and brown sugar, baked as directed in this recipe and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      I've been making a very similar recipe for years. Two slight differences. The main difference is I put a fresh rosemary sprig in the beer can. What a difference. I also rub the chicken & let it sit for at least a few hours up to overnight. Also makes a huge difference. Try it, you won't be sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Excellent! Should be renamed Succulent Chicken! Very moist, and full of flavor! I used a tall boy Guinness, rosemary, time and garlic in the can, and Lemon Pepper on the chicken....Good Stuff!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2004

      Super good recipe here. Crispy skin and oh-so-tender on the inside. Really easy to throw together too. With summer grilling around the corner, I'll definately be making this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2003

      Outstanding! The flavor on this is great but will heavily depend on the rub you decide to use. In any case the bird will be flavorful, moist, and juicy. I had a 5 pound bird and a 12 ounce can of beer and still that worked out ok. So easy to make too. And lots of fun! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2003

      This recipe is proof that cooking can be fun! The chicken came out moist and tasty. Great color too! Thanks Gay!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      This made for a fun BBQ with my grandson. I had forgotten that I used up my special chicken spice for a previous meal (another senior's moment!) so I rubbed the bird with lemon pepper. It was delicious - skin crispy & meat moist. Thanx Gay!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2013

      We raise our own meat chickens, butchered yesterday and poke one in the frig for grilling today. Used your recipe...Oh my...it was sssoooooo yummy wonderful! Think when we finish up with the butchering in a few weeks, I'm going to leave most of them whole so I can use use your recipe. I was quick, simple, got to enjoy the garden while it was grilling. Had left over potato salad and slapped some garlic bread on the grill. How much easier can it get? Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      Loved the novelty of this idea but also loved the flavourful, juicy chicken that resulted. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      What an incredibly moist and tasty chicken. We made this last night and it turned out perfect. The only diffrence is we didn't use tall boys. It still turned out wonderful. I have to say the time of cooking is spot on, it was perfectly cooked. Thank you Gay for this "oh so good" chicken, that we will use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      LOVE this recipe! So easy and the outcome is tasty juicy chicken. Used chicken seasoning rub all over and inside and also put some inside the beer can. Great chicken and super easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This is the best chicken I have ever made as a whole roasted chicken. I used the McCormick grillmate for chicken and used Bud Light Lime. This is the most tender chicken and crispest skin. I made it on a gas grill and it was easy and practically no work. I will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      WOW my chicken turned out awesome!!!!! Fall off the bone chicken that was sooooo moist and flavorful.... I did put the rub in the can and only used a 12oz can. My problem was getting the chicken off the beer can :), it's the little things that kill me! Thanks Gay for a great new dish to my table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Can Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (428 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 745.5
     
    Calories from Fat 479
    64%
    Total Fat 53.2 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 14.1 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 213.8 mg
    71%
    Sodium 3692.3 mg
    153%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 50.8 g
    101%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dry rub seasonings


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes