777 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG. This is wonderful. I added a little more sugar. This recipe has become a weekly habit. LOVE IT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Platinum August 09, 2009

This was delicious, easy and very cheap to make. I used Yuengling Lager, and even though I am not a beer drinker I loved the bread. I could taste the beer but it wasn't too strong of a beer taste which I liked. Also, the crust/top of the bread, tasted really good with all the butter on it. This recipe will be used often. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG August 02, 2009

WOWSER!! I sifted the flour and used 1/4 cup butter . . what an awesome bread!! Baked in my stoneware bread loaf pan. No dripping overload from the butter, no heavy/brick texture. Also, bread was done within 45 - 50 minutes. Next time, I'll be making two loaves, just cuz we enjoyed it that much. THANK YOU, Gerald!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisMonie August 02, 2009

This was ridiculously easy! I was so glad to be able to make a homemade loaf of bread without out all the fuss and trouble. I used the 1/4 cup of butter. I had a little trouble getting it out of the pan and I guess I don't have a very good bread knife because I tore crust away from the soft interior a little bit on a few slices. Thanks for such a easy and delicious bread recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee July 25, 2009

Wanted a quick bread to go with the soup I had in the freezer. I usually make a yeast bread I saw on America's Test Kitchen, but that has to be started the night before. So I tried this bread. It was very good for the ease with which it could be made, but I will stick with the yeast bread when I have time. However, this will make a good last minute substitute when needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greg: Barrow, Alaska July 14, 2009

I'll give it five stars since my husband adored this. He actually raved over how good it was. I wasn't too fond, but I dislike the taste of beer. The first time I made this, I used Saranac Pale Ale. It was much too bitter and even my husband didn't like it. I tried again using a Saranac Adirondack Lager which my husband advised me would be less bitter. I also added a touch more sugar and def. went with less butter. This time he loved it. It also gives him another excuse to buy beer...for cooking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
easpurk July 12, 2009

I am a dummy and used baking soda by accident. However, this recipe is delicious! Wow! I used a nice wheat beer and a little less than 1/4 cup butter over the top. Six of us gobbled it up with our BBQ chicken and mashed potatoes. Thanks for a great recipe! BTW, sifting the flour made an enormous difference-I had measured about a half a cup too much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice July 10, 2009

This bread is delicious! My whole house smelled heavenly while it was baking. I doubt there will be any left by the time my husband comes home. I may have to bake another loaf!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knittedgoat July 08, 2009

YUM! I made this to go with dinner, but I can't keep my hands off of it! I hope there's some left when my hubby gets home!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Expat Cook July 08, 2009

This is great! The flour hint was great-kept it light and fluffy. Also, this is excellent with cheddar cheese melted on a slice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ndesigns1 July 07, 2009
Beer Bread