Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Bread

    Average Rating:

    768 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 768

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2009

      Very good recipe. Reason it's not a 5-star: I have a similar recipe that bakes the bread for 1 hour at 350, and doing so worked perfectly, so I question baking at 375. Also, 1/4 cup melted butter is on the HIGH end of what I think makes sense, never mind 1/2 cup. I greased the pan with less than 1 tablespoon butter, then put 2 tablespoons of melted on the top, and this was fine. I did not try mixing the batter in the pan, nor would I recommend doing so, for 2 reasons. One, the thckness of the batter makes mixing difficult, and I don't think there would be any way to mix it sufficiently without scraping the grease off the sides of the pan. Second, given the foaminess of the beer when first added, I would be afraid that the loaf pan wouldn't hold it all and you'd end up with an overflow mess. I used an oatmeal stout for the beer and that was very good. Some things I did that did not influence my rating: I decreased the sugar to 2 tablespoons. What amount of sugar to use really depends on personal preference. For the three cups flour, I used 1 cup whole wheat and 2 cups white, to make it slightly healthier without affecting taste too much, and this was fine. I also threw in a 1.8 ounce jar of tomato and garlic pesto mix to make it an herbed bread. I would not do this in the future, or would at least substantially reduce the quantity of mix, as I definitely overdid it. It's good, but a bit heavy on the spices when eaten alone. I think when I finish the loaf with soup, the heavy herb taste will be more enjoyable, but without other food it's a bit much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I love this recipe. I'm amused by the folks that cut the sugar. Don't they realize the relationship between sugar and beerwhen it comes to baking?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      UPDATE (9/29/08): I just made my second batch b/c I just can't get enough! I made it w/Heineken this time instead of Bud Light. I have to say the first batch (with Bud Light) is MUCH MUCH better! _____________________________ Only one problem: I ate too much! I used a bottle of beer (not a can). I don't think it makes a difference either way. I'm happy that I now have a creative way to get rid of that nasty beer my better half's friends seem to always leave behind...ick! haha. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      This bread is excellent! the butter keeps it very moist! Instead of making a whole loaf, it is just me and my boyfriend, so I made a mini loaf, and used 1/3 of all the ingredients listed. 1 c flour 1tsp powder 1+ tbsp sugar 4 oz beer (used Bud Light) 2 Tbs butter Yum! I just bought a pack of aluminum mini loaves at the grocery. It was the perfect amount for the 2 of us at dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This bread is great! I LOVE that you can just mix it up in the pan it bakes in. I have had problems with it bubbling over, so now I always put a cookie sheet under the pan. Last time I made it I reduced the butter by half & it was just as good, YAY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      This bread is outstanding! I made it exactly as recipe was written; making sure flour was sifted. Actually, I sifted all the dry ingredients together before adding a bottle of Smithwick's beer (from Guinness). It was awesome! I took it to work today for lunch because someone else was bringing in chile. People were asking for the recipe before they tasted it due to the reactions of the people who were already eating it! It was simple and easy to make. I'm making it again this weekend! Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe!! Carol:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      Awesome bread, and super easy! I used to pay a fortune for the mixes, and this was better, and so much cheaper. I made this tonight for dinner to go with venison steak. DH said to make another loaf for tomorrow, cause he was eating the whole loaf tonight. I did not sift the flour, but spooned it lightly, and the texture was great. I did only use 1/4 cup butter, but felt it was too much. The bottom of the loaf was crusty and greasy. It still tasted awesome, and the butter on the bottom made it taste great. I would just have preferred less butter. I will use 2 tablespoons next time. I'm sure I will be making this a lot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      This is very similar to my beer bread recipe from a relative in Germany. My ingredients vary - 2 c. flour, 12 oz beer, 1T Baking Powder, 3T Sugar, 1 t. salt. I've always loved my recipe, but now add the 1/4 c. of melted butter to the top of mine, and it really takes it up a notch. I bake mine in a stoneware loaf pan for 45 min at 350. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      I would have given this a higher rating because the inside of the bread was phenomenal. However, 375 for one hour was way too long to bake this. My bread was done (and to the point of charring on the top of the loaf) after only 45 minutes. Flavor is excellent, but I'd suggest baking this at 350 for 45 - 50 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      I'm sorry to give this such a low review, but this really should be called a quick bread rather than a bread, it has the texture of muffin, I was dissapointed with the outcome of this recipe, I guess with all the high reviews on it I had higher expectations of this recipe. thanks anyway.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      Wow, This bread came out of the oven a little while ago and everyone keeps going in and slicing another piece! I followed the recipe as written and it was finished in 45 minutes. I put a cookie sheet under the loaf pan which worked nicely as others suggested in their reviews. The photo by dojemi caught my eye. The texture is as good as it looks in the picture. Thanks for a recipe I know I will be making often. I think it would be good in bread stuffing for the holiday.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      This is a tasty bread! Simple, quick, and very easy to make. I might add less butter next time. Thank you for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2005

      This was so good and easy. I baked it in a solar oven in a round pan.Came out perfect. Will be making often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      I have been making beer bread for years, and I appreciate the fantastic bread that can be had for such little effort. I love baking yeast breads, and typically do for most dinners, but I find in the spring/summer months I spend a lot more time outside, and I appreciate a bread that takes almost no forethought. I have used this recipe twice now. The recipe I have always made called for a warm beer, started the bread in a cold oven, baked 45 min, spread with butter, bake for 15 more minutes. The main taste difference I have found in the 2 recipes is that the melted butter poured over prior to baking gives this bread a fantastic sizzling, crunchy crust (I used only 1/4 cup butter and it seems to be plenty). If you don't bother to preheat the oven, you can have this bread in the oven in less than 5 minutes. By the time you have finished the rest of the meal, you will have hot bread ready. I love to make this when grilling outdoors, since it does not require a lot of fuss in the kitchen. I do think the bread rises a bit higher when using a room-temp beer and starting with a cold oven. Regardless, you cannot go wrong with this easy, delicious bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2004

      There's already so many 5-star reviews that adding one more won't make too much difference, but I just wanted to say that this was really good, and super easy to make. I used whole wheat flour and a honey-weiss beer. I added flax seeds and a bit of fresh rosemary. I also used 1/4 cup of olive oil instead of the butter. It turned out great - a bit crumbly, as other reviewers have mentioned, but great flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2004

      I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 regular white flour and it turned out great!!! The flavor and texture are perfect and how much easier could it get to make? I can't wait to try adding spices and cheese. This is a wonderful staple recipe to have.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      Another excellent beer bread! I also used Killians and served this bread with lasagna...can you say carb overload? :) The bread had a nice dense texture and a nice "yeasty" flavor from the Killians. I love the addition of the butter! An outstanding beer bread and one I will definitely make again, thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2004

      This was a great recipe! I was a former Tastefully Simple consultant who sold Beer Bread from the T.S. product line. After awhile it got costly....but this recipe saved me money from having to buy it. It tasted very similar if not exactly like the TS product! I've now shared this with many of my TS customers so they too can save money! One thing to note....I used to tell my TS customer that they could use the TS Beer Bread mix with any carbonated beverage like cola, lemon-lime drinks and even fruit juices mixed with club soda. I'm sure you can do the same substitutions with this recipe as long as you use 12 oz of a carbonated beverage. Also, for a different twist, add your favorite herbs and spices for a different twist for savory and sweet breads! Thanks for sharing this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2004

      This was excellent! I used a can of Guinness Stout (only "beer" i had around)and came out malty and brown. the crust was lovely. everyone assumed i slaved over it. i will try it with beer next time. thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2003

      Excellent, loved it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 39

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.1
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    34%
    Total Fat 15.9 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 40.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 707.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites