43 Reviews

01/14/09:This turned out great! This is comparable to Tastefully Simple's white bread and at a small fraction of the cost. I had to make the self-rising flour (3 c {minus 2 T} all purpose flour + 1 1/2 t salt + 4 1/2 tsp baking powder) from a recipe found at allrecipes.com. Please note that I used a total of 3 c flour, not 3 c + additions. Thank you for a wonderful, easy and fast soda bread recipe. 01/20/09: Today I decided to add one egg as the batter has always been a little dry. The bread had to bake a few minutes longer, but it rose higher and tasted better. 01/25/09: Today I erred and did not remove the 2 T flour. Big mistake as it didn't rise as high! 03/06/09--THE FINAL REVIEW!: I've since stuck with the formula of adding two eggs to this bread, with fantastic results (and you don't have to worry about removing the 2 T flour). I let it rise for 5 minutes in a 200F oven, pull it out and heat the oven. VARIATION: 1/2 tablespoon of dried basil and 1/4 cup freshly ground parmesan added to the batter was delicious! THANK YOU, THANK YOU; we no longer buy bread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dogsandwoods March 06, 2009

My family has been making this exact recipe for a decade. It is an huge hit and very versatile! You can add green chiles, fresh herbs, cheeses, or combine with other batters like corn bread. LOVE LOVE LOVE

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesscatani July 22, 2012

Can't get any easier than this, and great tasting bread!! Very dense with a nice crispy crust. I used Self Rising Flour [america] for the flour and baked in 3 mini loaf pans. Great served with chili, great toasted with butter - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for Fall Pick-A-Chef 2011

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof October 12, 2011

I keep trying to make this bread but we always only keep really hoppy beer in the house. I bet this is good with bud light or with another lighter beer, but don't try it with an ESB or an IPA!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarJen October 02, 2011

I found this recipe in an old Southern Living and made it last weekend. Great bread and I know bread! Great crust on this loaf and tender inside. I especially liked it toasted with butter. So quick and easy to make. I used Negra Modelo in this recipe - a dark beer from Mexico.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K in LA February 13, 2011

It it great. I used half whole wheat flour and half all purpose (made into self rising) and Splenda. But it worked wonderfully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pricele$$ January 18, 2011

This goes well with the sweet and sour beans!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graymare47 # 252632 March 14, 2010

Good. This is a really easy and tasty recipe for a quick bread. Per some other reviewers I used a touch less sugar (2 tablespoons) and added fresh pressed garlic and herbs before baking. Thank you for the post CandyCook. I'll make this one many times to come!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Chick January 30, 2010

I got this recipe from my dad and have made it a bunch of times. My kids love it, I love it -- what's not to love? It's especially yummy made into a cheese sandwich with sharp chedder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wife2abadge March 10, 2009

Oh my goodness, thank you. I was searching for a recipe to help me use up a keg of bud leftover from the 4th of July. This bread is really fantastic, easy, and delicious. 5 stars is not enough. Pouring butter over the top is a must.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thestickyskunk July 06, 2008
Beer Bread