Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Bread

    Average Rating:

    761 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 761

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2011

      I have made this recipe hundreds of times...usually use self-rising flour, but I NEVER add any sugar, as I hate sweet tastes, and it always comes out wonderful, but has a definite beer taste. I have added various herbs at times, and have also added various cheeses. Cheddar (mild) is my fav. You also do not have to "pour butter" on top, or even add it to the mix. I don't add any oil, but I DO dot the top of the bread with pieces of butter. I do not sift the flour and it comes out fine, but I just spoon the flour into a measuring cup. The trick is, do NOT mix a lot, just lightly mix until you have pretty much coated all the flour in the bowl, but no more! Overmixing will give you a hard loaf. If you see a little bit of flour in the bowl, or when you put it in the pan, it is fine...do NOT overmix! I just "turn it" into a buttered loaf pan, and then I take the spoon and gently "push" the dough around to make sure it is evenly distributed, especially in the corners...do NOT make it completely level, or push down on it to spread evenly; just light pushing is all you need. It will look lumpy on top...that's better. Then just dot with butter, as much or as little as you want. I also cook it at 350, not 375...you can even use 325 if your oven seems to bake on the hot side. I usually cook it for an hour, but as soon as it is lightly browned on top, I take it out. Sometimes, that is after 55 min., sometimes 1 hour...don't cook longer than an hour, unless you have it on 325 and it is not browned at all. If it is lightly browned and when you push on the top with your finger it seems firm, take it out...1 hour should be sufficient. I let it sit in the pan for just a minute, then I turn it out, and let the loaf lay on it's side on some paper towels. You MUST let it cool, at least 20 minutes, or when you cut it, it will be a gummy mess! It should be cool enough to where you can comfortably hold the loaf with your hand while cutting...if it is too hot to hold, then it is not cool enough. I wait until it is slightly warm, and then cut it...when it is completely cooled, it is fine as well. As I mentioned, it does taste more like "beer" if you add no sugar, but you do not need it, or any sweetner at all...it will still come out just fine...children would probably like it with some sweetner. Good luck and enjoy! I make it every weekend, as it is quick, and I always have the ingredients on hand....Also, DON'T USE EXPIRED Self-Rising flour, or EXPIRED baking powder!!! I also use ROOM TEMPERATURE BEER, NOT REFRIGERATED! Open the beer, and then pour it into the flour right away, and just stir until coated, NO MORE...DO NOT OVERWORK, VERY IMPORTANT!!!!! Sifting the flour would probably help as well, but I don't...just remember, if you don't sift it, DO NOT PACK IT INTO THE MEASURING CUP! Just spoon it in lightly. Don't be afraid to experiment with different ingredients! Have fun with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      Just about the easiest bread I have ever made. It does not matter if the beer is warm or cold....just mix up and bake...almost fool proof. This bread is so delicious...crusty golden exterior with tender dense inside. This is a good hearty bread that goes well with soup! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      I used a bottle of Hoegaarden (11.2 fl oz, so I added a bit of water) to make this bread and it was AWESOME. A commenter mentioned putting a baking sheet under the loaf pan to catch the dripping butter and it was definitely necessary. The only substitution I made was using Splenda instead of sugar. My bread took precisely an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      This was a simple recipe to throw together and it is exactly like the mixes I have tried. Slightly sweet, with a hint of bear flavor and a buttery crust! I used 4 Tbsp. of butter and it was plenty! I would like to make it with a darker beer next time just to test it out. Mine was fully baked in 52 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      This is most excellent bread. I've made it as is and it is wonderful. Last night I decreased the sugar about half, added 2 seeded & chopped jalapenos, 1 cup colby/jack cheese and 1 tblsp. of Southwest Chipotle seasoning (Tones) It was a terrific bread to go with the big pot of chili I served. Raves all around! Thanks, Gerald!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      This recipe was extremely simple, and anyone could make it. My husband and I both really enjoyed this bread. I will be putting this recipe into my cookbook.

      I did cut the butter down to 1/4 cup, and I thought that it turned out beautifully. I also added a dash more of sugar because I am not a fan of the beer my husband drinks. It was delicious.

      I served this bread with chili and honey. It was a perfect combination! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      I have made this recipe hundreds of times and I love to experiment with different beers. I have compiled this list of my top 8 personal favorite beers to use and some of the imparted qualities.

      GUINESS - Great robust taste, if a bit bitter. Great with rosemary.

      PABST- The butteriest beer bread ever. Consider omitting most of the sugar and adding garlic cloves

      SAM ADAMS (BOSTON) - Complex taste, best if used with half whole-wheat flour and cranberries or figs.

      HARVEST MOON PUMPKIN ALE - Great pumpkin flavor really comes through for a fall treat. cinnimon and nutmeg round it.

      AROGENT BASTARD SMOKED PORTER - A smooth potent bread for use with savory soups and chowders. a winter favorite. Comes in a big bottle so use 12 oz.and drink the rest whilst it bakes.

      TERRAPIN HOPSECUTIONER IPA - Hopps are good. Bread is good. Hoppsbread... GENIUS!

      SAMUEL SMITH NUT BROWN - Again use some whole wheat, but this time use agave sweetener or honey instead of sugar and use some whole oats.

      KILLIANS IRISH RED - The best beer I have ever used. Period. Go figure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Quick. Easy. Delicious. Need I say more? We had Miller Lite (yuck!) that a friend had left at our house. Since I knew we wouldn't drink it, I used it for this bread. Worked perfectly. I used white whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup butter on top. Yum. Yum. Yum. Have made several times since. Foolproof recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      I have made this bread dozens of times with at least a half a dozen different beers and every single on is a hit. Honey ale and strawberry blond make great ligthly sweet breads guiness full stout is slightly bitter but very hearty and goes great with beef stew. This is the bread everyone wants me to bring to dinner and I've never had a miss. I do use the lesser amount of butter otherwise I follow this to a T.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Easy to make. Springy, moist, flavorful bread w/ a great crust. I will definitely make it again, but will divide between two loaf pans next time, or make some in muffin tins, as butter overflowed in the oven and smoked a lot (splitting it will make more of that great crust!).
      I added shredded cheddar, minced pepperoni, garlic powder and oregano and overbaked a little to get a very brown crust. The cheese in the crust got crispy/chewy and was out of this world good.
      I sifted twice and the bread was very light.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Haven't tried this yet, but thought I'd add some additional info about the sifting. The biggest reason unsifted flour impacts the end result is not so much the sifting, but the quantity of flour. Recipes historically called for sifting flour because the sifting removed bits of millstone and other impurities. The side-effect of sifting is that there is significantly less flour per cup because of the air introduced during the sifting process. Rather than have some recipes call for unsifted flour while others use sifted, you should assume that all baking recipes call for sifted flour unless it is explicitly stated otherwise. All of this said, you can usually avoid the sifting by weighing the flour instead of measuring. As a matter of fact, weighing will produce more accurate results for all dry ingredients used in baking. The weight of 1 cup of all-purpose or self-rising flour is 120 grams. If you're still worried about not getting enough air in the flour, you can always inject some with a hand mixer after you've weighed out the proper amount. If you insist on using a measuring cup, unsifted flour should always be measured using the dip and sweep method: use a spoon to stir up the flour a little, then dip the flour into a dry measure until the cup is overflowing. Then level the top using the flat side of a dinner knife. Sifted flour should also be leveled off with a knife after sifting directly into the measuring cup. And never, ever use a liquid measure, sifted or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      For those of you who are concerned about using alcoholic beer in this recipe..... The alcohol found in alcoholic beverages is "ethyl alcohol".... It has a boiling point of about 180 degrees. You are baking the bread at 375 degrees. The alcohol will be baked completely out of your bread.... Alcoholic beer is consequently a non-issue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      I have used many Beer Bread recipes over the years. This one is the BEST!! I also used just 1/4 c butter over the top. This realy makes all the difference in taste and appearance. Thanks!! Ingrid I make this all the time now. All other recipes have GONE! However as stated before use only 1/4c butter when using a loaf pan or you have a mess. I have also started using 1 packet quick rise yeast. We like the flavor of Budwiser Beer the best.I also use this to make a sweet version and use a can of fruit flavored soda. Have added chopped dried fruit too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2011

      I made this bread this weekend to go with the beer cheese soup I made and it was wonderful! The crust is my favorite part- buttery and crunchy. The inside of the bread is surprisingly soft! I used all purpose whole grain flour and room-temp miller beer and baked for an hour. It's already gone and my family is asking me to bake another loaf tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Fantastic!
      I had ran out of yeast and was looking for a quick bread to make to accompany a pot of soup. This bread was amazing. And, the recipe could not be easier.
      The family and my guests ate a whole loaf for dinner last night and then I made one again this morning for brunch. We used a nutty Octoberfest beer and it was delish!
      Later in the week we plan on using a pumpkin beer and adding some cinnamon and sugar to the butter for a sweet bread.
      Thanks for the recipe. It's great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I keep the dry ingredients pre-mixed in ziploc bags. I also found the following variation on the web: Orange Streusel Bread Combine BBB with 12 oz. orange soda; pour into greased loaf pan. Mix 1/4-cup flour, 1/4-cup sugar, 2 Tbsp. brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 cup butter, softened; sprinkle over batter. Bake as directed. Summer Bread Prepare BBB with 12 oz. orange juice and 1 cup raspberries. Bake as directed. Prepare glaze of 5 Tbsp. powdered sugar and 1 Tbsp. orange juice. Pour over bread while warm. PB and J Bread Combine BBB with 6 oz. pkg. peanut butter chips; add 12 oz. can grape or strawberry soda and 1/3 cup jelly or jam (same flavor). Pour into greased loaf pan, top with 3 Tbs. melted butter Bake as directed. Bountiful Pepperoni Cheese Bread Combine with 2 - 3 Tbsp. Garlic Garlic, 12 oz. beer, 2 cups grated mozzarella and 1 c. sliced pepperoni. Pour in greased loaf pan. Bake at 375 degrees for 60-75 minutes. Makes 14 servings. Cherry Bread 12 oz. Black Cherry Soda and chopped maraschino or dried cherries, no butter on top. Bake as directed. Yummy Breakfast Bread Add 12 oz. Vanilla Coke and bake as directed then cool and frost with 1 can coconut pecan frosting. Sweet Chili Beer Bread Combine BBB with 3 Tbsp. sweet chili sauce and 12 oz. dark ale. Bake as directed. Cranberry Orange Bread 12 oz. orange juice and 1 cup Craisins. Corn Bread Add 15 oz. can creamed corn, 1/3 cup oil. Hawaiian Bread 12 oz. Mountain Dew and and chopped pineapple. Foccacia Bread Add 12 oz. beer, 3 Tbs. Dried Tomato and Garlic Pesto. Spread to 1 inch thick and bake; serve with a plate of Balsamic and Basil Dipping Oil. Beer Batter for Fish Use equal parts BBB Mix and beer. Stir thoroughly. Season fresh fish fillets with salt and pepper; dip into batter. Fry battered fish in hot oil. Turn once. Mimosa Muffins 6 oz. orange juice, 6 oz. champagne, 1 small orange, peeled and chopped. Fill greased muffin cups 2/3 full; sprinkle with sugar. Bake at 375 degrees for 25 min. Pizza Bread Add 12 oz. beer, 2 Tbs. Dried Tomato and Garlic Pesto and 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese. Bake as directed on package. Irish Bread Use 1 1/2 cups buttermilk, 2 cups raisins (soak in 1 cup water for 1 hour; drain), 2 Tbs. butter, melted on top. Banana Bread Add 2 cups (about three) real ripe bananas that have been mashed and 8 oz. of Sunny Delight. Bake as directed on package. Hamburger Buns Prepare batter as directed and then use a "muffin top" pan (you can get the pan at WalMart). It will make them the perfect size. The "wells" are about 1/2 inch deep and 4 inches across. Fill them about 1/2 way and put a little butter on top. Bake as directed, but watch closely, it is for a far less time. (PS: Use the caramelized Onion Sauce on the burgers with the beer bread buns and you will have them begging for more.) Italian Sausage Bread Cook up Italian Sausage; remove as much grease as possible. Mix cooked sausage in Beer Bread batter and bake as directed. Cut up bread-stick size and serve with marinara sauce. It will be gone in minutes. (02/08/2007)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      This bread really astounded me! I don't like to make any yeast breads because I'm just too darned impatient to let it rise and all that. I'll tell you, this bread was so ridiculously easy to make! Literally took like 3 minutes to whip up. The beer interacts with the baking powder and ends up creating a texture very similar to yeast breads. I loved the idea of pouring the 1/2 cup butter over the raw dough before baking as this really helped keep the crust from being rock hard. I love the almost sweetness in this bread! Was the absolute perfect companion to the "Meat Lovers Cheating Lasagna" I made for dinner. The almost sweetness went perfectly to counteract the savory flavor of the lasagna. My family gave this bread a rating of 10 stars. Wonderful! Thanks for posting this Gerald!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      GREAT RECIPE! I've used this recipe for many years, but we have enjoyed it most with the following two beers-Bud Light Golden Wheat & Shock Top Beligian White, both of which claim to be brewed with citrus peels and coriander; I believe it makes a huge difference.

      Be mindful that humidity, protein in your flour (varies with brands), and oven temps vary. Don't overmix- it will be very wet and watch the baking times for your oven. We bake ours until it gets a beautiful golden crisp (we fight for the crust!) Let it sit for a little while before cutting it gives it time to fluff further.

      Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      Very tasty and easy to do! I used a bit less than 1/4 cup melted butter on top, a bit less than the 1/4 cup sugar, and added 1/4 cup molasses. It was a beautiful color and rather tasty. Next time, I may just use 1/2 cup molasses and no sugar. Also thinking of trying a Guiness (sp?) at some point. As I do consider myself to be a novice, I did run out and buy a sifter so I do not have the experience others may have had... the creation of beer bricks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      I've made this recipe at last a half dozen times. It's excellent. The bread is a little crumbly but it's not a problem. I strongly recommend you only use 1/4 cup of butter, as it is quite enough. This bread is great when you don't have the time to wait for a yeast bread and want to add homemade bread to the dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 39

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 422.1
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    34%
    Total Fat 15.9 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 40.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 707.8 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites