781 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! I used 2 cups of bread flour, 1 cup of white ww flour, sifted twice and only 2 TBS of melted butter. Baked for 50 minutes for a perfect loaf that my whole family loved! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chanceosunshine September 08, 2010

fantastic and flexible. I use 100% whole wheat flour plus a 1/4 cup of oatbran or cream of wheat or hemp or flax PLUS a large can of bear -440ml- , 1/4 cup of oil and it's perfect. As far as beers go, i've tried dark, sleemans porter, fort garry pale, wheat, nut brown, red and a leinenkugel lemonaide. the best ones are the lighter one i've found, the bitterness of the darks doesn't fit as well.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dwayne #2 March 16, 2009

I was expecting more of a bread like texture...this was more like a biscuit texture..it was good.. if i make it again, i'll cut the sugar and butter in half...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lexis April 12, 2004

Very good & very easy. Practically makes itself. I did sift my flour and used seltzer water instead of beer. Took the other reviewers suggestion and used only 1/4cup of melted butter. Turned out great the first time...family raved...great toasted too.....you can add just other ingredients to give it character of taste. Will be making again and again. Thanks for sharing. ; )

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rheka April 02, 2004

Ohhhh...this was good! I added some sharp cheddar and about 2t of caraway seeds...to die for!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeyJuuude March 30, 2004

I made this for my boyfriend's family christmas and everyone ate it up! It was so good! After I baked it for an hour there was still a lot of melted butter in the pan so i poured it back over top and broiled the bread for another 5 minutes or so. It defiantley soaked up more of the butter, the rest i discarded. Definatley a keeper! Try with cinnamon butter like the Texas Roadhouse copycat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schneiderle December 27, 2013

This bread is delicious! I used home-brewed kombucha instead of beer, and added a packet of yeast to be sure it rose well. The entire loaf was devoured at dinner. Will definitely make again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
efromoregon December 16, 2013

Great go-to recipe. Thanks for the tips about sifting - I spooned the flour into the measuring cup, and didn't experience and issues with the end texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWardo November 05, 2013

Great bread I served it with honey butter and baked potato soup fabulous fall meal took 53 minutes in my gas oven

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandyalibrio October 07, 2013

Try this with one of the new cider or flavored ales. It's delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellenbecker82 September 29, 2013
Beer Bread