Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Bread

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2009

      01/14/09:This turned out great! This is comparable to Tastefully Simple's white bread and at a small fraction of the cost. I had to make the self-rising flour (3 c {minus 2 T} all purpose flour + 1 1/2 t salt + 4 1/2 tsp baking powder) from a recipe found at allrecipes.com. Please note that I used a total of 3 c flour, not 3 c + additions. Thank you for a wonderful, easy and fast soda bread recipe. 01/20/09: Today I decided to add one egg as the batter has always been a little dry. The bread had to bake a few minutes longer, but it rose higher and tasted better. 01/25/09: Today I erred and did not remove the 2 T flour. Big mistake as it didn't rise as high! 03/06/09--THE FINAL REVIEW!: I've since stuck with the formula of adding two eggs to this bread, with fantastic results (and you don't have to worry about removing the 2 T flour). I let it rise for 5 minutes in a 200F oven, pull it out and heat the oven. VARIATION: 1/2 tablespoon of dried basil and 1/4 cup freshly ground parmesan added to the batter was delicious! THANK YOU, THANK YOU; we no longer buy bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      My family has been making this exact recipe for a decade. It is an huge hit and very versatile! You can add green chiles, fresh herbs, cheeses, or combine with other batters like corn bread. LOVE LOVE LOVE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      Can't get any easier than this, and great tasting bread!! Very dense with a nice crispy crust. I used Self Rising Flour [america] for the flour and baked in 3 mini loaf pans. Great served with chili, great toasted with butter - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for Fall Pick-A-Chef 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      I keep trying to make this bread but we always only keep really hoppy beer in the house. I bet this is good with bud light or with another lighter beer, but don't try it with an ESB or an IPA!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      I found this recipe in an old Southern Living and made it last weekend. Great bread and I know bread! Great crust on this loaf and tender inside. I especially liked it toasted with butter. So quick and easy to make. I used Negra Modelo in this recipe - a dark beer from Mexico.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      It it great. I used half whole wheat flour and half all purpose (made into self rising) and Splenda. But it worked wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This goes well with the sweet and sour beans!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Good. This is a really easy and tasty recipe for a quick bread. Per some other reviewers I used a touch less sugar (2 tablespoons) and added fresh pressed garlic and herbs before baking. Thank you for the post CandyCook. I'll make this one many times to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I got this recipe from my dad and have made it a bunch of times. My kids love it, I love it -- what's not to love? It's especially yummy made into a cheese sandwich with sharp chedder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Oh my goodness, thank you. I was searching for a recipe to help me use up a keg of bud leftover from the 4th of July. This bread is really fantastic, easy, and delicious. 5 stars is not enough. Pouring butter over the top is a must.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      I love this recipe! Instead of Bud beer, I used Miller High Life.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I make mine also with 1/2 C. sugar, since we like this bread sweeter. This is a great bread that everyone should try. Fast and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      This was quite good. Even better when you realize you're having beer for breakfast! We don't drink American beers, but our darker imports worked just as well. You can't get an easier bread recipe than this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      This was definitely easy, and quite tasty. I've been having a slice for breakfast all week. I unfortunately did not have any self-rising flour, but I did some research, and, in case anyone else finds themselves in the same predicament, you can make your own by adding 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt for each cup of regular flour. I used that, and it appears to have worked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

    • on April 05, 2007

      Used Sam Adams Boston Lager. sub. 1tbs of molasses for 1tbs of sugar. Easy and tasty. Can't go wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      I enjoyed this bread which can be put together in just minutes. I was expecting it to look a little darker/browner and have a strong flavor. Instead this bread is very mild and sweet. You can not tell it was made with beer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      This was a very good bread. I like how quick this is to put together and get on the table. I love working with yeast but this is nice when you want a good quick bread. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      This bread is so yummy! I first found the recipe in a magazine, except that it didn't have sugar in the recipe. I have always left the sugar out, and we really like it. I think you can taste the beer flavor a little better that way. Very simple and quick, and definitely better than buying breads to eat with dinner. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      Great loaf, and so easy to make....I threw in a handful or so of raisins, and the effect was wonderful....!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.5
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    14%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 12.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 978.1 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes