43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Contrary to what gay said self rising flour is very common in the US. I get it all the time for this recipe. since she used her own concoction That is probably why it didn't turn out good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennors November 17, 2005

I've been making beer bread for years but had lost my recipe. I find that some recipes are just too sweet (and this is coming from a sweet freak!) so I chose to make this one and found it to be plenty sweet, next time I may reduce the sugar just a bit. Per another reviewer's comments, I added a couple pinches of an herb mixture (predominately basil) that I use for soups and in burgers, meatloaves, etc. The herbs added something without being overwhelming... in fact, next time I am thinking of adding some fresh garlic...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlowrBx May 31, 2005

Wow, this was good-used Coors light, and poured 4 Tbsp melted butter atop the surface prior to baking, made a really nice buttery, crunchy surface. This will sure be made again and again! Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat April 19, 2005

I bet this is going to be great! It looks REALLY easy and since I am FROM Shiner (not there now though) I will have to use that of course.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hedlin Family March 24, 2005

Very good bread! So easy to put together too. Both DH and I love breads and this will be a easy one to bake while dinner is being prepared. Thanks for posting this good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. March 18, 2005

Excellent and easy! It was more moist than I thought it would be. I used regular beer instead of light. I assume it makes no difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lambeaugal March 10, 2005

This is a great recipe. Try flavoring the flour by adding a few tablespoons of dried herbs then mix as usual.I'm a OMAC cook and i often measure out the flour ,herbs and sugar and make them up in ziploc bags so if I'm in a hurry i just dump in a bowl and add a beer

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnaw.v. mcguire March 05, 2005

What can I say? This is a perfect recipe. I have given my old beer bread recipe a gold watch and retired it... Superb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Old Smoky February 10, 2005

This IS the easiest loaf of bread I've ever made, and it really came in handy today.I'm doing a big house-clean, out of bread and my bread machine is broken, so . . . thought I'd give this one a try. It didn't raise up as high as I had expected (hoped?) and contrary to other comments, mine does have a "beery" flavor (I don't mind). I used a dark Belgian beer called "JUDAS", that might be the reason. Nice crunchy crust and texture, and not too difficult to slice either. Pleasant taste (a bit on the sweet side as some others have mentioned).Thanks for posting ! UPDATE: I've raised my rating from "4" to "5" stars after my husband and I both ate more of this-- it really has a great taste and pleasant texture. Also, can't beat the convenience !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx November 28, 2004

this was the best bread i've ever tasted! it was so easy to make. my mom had bought beer bread mix, it was good, but nothing compared to this bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mel johnson July 22, 2004
Beer Bread