62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 stars just for the unique factor involved! I used my own barbecue rub for this. I put about 2 tsps. of the rub inside the beer can, too. Chicken was moist and beautiful to behold! Important to note here that a full-flavored beer works better than some of the lighter brands.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pariah September 04, 2002

With whole chickens on sale at 49 cents a pound, I had to try this beer can recipe. Exceptional flavor, tender and juicy! I used McCormick Grill Mates for chicken for the rub and also added about a teaspoon full to the beer. Had to make a few adjustments to the charcoal grill so the chicken had room to "stand up" with the cover on. A 4 1/2 lb. chicken took about 90 minutes. I'll be making this again for sure.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri F. July 07, 2002

This is a great way to cook cornish game hens as well! I cook them in the oven at 375 for about an hour. I also put vegetables and spices in the beer such as garlic powder and onions.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie June 27, 2001

I have done this chicken but not on the barby as i have not got one with the lid so i do it in the oven and it turns out really well,I put garlic and herbs plus slices of lemon under the breast skin. Really yummy. pauline

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
polly=4 November 13, 2001

Super recipe and sooooo easy.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fancy Free July 02, 2001

i have been doing this for years! we entertain very often in summer and so several different kinds at one time! i inject the chicken with a mixture of cajun spice and beer, and rub the iside with the same, let it marinade in refride by pouring beer on it put them in large ziplock bags for easy marinading) for about 4 hours before grilling. i also add the cajun spice to the beer can that it is cooking on! have also tried several other types of marinde injection with it. lemon pepper is also great! remember to add the same spice to the beer while cooking for extra flavor. butterball chickens are the best to use.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs.shed August 25, 2002

I recently tried this technique and the family ejoyed it very much. How can you go wrong with anything that combines a Barbeque and Beer!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnvac52 September 05, 2002

OUTSTANDING!!! I just rubbed the chicken with equal parts of pepper, salt, paprika and brown sugar, baked as directed in this recipe and it was delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy8171 June 17, 2003

I've been making a very similar recipe for years. Two slight differences. The main difference is I put a fresh rosemary sprig in the beer can. What a difference. I also rub the chicken & let it sit for at least a few hours up to overnight. Also makes a huge difference. Try it, you won't be sorry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shadowgirl... June 30, 2010

Excellent! Should be renamed Succulent Chicken! Very moist, and full of flavor! I used a tall boy Guinness, rosemary, time and garlic in the can, and Lemon Pepper on the chicken....Good Stuff!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElvisPresley99 September 06, 2009
Beer Can Chicken