774 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this last week for the dinner our performance group shares at rehearsal. We are 12 people strong, and I almost didn't get a taste! Definitely go with the 1/4c butter suggestion. Next time I will try a different type of beer...probably and Irish drought. I also used a latex breadpan and there was no spillover or leakage. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m4corgi March 19, 2011

Both simple and tasty just like the description says. Also a forgiving recipe. I was a little shy on a thing or two and it still worked out really well. Ended up using half whole wheat flour, mixing a few teaspoons of the butter into the batter, and pouring the rest of about one-quarter cup on the top. Oh, and the beer of the day was Kona Longboard. A simple delight and a definite keeper. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaNik March 07, 2011

very good, sooo easy to make. My 3 yr old ate 4 pieces and my husband, who doesn't usually like bread, went back for seconds!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boudreauxh February 25, 2011

Excellent and easy! Served with saurkraut chowder and it was the perfect compliment to the soup. I only used a 1/4 cup butter and mixed it into the batter. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview February 14, 2011

I made this with some Miller Genuine Draft left over after Super Bowl festivities. Fantastic! I was sure to sift the flour, used 1/4 cup butter, reduced the sugar by 1 Tablespoon and added 1/2 teaspoon quick yeast to boost the rise. A keeper that will be a regular in my house. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wasup February 08, 2011

I only put 1/4 cup of butter on the top. It spilled over my standard loaf pan very quickly, all over the oven, and caused a lot of smoke! I might try this recipe again, but without the butter on top! Be careful!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daniellejohnson January 24, 2011

Not that it needs my additional 5-star review, but here it is anyway :) I added some grated cheddar cheese, half a can of green chilies I needed to use up, and some green onion. Perfect with a bowl of beef stew! DH went for a second helping of this rather than his usual meat! That says it all! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Giovanni-B January 02, 2011

This has to be the easiest bread to make. I love a dense hearty bread and this is perfect. I am actually giving it as Christmas gifts too! I highly recommend this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tlandis316 December 24, 2010

This bread was amazing! (Only four stars, though, because it was sort of hard to cut. The top crumbled a bit when I tried slicing it, resulting in not perfectly shaped pieces.) I used some whole wheat flour and a nice stout.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan at Food.com December 21, 2010

This is a wonderful recipe. So easy and I seem to always have everything on hand. It is especially good with about a 1/2 cup of shredded smoked Gouda cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisa.basler December 10, 2010
Beer Bread