Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer-Can Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer-Can Chicken

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I used it as a starting point. I mixed some olive oil, minced garlic, seasoning salt, thyme and rosemary to marinate the chicken, then added additional spices in the beer can as directed. I cooked mine in the oven for about 2 hours in a 350 oven (5 lb. chicken) and it was moist and delicious. Quick and easy (prep time) too. I was worried that the chicken would not stand upright on the beer can, but it did so effortlessly without any gadgets or anything. Thanks for posting. Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      This was the first time I made beer can chicken and it turned out well. I made mine in the oven but will try it on the grill whenever the weather permits. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This was ONE GREAT TASTNG chicken full of flavors. The fight was on for the last helpings last night. I had some extra seasoning salt that I used too. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. It was nice to get the grill going for a change during the winter. I might add some oregeno next time. Will repeat this . Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This chicken was so moist and tasty. The only change I made was to wedge a potato in the top of the neck so all the steam didn't escape.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      I would give this more than 5 stars if I could! This Was *AWESOME* In fact, I thought my boys were going to fight over the last piece of chicken. My DH said this was a definite repeat and couldn't believe how tender even the breast meat (his favorite) was. The skin was crunchy and the inside very tender, juicy and flavorful. I'm so glad I tagged this recipe!!!! I used your house seasoning as stated and couldn't believe I didn't have to salt my portion. I'm a salt nut and it was perfect. I had a 5 lb chicken, and made your recipe exact.... except, I didn't have a canned beer LOL! I actually took a soda can, mixed as directed with my favorite Miller Lite and poured it into the can. Added the garlic, fresh squeezed lemon juice and a bit of italian seasoning along with some oregano. I set the chicken on the can and set in a foil pan.. it took about 1 and a half hour before it reached 160' -- removed from the grill and cut into serving pieces. YUMMERS!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this *keeper* and showing me another way to cook chicken. (Made for bevy Tag 8/08 Beat the Heat) ~V

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      DH says this is winner and fun to do and wants to make it again.:) Moist, tasty, and easy. Our chicken weighed 4# and 4 oz. and took 1 hour and 25 minutes. Thanks for sharing diner524. Made for ZWT4 the Flying Dutchess'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      What a great way to cook chicken. You just get the chicken ready and stick it on the grill and forget about it. I purchased a beer can chicken holder from Walmart for $3.48 to make the chicken steadier and then placed the chicken in a disposable pie pan. I added some minced garlic, worchestershire sauce and Italian seasoning in the beer. The chicken had a nice crispy skin and was moist and tender on the inside. It took 2 hours for the chicken to be completely done. I will be using this recipe often. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      Quite an adventure; I wasn't sure our gas grill would do this. It did! The chicken is savory and moist, crisp on the outside, fall-apart tender inside, and full of flavor. Made for PAC Spring 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      This was so good and really easy. I had to use a bit smaller chicken because I have a smaller BBQ. I will be making this again! Thanks for another keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      This was great. I did two chickens hoping for leftovers...it was so good there was none left.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      This recipe is FANTASTIC! I made this for my guests. They have never seen beer butt chicken before. I purchased a beer butt metal chicken holder at my local Big Lots, a discount store, which helps makes this recipe easy to prepare. It has a place to hold the beer can and then you slide the chicken down the center. It also has a drip pan which prevents smoking from the drippings hitting the flames. Wal-Mart has something similiar. I also have seen them in catalogues.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer-Can Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (414 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1242.9
     
    Calories from Fat 768
    61%
    Total Fat 85.4 g
    131%
    Saturated Fat 24.4 g
    122%
    Cholesterol 425.2 mg
    141%
    Sodium 399.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 105.8 g
    211%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites