805 Reviews

Very tasty and easy to do! I used a bit less than 1/4 cup melted butter on top, a bit less than the 1/4 cup sugar, and added 1/4 cup molasses. It was a beautiful color and rather tasty. Next time, I may just use 1/2 cup molasses and no sugar. Also thinking of trying a Guiness (sp?) at some point. As I do consider myself to be a novice, I did run out and buy a sifter so I do not have the experience others may have had... the creation of beer bricks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krhine1 April 10, 2011

I've made this recipe at last a half dozen times. It's excellent. The bread is a little crumbly but it's not a problem. I strongly recommend you only use 1/4 cup of butter, as it is quite enough. This bread is great when you don't have the time to wait for a yeast bread and want to add homemade bread to the dinner.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Croce March 31, 2011

I love beer bread because it's so easy and quick. This recipe was perfect! I even substituted 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour because I ran out of regular flour and it turned out just as good. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunnyjen76 January 08, 2011

This was soooo good! Only I added about a 1/2 cup each of chopped sun-dried tomatoes, kalamata olives and crumbled feta cheese with just a sprinkling of dried oregano. That turned out so good, I did a version with chopped pepperoni, sun-dried tomatoes and parmesean cheese. I wanted to do a version with jalepenos and cheddar but I will save that for next time!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susanbayati October 31, 2010

Made it exactly per the recipe. Sifted the flour. Used a Mexican beer. I loved the buttery taste and I was suprised that I could actually taste the beer in the bread. Next time I will try with less butter and maybe some cheese. Saw another reviewer use seltzer water. Would like to see what that would be like. Excellent simple recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmtaylor120 September 23, 2010

I decreased the amount of sugar a little, but other than that I didn't change a thing. It was a hit with the entire family. YUM!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseAnita July 19, 2010

Baked it and loved it. It is super easy. I added the butter into the batter and put just a small amount on top. I had no run over in the oven. The bread was soft with a golden crust. it was great with our meatloaf and I would loved it with stew or chili. I will be making it again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MistyBug77 July 12, 2010

This recipe is better than the beer bread Tastefully Simple sells. And that is some good bread! A tasty alteration to turn it into a breakfast bread that will make your mouth water is... Follow the dry recipe sifting the flour before measuring and adding to other ingredients. Now add 2-3 heaping tablespoons of Vanilla Capaccino (or Vanilla coca) drink mix Sift all ingredients then add 2 handfuls of dried cranberries or dried cherries - Instead of beer add 12oz of Orange cream soda (or just regualr cream soda) gently mix and generously grease your pan with a stick of butter or butter spray. Bake as directed.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImKukie January 10, 2009

The base recipe is nice, and really an easy one to experiment with. The butter crust is pretty good, but I have found myself skipping the butter on it. I tried the hint of mixing it into the bread, but in my opinion, it gave it an oily texture. I have found that the beer that you use makes a big difference. Hard ciders give it a bit of a mild apple flavor. Winter ales give it a hint of spice. If you use a lighter beer, you can mix in things like chopped up green onions, a handful of shredded cheese, Italian seasoning, orange zest, or whatever else you may come up with. The flavor is still very good all on it's own.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Myrab51 January 01, 2014

I have made this recipe dozens of times. It is by far, one of the easiest homeade recipes to make and almost fail-proof. I have made several variations of this recipe including Cheese, Pumpkin and Chocolate Beer bread as well as experimenting with different beers and it always turns out fabulous! A half stick of butter or lite butter poured over the bread is Plenty to give the crust that nice crusty buttery top, too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Creative Kelly December 29, 2013
Beer Bread