12 Reviews

Didn't turn out well...I could taste the baking powder. Too bad, it was a cinch to make!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lesa July 06, 2001

I have to agree with Lesa this isn't very good and it is a shame because the whole deal only took about 5 minutes to prepare. Mine (I used whole wheat flour instead) came out awfully salty :-( and like a brick ;-)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bob LeBlanc December 06, 2001

We love, love, love this recipe! I can't understand why people would make this from a box when the made-from-scratch version is so much better (and cheaper!).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laura_d June 18, 2010

I've been making this recipe for years, and I love how simple and tasty it is. Sometimes less is more. I always use a good quality beer, but I don't know if it matters. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyZoe January 17, 2009

This recipe seemed more like something suited for biscuits. It was so very simple, but the flavor/texture was off for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl October 20, 2008

What a great recipe! I wanted to use up some old beer in my fridge and this recipe was a perfect way to do it. I threw in some herbs to give the bread a little more flavor. The bread is light and airy. I'll be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LIer October 11, 2008

I could not believe that this was going to work, being so easy. I perused most of the beer bread recipes here & found so many wanted flat, room-temp or cheap beer. I chose this recipe in the end because it has several reviewers that weren't happy with it & I wanted to know why. I was going to be using cold, fresh, expensive beer as well as making my own self-rising flour. My results were excellent. Everyone gave it 5 stars, more if possible & I will be making this bread quite often. Soft & tender on the inside; moist but not undercooked. The outside was nicely tanned with a bit of a crumbly/crunchy texture that only went as far at the thin crust. I used bread flour, baker's sugar & fine sea salt (they were all on hand, no other reason), & added 3 teaspoons of baking powder & 1 teaspoon of salt. I sifted all the dry ingredients together before adding the beer. I suspect others may have been using old baking powder. I have had heavy, uncooked dumplings before because of that. One reason I KNOW this is a keeper: DH & DS did not put butter on it & this would be the first bread or roll ever that didn't get slathered with butter by them. Thank you for sharing, Zaney. I'll be using this again & again! Made, enjoyed & reviewed for Flour Power, April 2008 challenge. Update: I've made this several times now with different beer each time & some cold, some flat & some room temp. So far none of those things have mattered in the final result. I've taken some better photos though, that I'd like to post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** May 14, 2008

I make this one with 1/2 C. sugar for family preference. It's a great bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef busy bee November 20, 2007

I made this bread, it turned out hard and the middle really chewy. I won't be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kemoon40 January 13, 2007

This was outstanding! I don't have any self rising flour, so I added 3t. baking powder and 1 t. salt to my flour. Bread was *slightly* sweet and very tender. Definitely a keeper! (And it was easy, too!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ewells November 29, 2006
Beer Bread