774 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Love this recipe and haven't ever wanted to try any other. I came across this recipe after enjoying a Pampered Chef beer bread mix, and I really can't tell a diference. Delicious and super easy - and I have sifted every time! I agree wtih another reviewer who said you need to mix the dry ingredients first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justinsarabrode August 26, 2009

You don't need another review but this is just astounding! I've never baked bread because I'm a little nervous of the whole process but this was one of the simplest things I've ever made, and one of the tastiest! It's already finished so I'll either have to make it more regularly, or make two to keep my greedy family happy :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyBunny August 25, 2009

Delicious, mixed it right in the pan! Will make again. I used Sam Adam's Octoberfest for the beer and it gave it such a great flavor. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 August 24, 2009

All I can say is YUM! I usually buy the mix from Tastefully Simple...but I will use this recipe faithfully. I decreased the butter some, and it came out perfect. Crunchy on the outside, nice and soft inside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ebecht August 22, 2009

Just what everyone needs: one more review of this yummy recipe! DH put it together for lunch today to go with our favorite cream of tomato soup. It was so much better than eating crackers or something with the soup!! We weigh our flour for baking, which accomplishes the same end as sifting the flour. It was very light. Thank you for introducing us to this delicious beer bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisherself August 18, 2009

I can't believe how fantastic this bread is!! I make it all the time now & have had to pass on the recipe so many times! If we're planning a dinner party I always try to incorporate something saucy so I can show off my bread making skills lol! It's so delicious & so so quick & easy!! I always add some crushed garlic to the melted butter, the smell is amazing whilst cooking and then it tastes even better!! I added some chargrilled red pepper relish to the topping last time which looked awesome! With the texture being almost muffin-ish I definitely prefer to serve this bread with a tomato based dish (it's awesome with seafood!) or anything with a thicker sauce as I don't really like the texture for absorbing soups etc - although my husband never complains lol!... Fantastic recipe - but you already knew that!! Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bondnz August 09, 2009

OMG. This is wonderful. I added a little more sugar. This recipe has become a weekly habit. LOVE IT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Platinum August 09, 2009

This was delicious, easy and very cheap to make. I used Yuengling Lager, and even though I am not a beer drinker I loved the bread. I could taste the beer but it wasn't too strong of a beer taste which I liked. Also, the crust/top of the bread, tasted really good with all the butter on it. This recipe will be used often. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG August 02, 2009

WOWSER!! I sifted the flour and used 1/4 cup butter . . what an awesome bread!! Baked in my stoneware bread loaf pan. No dripping overload from the butter, no heavy/brick texture. Also, bread was done within 45 - 50 minutes. Next time, I'll be making two loaves, just cuz we enjoyed it that much. THANK YOU, Gerald!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisMonie August 02, 2009
Beer Bread