781 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this bread dozens of times with at least a half a dozen different beers and every single on is a hit. Honey ale and strawberry blond make great ligthly sweet breads guiness full stout is slightly bitter but very hearty and goes great with beef stew. This is the bread everyone wants me to bring to dinner and I've never had a miss. I do use the lesser amount of butter otherwise I follow this to a T.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lealla September 17, 2011

Easy to make. Springy, moist, flavorful bread w/ a great crust. I will definitely make it again, but will divide between two loaf pans next time, or make some in muffin tins, as butter overflowed in the oven and smoked a lot (splitting it will make more of that great crust!).
I added shredded cheddar, minced pepperoni, garlic powder and oregano and overbaked a little to get a very brown crust. The cheese in the crust got crispy/chewy and was out of this world good.
I sifted twice and the bread was very light.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weewah May 16, 2011

For those of you who are concerned about using alcoholic beer in this recipe..... The alcohol found in alcoholic beverages is "ethyl alcohol".... It has a boiling point of about 180 degrees. You are baking the bread at 375 degrees. The alcohol will be baked completely out of your bread.... Alcoholic beer is consequently a non-issue.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sternjager April 05, 2010

I keep the dry ingredients pre-mixed in ziploc bags. I also found the following variation on the web: Orange Streusel Bread Combine BBB with 12 oz. orange soda; pour into greased loaf pan. Mix 1/4-cup flour, 1/4-cup sugar, 2 Tbsp. brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 cup butter, softened; sprinkle over batter. Bake as directed. Summer Bread Prepare BBB with 12 oz. orange juice and 1 cup raspberries. Bake as directed. Prepare glaze of 5 Tbsp. powdered sugar and 1 Tbsp. orange juice. Pour over bread while warm. PB and J Bread Combine BBB with 6 oz. pkg. peanut butter chips; add 12 oz. can grape or strawberry soda and 1/3 cup jelly or jam (same flavor). Pour into greased loaf pan, top with 3 Tbs. melted butter Bake as directed. Bountiful Pepperoni Cheese Bread Combine with 2 - 3 Tbsp. Garlic Garlic, 12 oz. beer, 2 cups grated mozzarella and 1 c. sliced pepperoni. Pour in greased loaf pan. Bake at 375 degrees for 60-75 minutes. Makes 14 servings. Cherry Bread 12 oz. Black Cherry Soda and chopped maraschino or dried cherries, no butter on top. Bake as directed. Yummy Breakfast Bread Add 12 oz. Vanilla Coke and bake as directed then cool and frost with 1 can coconut pecan frosting. Sweet Chili Beer Bread Combine BBB with 3 Tbsp. sweet chili sauce and 12 oz. dark ale. Bake as directed. Cranberry Orange Bread 12 oz. orange juice and 1 cup Craisins. Corn Bread Add 15 oz. can creamed corn, 1/3 cup oil. Hawaiian Bread 12 oz. Mountain Dew and and chopped pineapple. Foccacia Bread Add 12 oz. beer, 3 Tbs. Dried Tomato and Garlic Pesto. Spread to 1 inch thick and bake; serve with a plate of Balsamic and Basil Dipping Oil. Beer Batter for Fish Use equal parts BBB Mix and beer. Stir thoroughly. Season fresh fish fillets with salt and pepper; dip into batter. Fry battered fish in hot oil. Turn once. Mimosa Muffins 6 oz. orange juice, 6 oz. champagne, 1 small orange, peeled and chopped. Fill greased muffin cups 2/3 full; sprinkle with sugar. Bake at 375 degrees for 25 min. Pizza Bread Add 12 oz. beer, 2 Tbs. Dried Tomato and Garlic Pesto and 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese. Bake as directed on package. Irish Bread Use 1 1/2 cups buttermilk, 2 cups raisins (soak in 1 cup water for 1 hour; drain), 2 Tbs. butter, melted on top. Banana Bread Add 2 cups (about three) real ripe bananas that have been mashed and 8 oz. of Sunny Delight. Bake as directed on package. Hamburger Buns Prepare batter as directed and then use a "muffin top" pan (you can get the pan at WalMart). It will make them the perfect size. The "wells" are about 1/2 inch deep and 4 inches across. Fill them about 1/2 way and put a little butter on top. Bake as directed, but watch closely, it is for a far less time. (PS: Use the caramelized Onion Sauce on the burgers with the beer bread buns and you will have them begging for more.) Italian Sausage Bread Cook up Italian Sausage; remove as much grease as possible. Mix cooked sausage in Beer Bread batter and bake as directed. Cut up bread-stick size and serve with marinara sauce. It will be gone in minutes. (02/08/2007)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill December 22, 2009

I made this bread this weekend to go with the beer cheese soup I made and it was wonderful! The crust is my favorite part- buttery and crunchy. The inside of the bread is surprisingly soft! I used all purpose whole grain flour and room-temp miller beer and baked for an hour. It's already gone and my family is asking me to bake another loaf tonight!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FraDiavola October 24, 2011

Fantastic!
I had ran out of yeast and was looking for a quick bread to make to accompany a pot of soup. This bread was amazing. And, the recipe could not be easier.
The family and my guests ate a whole loaf for dinner last night and then I made one again this morning for brunch. We used a nutty Octoberfest beer and it was delish!
Later in the week we plan on using a pumpkin beer and adding some cinnamon and sugar to the butter for a sweet bread.
Thanks for the recipe. It's great.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs_white October 17, 2010

This bread really astounded me! I don't like to make any yeast breads because I'm just too darned impatient to let it rise and all that. I'll tell you, this bread was so ridiculously easy to make! Literally took like 3 minutes to whip up. The beer interacts with the baking powder and ends up creating a texture very similar to yeast breads. I loved the idea of pouring the 1/2 cup butter over the raw dough before baking as this really helped keep the crust from being rock hard. I love the almost sweetness in this bread! Was the absolute perfect companion to the "Meat Lovers Cheating Lasagna" I made for dinner. The almost sweetness went perfectly to counteract the savory flavor of the lasagna. My family gave this bread a rating of 10 stars. Wonderful! Thanks for posting this Gerald!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-JL- January 25, 2004

GREAT RECIPE! I've used this recipe for many years, but we have enjoyed it most with the following two beers-Bud Light Golden Wheat & Shock Top Beligian White, both of which claim to be brewed with citrus peels and coriander; I believe it makes a huge difference.

Be mindful that humidity, protein in your flour (varies with brands), and oven temps vary. Don't overmix- it will be very wet and watch the baking times for your oven. We bake ours until it gets a beautiful golden crisp (we fight for the crust!) Let it sit for a little while before cutting it gives it time to fluff further.

Enjoy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovin_it July 29, 2012

Very tasty and easy to do! I used a bit less than 1/4 cup melted butter on top, a bit less than the 1/4 cup sugar, and added 1/4 cup molasses. It was a beautiful color and rather tasty. Next time, I may just use 1/2 cup molasses and no sugar. Also thinking of trying a Guiness (sp?) at some point. As I do consider myself to be a novice, I did run out and buy a sifter so I do not have the experience others may have had... the creation of beer bricks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krhine1 April 10, 2011

I've made this recipe at last a half dozen times. It's excellent. The bread is a little crumbly but it's not a problem. I strongly recommend you only use 1/4 cup of butter, as it is quite enough. This bread is great when you don't have the time to wait for a yeast bread and want to add homemade bread to the dinner.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Croce March 31, 2011
Beer Bread