Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Bread

    Average Rating:

    765 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 765

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2010

      We really liked this bread, and it did last til the next day...lol I would suggest not using full amount of butter, as mine ran over sides and onto the bottom of the oven with a regular loaf pan. Will try again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      This is ridiculously easy and so so very good. It has become a regular thing in my household, made to accompany hearty stews and soups. It is good for dipping or even putting a slice at the bottom of the bowl before heaping veggie stew/ potato soup/etc. on top. If I could figure it out, it would make a wickedly awesome bread bowl. Used it in a butternut squash, apple, & potato soup that called for two slices of bread to be pureed into the mix. So freaking delicious. So easy that my daughter has made it a few times herself (mistakenly using baking SODA on one occasion - but, hey, it still worked)! It's always a good thing, when you can lure your kids into the kitchen to tackle a part of dinner. (^_~)b

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      This was so easy to put together. It tastes great too. I made three mini-loaves out of one recipe. The bread is very crusty on the outside and moist and dense on the inside. My family loves this and within minutes has eaten two out of the three loaves! Thanks so much. 3/04/10 update: I have made this bread so many times in the last three plus years and my family loves, loves, loves this bread. It is so easy to put together too. Oh, and I have cut down to the 1/4 cup butter on the top and this is more than enough for delicious bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      holy moly!! this is delicious. i never knew bread could be so easy! i added 1/2 cup parmesan cheese to the dough and sprinkled a little on top. so yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      I loved how quick and easy this recipe was! The last 5 minutes the bread was baking, I topped with cheddar cheese, yum! I wish the bread was a tad more moist (yes, I did sift). Next time I might try adding a tablespoon of evoo. Will definitely make this one again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This bread was wonderful! If you don't like beer, don't be afraid, you can hardly taste it. Also, the alcohol in the beer cooks away as the bread heats up. I have made it two times. The first time, I used 1/4 cup of butter and it was REALLY good. The second time, I poured 1/4 cup on the dough but then poured off the excess into a small bowl. (Since I used a loaf pan, less was needed.) It was just as good this way. Of course, butter makes everything better but the benefits of not having the added fat far outweighed the taste differences. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      We've used this same recipe (using self rising flour) for years in my family. Anytime we have any left over beer or malt beverage this is how we get rid of it. During the summer we always use citrus malt beverages. I like it with the hard crunchy top so most of the time I don't put the butter on top. When I was in college it was a great care package treat from home and of course having beer was a draw for other college students to try it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      I haven't tried this recipe but I have made lots of bread and I have a suggestion for those of you who have had trouble with the butter running over. I put my bread in a 2-qt. Pyrex casserole. I have never had the butter run over on my loaves when I do it this way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      BEST. BREAD. EVER. I made it with Harvest Long Trail Brown Ale (made in VT). I made it for supper, but it was done an hour early and I couldn't wait. OMG... I did cut the sugar in half, and only used 3 T. of butter. Used a 9x5 loaf pan and had no problems, whatsoever. So, so, so good...next time I'm gonna add some garlic and green onion and cheese. I can see that this is a recipe that can be altered many, many ways. Thanks SO much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Wow this was the easiest bread I have ever made. I was cleaning out the fridge and came across a single beer thinking what can I do with this, it was no use drinking it because I only had one, so I thought why not make beer bread with it and then I stumbled across your recipe and boy am I glad I did I almost ate the whole loaf myself it was that good. and the idea of the melted butter oh my god that just put it over the top, thanks for posting the recipe It will become a regular addition around the house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      What a fantastic tasting, easy to make bread! I used a Czech pilsner as it was the cheapest beer they had! I used between 1/4 and a 1/2 cup of butter and it did overflow, but I had a baking sheet under it so no mess there. We had a slice each warm yesterday and I have just had a cold slice now and it is just as good. The flavour is different now but still perfect. My husband warmed his up in the microwave and declared it perfect. We will have the rest with lasagne tonight. I am going to be baking this often. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      wow! this is some of the best beer bread I have had. I used a local beer, Capital Brewery Island Wheat, and it melts in your mouth. Thank you ever so much you have no idea how many beer bread recipes I have tried and they all fall flat compared to yours! And yes sifting makes a difference :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      WOW!! Took this to a party last night and it disappeared in the first 30 minutes! Everyone just loved it and kept asking "what kind of bread is it/how do you make it?". It's got a lovely, subtle sweetness and the German wheat beer I used added a nice flavor. Perhaps my favorite part is the crunchy, buttery crust! I had intended it be used as a platform for a Caponata recipe I made.....but people just kept slicing off pieces of the bread, slathering with butter and gobbling it up! Next time I'm leaving the Caponata at home and taking 2 loaves of this wonderfully delicious, easy to prepare bread. Thanks so much for the advise on sifting. It really is amazing that from about 2 cups unsifted flour, I ended up with the full 3 cups after the first sift. I certainly understand the importance now. I don't actually have a flour sifter, so used a wire mesh strainer and it seemed to do the trick nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars, I would! The crust was indescribably awesome and the inside was so moist and hearty; I could have eaten the whole loaf! This bread is better than Tastefully Simple's Beer Bread which is ridiculously expensive and who's crust could never amount to the one on your beer bread. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Never tried beer bread before and thought it might be nice with Lentil Soup with Andouille Sausage. Turned out to be a fantastic combination. The only change I made was to use all wheat flour, because it's all I had on hand. Loved the simplicity of this recipe and how quick it was to throw together. Thanks for the tip on sifting (I used your by the spoon alternative). The bread was dense and moist with a crusty exterior. Delicious for so little effort. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Extremely easy and came out delicious, light, moist, and flavorful on my first try! I took the author's advice about sifting very seriously and diligently sifted. :) I am very pleased with the results. I used 2 cups all-purpose white flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour. The whole wheat added a distinctive nuttiness that went beautifully with the malty taste of the beer, and increases the fiber content of the bread without sacrificing moistness and texture, which is great for those of us who are trying to incorporate more fiber into our diets.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Yummy!! This was good. I prefer my beer bread just a tad sweeter, so next time, I may up the sugar to 1/3 cup. In addition to sifting the flour, here are two more tips for a making a better beer bread: 1. First, mix the dry ingredients well, then add the beer. 2. After adding the beer, mix quickly and firmly (20-30 seconds) by hand using a spatula or a wooden spoon. DO NOT OVERMIX; the batter will be a bit lumpy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This was my first attempt at making beer bread, and I don't see any need to seek out a different recipe. This was amazing. I used good old fashioned PBR and 1/4 cup butter; also sprinkled garlic salt on top - crust was DELICIOUS. Next time I will definitely experiment with additional ingredients. I'd like to make it with a lager and some cheddar, and also with guinness and some honey. Can't wait! Thanks Gerald! -djbarnez

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      It came out deliciouse. As there are few sizes for a loaf pan, only after looking at the photoes, I found out that I used a longer bread loaf baking pan so the bread didn't come high. Still it taste deliciouse, BTW.....I added 1/4 cup of broken wallnuts and it came simply awesome. You can add too 1/4 cup of olives slices instead of the wallnuts, but you can't serve it with marmalade.:) Enjoy. Scoopy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      WOW I have used packaged beer bread forever, and I will never do so again. My husband and I did a "rise test" with this and a package beer bread(which cost 6.50) This was by fas the better, easier, cheaper, and most importantly tastier bread. I love the user comments as well. We did only use 1/4 cup butter and we used cold beer...rose fine in low altitude. Does anyone have a high altitude version or will this work for my parents at 9,000 feet? Anyhow love the recipe! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.1
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    34%
    Total Fat 15.9 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 40.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 707.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites