18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is great backup for solid home style comfort foods like hash. Also good for breakfasts, bacon and eggs, etc.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren November 25, 2001

Great Bread! I added 1 tsp of garlic powder and onion powder, 1 Tbsp of caraway seeds. I too had to add more beer but was prepared after reading the reviews. I cooked mine in a muffin pan to make rolls. They were great with our roast beef :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingblade December 14, 2010

Really easy. I did not have self-rising flour so I added 3 tsp baking powder and a tsp of salt. (Omitted the pinch of salt in the recipe) I used Foster's beer, had to add just a splash of a second bottle to get the dough moist. I used a muffin tin & filled cups about 3/4 full. I baked at 375 for about 20 minutes, then pulled the tin out and brushed the tops w/melted butter. Put them back in the oven for about 3 min or until the tops were brown. They turned out great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Next_Problem_Please January 27, 2009

My mom made this bread when I was a child back in the 70's. Don't know what happened to her recipe so was thrilled to find it . It also makes excellent breakfast toast as well as French toast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aliefian November 04, 2012

I have made this bread several times at college. its quick and soo easy! very few ingedients makes it ideal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mander2109 July 02, 2011

This is so yummy! I used 1 1/2 cups stone-ground whole white flour, 1 cup stone-groun whole wheat flour, and 1/2 cup ground flax seed, and added 1/2 a small-ish sweet onion, chopped, with a bottle of Rolling Rock and a little extra water, less than a 1/4 cup (it wasn't coming together). I baked it at 350 for an hour and it was awesome! A moist banana-bread texture but more savoury than sweet and so good with a little butter or margarine... will definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittyroara February 20, 2010

I have made this (and variations) for years. The only difference is that I did not add the salt, used 2 T sugar and I baked it at 350 for an hour. Any time I made something that had to be baked at 350 (most casseroles ) I tossed this together. I used to have trouble remembering how much flour until I started calling it 123 Beer bread. You don't even need the recipe then. If we were going to a good friend's house, I would bring the flour (we always had beer!!) and my pan and toss it in the oven with the lasagna. I have made it and added about a teaspoon of dried italian seasoning (rub into "dust" so it is distributed evenly) and a couple of tablespoons of Parmesan (the powdery grated kind). You could add some diced sun dried tomatoes and have pizza bread! On it's own, I love it for toast as the surface gets nice and crunchy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janetdw January 09, 2009

I used woodchuck cider 802 (warm not cold) and cooked for 40 minutes. This is the FIFTH beer bread recipe I tried today and the only one I was happy with - thanks a ton :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SassafrasT October 22, 2008

It made a nice change from our regular homemade bread...without the hassle of it having to rise! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose July 10, 2008

I went with Artsy Chef's comments the second time around & used a can and a half of beer...the texture seemed MUCH better than with one can. Otherwise, this bread is SOOOOOO unbelievably easy & yummy! It freezes well, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovesweets00 February 07, 2008
Beer Bread