782 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! Super simple to make too! I'm not a beer drinker but will start buying beer to make this bread! My favorite part was the buttery crust...delicious. I used the 1/2 cup of butter and it did run over. Luckily I had a cookie sheet underneath like others suggested. I used a logger beer and it was yummy, but can't wait to try others! Baked for 45 minutes and it was perfect! I didn't know bread could be so easy. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MontanaMom33 May 02, 2010

Super-easy and extra-yummy! Have made this SEVERAL times now and love it. But an hour is WAY too long... bake this for 45 minutes, max! Check it then and you'll see it's probably quite dark already. I used a strong, flavourful local brew the first time and thought for sure my four kids would comment on the "beery" taste. Nope! This is easily the yeastiest quick bread you've ever tasted. Anyone who doesn't know the secret will think it's sourdough or another tasty artisan bread. As other reviewers have said, this recipe is easy to play around with and add herbs for an infinite variety of new flavours! EDITED TO ADD: I usually use butter on top (sometimes a bit less than called for), but canola oil is a good substitute for an equivalent crunchiness to make it non-dairy and/or pareve. ETA: Used 405g all-purpose flour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay3fer April 29, 2010

Such a great tasting and EASY recipe!! I made this yesterday with some White Chicken Chili for my hubby, sister and nephews. It was a HUGE hit!! The whole loaf was gone in a few hours! I wish I would've made 2. I only used 1/4 cup of the melted butter and nothing overflowed and I thought it made a great crispy, crunchy crust with a soft, fluffy middle. Will definitely make this again and again. It's going to become a staple recipe for us, I think!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheerindy April 18, 2010

Wonderful recipe! I have tried the bread by using the recipe as listed. I have also added italian seasonsings and fennel seed to it to make sort of and herb/beer bread. Delicious for sandwich making.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppydoglover15 April 14, 2010

Wonderful bread!!! I followed the directions exactly the way it was written and it came out perfect!!! My family just loved it and DH had it for a late night snack with a little peanut butter and honey. Who'd have thought... He even commented, again, how good the bread was. For StephanieNS...I used a creamy dark lager, and that gave it just the right amount of beer taste. Happy eating!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimmarie1966 April 13, 2010

Made this with Crockpot Beans #418837 and it was an excellent combo for dinner. YUMMY! I used Stella Artois for my beer but contemplated using a darker beer which I have done before.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CABarbieQue April 03, 2010

Awesome recipe Gerald - thanks so much. We're in the midst of a major snowstorm, I have homemade chicken soup & needed a quick bread to go with it - being French-Canadian, we have plenty of beer (and it's Canadian!) so this was tres facile pour preparation! Merci!! My family loved it - will double next time and maybe add a little cheddar...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GSD Lover March 23, 2010

I made it for the 1st time today and my husband thinks it's even better than the expensive boxed mix we bought from a food tasting party for around $8.00... He really loves good bread, so that's all I needed to hear and it's so easy to make. I always have these ingredients in my kitchen. I do agree with you, Gerald, the secret is sifting the flour. If you don't own a sifter, then spoon it into the cup as he advises, or use a tea strainer as a sifter. I will be making this again and again.,Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharon.robson March 20, 2010

This is quick to prepare and I always have the ingredients on hand! It's best the day it's made, and I generally cut down on the butter some (between 1/2 and 1/4 cup). It is particularly sinful with the full butter amount, but still great with the decreased butter. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Carly~ March 20, 2010

Really good, really easy, and doesn't require self-rising flour. 1/4 cup butter is plenty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SamGammond March 12, 2010
Beer Bread