777 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe. Takes 2 minutes to mix up and you have home baked bread ready in an hour. Only 4 ingredients if you use self-raising flour like I did. Incredible! I cut the sugar to 2 tbsp (plenty for my taste), used 1/4 c unsalted butter and sprinkled the top with coarse sea salt. I used a local microbrew Pale Ale and I think using a good beer would make a BIG difference in this recipe because the flavour really comes through. I sliced some jalapeno stuffed olives and mixed them into the batter with some red pepper flakes; it made a fantastic spicy olive bread. I will definitely be making this recipe again, often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elysabeth1 December 08, 2010

This was amazing and super easy, I've made it a few times and I have friends texting me in the morning asking me to make it for dinner that night. Literally, just the bread for dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krissysrose November 16, 2010

This is a wonderful recipe!! Tender with a crisp crust. My family loves it. So good with soup!

Thank you for such a good, easy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jb Tyler, TX September 13, 2010

Baked this twice this weekend. The first time I only baked it for 45 minutes based upon what someone wrote here. It was a little too gummy. The next time I baked it for an hour and it was fabulous. Took it to a family event and it was gone in no time! I also only used 1/4 cup butter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas Crazy 4 Cooking Gal September 06, 2010

Very good. I followed your advice and spooned the flour into the measuring cup as a way of sifting it, as well as adding the butter directly to the mix for a softer bread. Quite a hearty bread. My husband loves it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 July 23, 2010

Great Beer Bread. Just like Tastefully Simple. We used an 8 x 8 pan and only 3 TBSP butter. YUMMY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amylynne27 July 19, 2010

My daughter in law made this for a recent party. It was so good. If you like tastefully simple beer bread, this is as good if not better. YUMMMM

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aechick97 July 03, 2010

Super easy, even for a newbie baker like me! Absolutely delicious. I had a couple snafus, but it would have helped to read other reviews... I will reduce butter to 1/4 cup next time. I did not put a baking sheet under my pan and the butter boiled over and created small flames in my oven....eeeek. Putting the bread pan on a baking sheet/baking mat may be worth putting in the recipe to help out us newbies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelle_sandiego June 21, 2010

I just started baking bread from scratch so I always look for simple recipes that won't scare me away. This is as easy as can be and the taste is amazing! Delicious, moist and enjoyed by all my roommates when I served it with chili.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Squirrel_whisperer June 06, 2010

This is a first class bread recipe. Smells so good and taste even better. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. Don't expect the top to be smooth and round like the store, but the looks fool you. The crust is great also. Thanks for posting it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
don.arnold May 12, 2010
Beer Bread