Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Bread

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 06, 2001

      Didn't turn out well...I could taste the baking powder. Too bad, it was a cinch to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2001

      I have to agree with Lesa this isn't very good and it is a shame because the whole deal only took about 5 minutes to prepare. Mine (I used whole wheat flour instead) came out awfully salty :-( and like a brick ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      We love, love, love this recipe! I can't understand why people would make this from a box when the made-from-scratch version is so much better (and cheaper!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I've been making this recipe for years, and I love how simple and tasty it is. Sometimes less is more. I always use a good quality beer, but I don't know if it matters. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This recipe seemed more like something suited for biscuits. It was so very simple, but the flavor/texture was off for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      What a great recipe! I wanted to use up some old beer in my fridge and this recipe was a perfect way to do it. I threw in some herbs to give the bread a little more flavor. The bread is light and airy. I'll be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I could not believe that this was going to work, being so easy. I perused most of the beer bread recipes here & found so many wanted flat, room-temp or cheap beer. I chose this recipe in the end because it has several reviewers that weren't happy with it & I wanted to know why. I was going to be using cold, fresh, expensive beer as well as making my own self-rising flour. My results were excellent. Everyone gave it 5 stars, more if possible & I will be making this bread quite often. Soft & tender on the inside; moist but not undercooked. The outside was nicely tanned with a bit of a crumbly/crunchy texture that only went as far at the thin crust. I used bread flour, baker's sugar & fine sea salt (they were all on hand, no other reason), & added 3 teaspoons of baking powder & 1 teaspoon of salt. I sifted all the dry ingredients together before adding the beer. I suspect others may have been using old baking powder. I have had heavy, uncooked dumplings before because of that. One reason I KNOW this is a keeper: DH & DS did not put butter on it & this would be the first bread or roll ever that didn't get slathered with butter by them. Thank you for sharing, Zaney. I'll be using this again & again! Made, enjoyed & reviewed for Flour Power, April 2008 challenge. Update: I've made this several times now with different beer each time & some cold, some flat & some room temp. So far none of those things have mattered in the final result. I've taken some better photos though, that I'd like to post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I make this one with 1/2 C. sugar for family preference. It's a great bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      I made this bread, it turned out hard and the middle really chewy. I won't be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      This was outstanding! I don't have any self rising flour, so I added 3t. baking powder and 1 t. salt to my flour. Bread was *slightly* sweet and very tender. Definitely a keeper! (And it was easy, too!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      I make this often and you definitely should use self rising flour instead of all purpose.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      If you use 1/4 cup sugar instead of the honey, it is delicious. My recipe calls for self rising flour, beer and sugar. A real hit. If you use self rising, omit the salt and baking powder( it's already in there!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (97 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.2
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    93%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 597.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes