22 Reviews

This chicken was beyond fall-off-the-bone – it was so exquisitely tender that it was difficult to spear bite-size pieces with a fork. Due to medical necessity, I seasoned it with sage (which I pulverized in a mortar and pestle) and pepper instead of salt and pepper. The instructions were not clear as to whether the pieces should be browned to a light golden brown or to a dark, almost crispy, brown and so I did half of each – made no difference because both were mouth-watering. I used a strong English brown ale, only because of American “beer”’s close resemblance to H2O. The end result was a taste of well-blended flavours, ever so slightly nutty and not too sweet at all.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® November 04, 2002

Excellent!!! Delicious!! My wife swore she would never eat rabbit but after seeing the enjoyment on the kids faces she tried. She loved it! I raise rabbits for meat and she's the only one that didn't eat them. This recipe has made my wife a rabbit eater!!!! Thanks!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toraino37 July 11, 2013

Only thing I did differently was to brine the rabbit (America's Test Kitchen style) since it was wild rabbit. Yep, asked my son to find some rabbits and, low and behold, within 10 mins. heard the first gun shot! 15 mins. later another close shot and then he came home with two. Well, I*had* promised to skin and clean them...YUCK... bad idea on my part but motivational for him. Really had intended on feeding to the dogs, but thought the dogs wouldn't miss what they never got. My first time cooking rabbit and they both turned out delicious! And, best of all, absolutely NOTHING was wasted! The heads, pelts, feet, and guts all went out for either the crows or coyotes. I cooked the hearts and livers in the crock pot.
Most excellent recipe for the first time rabbit preparing cook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
margotdinah October 28, 2011

I had a rather large Rabbit (1.4Kg or 3 pounds) and am sure glad I used this recipe to cook it. I was too hungry / impatient for the stove top so baked in a covered dish and the results were superb. I used some extra garlic, an extra onion and a leek and also threw in eight mushrooms after it had been baking for half an hour. I also didn't brown the meat before starting and instead gave it an extra thirty minutes in the oven, although for the last fifteen minutes left the oven turned off to give it a little resting time. Personally I prefer meat to have a lighter texture, so normally don't brown it before baking. Before making the sauce I lightly sauted a finely chopped spring onion in a little butter which complemented the parsley garnish nicely. For the beer I used Tasmanian Cascade Pale and the rest of the six-pack fitted in pretty well with the 1 1/2 hours baking time! By the time I was preparing the gravy all the beer was gone so rather than use stock or water used about 50ml (2 fl. oz) of Tanwy Port which I think gave it bit more of an edge and a richer flavor. So beautiful and tender was the meat my cat Molly ate more than I think I've ever seen her eat before, see attached photos also she was a little quick to be caught at the plate!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J March 02, 2006

Unbelievable! Thank you so much for sharing this! I left out the brown sugar on accident, but this was AMAZING! my first time having rabbit. My husband thinks the gravy is mandatory because the meat is so lean. I didn't have gravy and it was just great!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
932ninja June 02, 2016

Best wild game I have had. Rabbit fell off the bone. Recommend addIng celery and doubling up on broth recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nick D. January 31, 2016

The rabbit was cooked perfectly. The cooker did such a beautiful job of making a delightful meal for our family to celebrate Christmas. <br/>.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlangteach_10595123 December 21, 2014

I followed the recipe exactly. It smelled wonderful while cooking and the chicken was tender but it suffered from a complete lack of seasoning. We added Slap Ya Mama and hot sauce at the table that made it palatable. Am making chicken enchiladas with the leftover meat tonight in order to give it a new life. Was really hoping for a tasty one dish meal :-(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candy C March 29, 2014

I made this last night using wild newzealand rabbit. even my fussy teenage son made short work of his plate . im real happy with this recipe and will use it again the gravy was so simple . I used rice flower as its all I have worked a treat . neat colour

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniel R. November 03, 2013

I followed the recipe exactly but we didn't like it. I didn't like the smell or taste. I expected to really like it with all the high stars so far. The rabbit itself was okay where it didn't pick up too much of the sauce flavor. A lot like chicken. But over all not something I wanted to eat at all. I gave it two stars because my husband thought it was about three stars so I tried to average our ratings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawn_wirz January 27, 2013
Beer-Braised Rabbit (Or Chicken) for the Crock Pot