Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Bread

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2005

      Contrary to what gay said self rising flour is very common in the US. I get it all the time for this recipe. since she used her own concoction That is probably why it didn't turn out good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      I've been making beer bread for years but had lost my recipe. I find that some recipes are just too sweet (and this is coming from a sweet freak!) so I chose to make this one and found it to be plenty sweet, next time I may reduce the sugar just a bit. Per another reviewer's comments, I added a couple pinches of an herb mixture (predominately basil) that I use for soups and in burgers, meatloaves, etc. The herbs added something without being overwhelming... in fact, next time I am thinking of adding some fresh garlic...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      Wow, this was good-used Coors light, and poured 4 Tbsp melted butter atop the surface prior to baking, made a really nice buttery, crunchy surface. This will sure be made again and again! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2005

      I bet this is going to be great! It looks REALLY easy and since I am FROM Shiner (not there now though) I will have to use that of course.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      Very good bread! So easy to put together too. Both DH and I love breads and this will be a easy one to bake while dinner is being prepared. Thanks for posting this good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2005

      Excellent and easy! It was more moist than I thought it would be. I used regular beer instead of light. I assume it makes no difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      This is a great recipe. Try flavoring the flour by adding a few tablespoons of dried herbs then mix as usual.I'm a OMAC cook and i often measure out the flour ,herbs and sugar and make them up in ziploc bags so if I'm in a hurry i just dump in a bowl and add a beer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2005

      What can I say? This is a perfect recipe. I have given my old beer bread recipe a gold watch and retired it... Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      This IS the easiest loaf of bread I've ever made, and it really came in handy today.I'm doing a big house-clean, out of bread and my bread machine is broken, so . . . thought I'd give this one a try. It didn't raise up as high as I had expected (hoped?) and contrary to other comments, mine does have a "beery" flavor (I don't mind). I used a dark Belgian beer called "JUDAS", that might be the reason. Nice crunchy crust and texture, and not too difficult to slice either. Pleasant taste (a bit on the sweet side as some others have mentioned).Thanks for posting ! UPDATE: I've raised my rating from "4" to "5" stars after my husband and I both ate more of this-- it really has a great taste and pleasant texture. Also, can't beat the convenience !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2004

      this was the best bread i've ever tasted! it was so easy to make. my mom had bought beer bread mix, it was good, but nothing compared to this bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      My family loves this bread!!!! And it was extremely easy to make!!! I followed the recipe but the only thing I did differently was that I melted about a half a stick of butter and poured it over the dough before I baked it. It makes a nice, buttery crust. Love this bread!!! Update: I also tried making this bread using my mini-loaf pan. You only need to bake it for 30 minutes and it turns out great just like the large loaf. So if you are in a pinch for time, you can have this loaf in 30 minutes in the mini-loaf pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      This is the easiest bread I've ever made. It is also very yummy. It slices great and makes great garlic toast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      I loved this easy bread! With so few ingredients and no rise time I can make it in a rush. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      Very nice bread, easy to make and my kids loved it. Was a little sweet though, I would probably cut back on the sugar next time and see if that makes a difference. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      this was wonderful and so easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      This is almost exactly the recipe which I use... I use 3 cups of flour and 1/2 cup sugar and 12 ounces of beer. This bread is so very simple to make, and quite delicious! Different beers do give varied flavors. The bread doesn't "taste" like beer, but it has a rich yeasty smell. It is chewy and dense and filling, with a unique crust. And it is SO fast... no rising time at all. My friends love this rustic-looking loaf served warm with honey butter (I just mix warm honey with softened margarine or butter until it is sweet and spreadable). This combined with the fresh-baked bread makes me think of something from olden times... it always brings to mind bread and butter that characters in The Lord of the Rings might have eaten at Tom Bombadil's or Beorn's dwelling! Try this recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      I was given a case of Tsig Tao beer for my birthday and made 24 loaves of very tasty beer bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      Beer Bread is great!!! But use JW Dundee's Original Honey Brown, Honey Flavored Lager instead. It will taste so much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      I tried the above recipe (and a few varients)...heres a few notes and comments: 1)12 oz of beer was not enough to make it \

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2002

      I've made this recipe before and it's really good - and fast! I like to serve it with chili or hearty stews. I've had it in a restaurant with sun-dried tomatoes and some other add-ins. Might just experiment with that myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.5
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    14%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 978.1 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites