Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer-Braised Rabbit (Or Chicken) for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer-Braised Rabbit (Or Chicken) for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2002

      This chicken was beyond fall-off-the-bone – it was so exquisitely tender that it was difficult to spear bite-size pieces with a fork. Due to medical necessity, I seasoned it with sage (which I pulverized in a mortar and pestle) and pepper instead of salt and pepper. The instructions were not clear as to whether the pieces should be browned to a light golden brown or to a dark, almost crispy, brown and so I did half of each – made no difference because both were mouth-watering. I used a strong English brown ale, only because of American “beer”’s close resemblance to H2O. The end result was a taste of well-blended flavours, ever so slightly nutty and not too sweet at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      Excellent!!! Delicious!! My wife swore she would never eat rabbit but after seeing the enjoyment on the kids faces she tried. She loved it! I raise rabbits for meat and she's the only one that didn't eat them. This recipe has made my wife a rabbit eater!!!! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2006

      I had a rather large Rabbit (1.4Kg or 3 pounds) and am sure glad I used this recipe to cook it. I was too hungry / impatient for the stove top so baked in a covered dish and the results were superb. I used some extra garlic, an extra onion and a leek and also threw in eight mushrooms after it had been baking for half an hour. I also didn't brown the meat before starting and instead gave it an extra thirty minutes in the oven, although for the last fifteen minutes left the oven turned off to give it a little resting time. Personally I prefer meat to have a lighter texture, so normally don't brown it before baking. Before making the sauce I lightly sauted a finely chopped spring onion in a little butter which complemented the parsley garnish nicely. For the beer I used Tasmanian Cascade Pale and the rest of the six-pack fitted in pretty well with the 1 1/2 hours baking time! By the time I was preparing the gravy all the beer was gone so rather than use stock or water used about 50ml (2 fl. oz) of Tanwy Port which I think gave it bit more of an edge and a richer flavor. So beautiful and tender was the meat my cat Molly ate more than I think I've ever seen her eat before, see attached photos also she was a little quick to be caught at the plate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2014

      I followed the recipe exactly. It smelled wonderful while cooking and the chicken was tender but it suffered from a complete lack of seasoning. We added Slap Ya Mama and hot sauce at the table that made it palatable. Am making chicken enchiladas with the leftover meat tonight in order to give it a new life. Was really hoping for a tasty one dish meal :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      I made this last night using wild newzealand rabbit. even my fussy teenage son made short work of his plate . im real happy with this recipe and will use it again the gravy was so simple . I used rice flower as its all I have worked a treat . neat colour

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I followed the recipe exactly but we didn't like it. I didn't like the smell or taste. I expected to really like it with all the high stars so far. The rabbit itself was okay where it didn't pick up too much of the sauce flavor. A lot like chicken. But over all not something I wanted to eat at all. I gave it two stars because my husband thought it was about three stars so I tried to average our ratings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Tastes so good! Followed the recipe but didn't have chili sauce, used a tbsp of hot sauce... turned out just right. Chix was moist and so very flavorful. I used Guinnes Black Lager and even the cold left-overs had that subtle flavor for my salads at work! This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2012

      This was the first recipe I tried using the meat rabbits we've started raising. We loved the sauce with the meat, but found it a little too sweet for our liking to be combined with the potatoes and carrots. I will definitely make this again, but will cook the veggies seperately some other way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      Only thing I did differently was to brine the rabbit (America's Test Kitchen style) since it was wild rabbit. Yep, asked my son to find some rabbits and, low and behold, within 10 mins. heard the first gun shot! 15 mins. later another close shot and then he came home with two. Well, I*had* promised to skin and clean them...YUCK... bad idea on my part but motivational for him. Really had intended on feeding to the dogs, but thought the dogs wouldn't miss what they never got. My first time cooking rabbit and they both turned out delicious! And, best of all, absolutely NOTHING was wasted! The heads, pelts, feet, and guts all went out for either the crows or coyotes. I cooked the hearts and livers in the crock pot.
      Most excellent recipe for the first time rabbit preparing cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      My son begged me to buy rabbit at the local butcher shop so three weeks later I did. Just made this and my KIDS loved it. It had the look and texture of chicken. I used the oven bake suggestion and 11/2 hours later it fell off the bone and was yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      Strolling through my grocery store's meat section, I noticed they were having a special on rabbit (have never seen it there before). I picked one up, then looked for a recipe. This is excellent! I would probably skip the browning next time and just let it do all it's cooking in the crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Yum! Used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and cooked in the oven. May decrease cooking time just a tad as it was a bit dry, but the flavor was superb. We don't like much of a beer flavor, but it was wonderfully mild. We added broth instead of beer for the gravy and the combination was fantastic. Will definitely make again...and this may even convince me to cook rabbit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Very good. My first time cooking rabbit and I am sure it would have been good as chicken too. Great flavor just a little sweet. Made a very good sauce. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Pretty good! I used rabbit and told my kids AFTER dinner. They thought it was chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      this sounds really GREAT!!! I will be making it with the Rabbit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I always have trouble cooking rabbit for some reason. This was easy to make. Turned out perfectly really tasty and tender. My chilli sauce had gone off (not big chilli fans) so I used some salsa dip and a fresh chilli. Thanks so much for the recipe. Definitely a keeper for next time we get a rabbit-there's plenty of them in Australia so we need good rabbit recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      (Or Pheasant...) I cut this in half using Pheasant breast and it turned out scrumptious. DH now says this is one of his most favorite ways to eat Pheasant!!! :) I prepared it in the crock pot and it took 4 hours to come out nice and tender. This has a great spicy and tangy taste. All I had was some hot chili sauce so that is what I used. This is a keeper. It's going in my Pheasant cookbook. Thanks papergoddess for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      Followed directions to teh detail and it turned out great. I made it with five chicken breasts and they were fork tender. A nice recipe to add to your list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      I made this last night, with the first rabbit my son has hunted, and all those who ate it, said it was great! In fact they want me to try using this same recipe on some pheasant when they go pheasant hunting next. I forgot to add the optional parsley and paprika garnish, but the shiny gravy glazed the dish beautifully. The flavor was perfect, and the vegatables were done just right, not mushy or overcooked.I ended up w/almost 2 cups of gravy, but still added 1/4 cup more beer, and a couple Tablespoons more brown sugar, before thickening. As one rabbit doesn't yield a enough meat for a large family, I also made a pot roast. Although I didn't eat the rabbit (I had them as pets when I was young)I loved the sauce and vegetables, and like I said,all the others really enjoyed it. Thanks for a great recipe that I'll make again. Imatrad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer-Braised Rabbit (Or Chicken) for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (573 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 598.8
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    29%
    Total Fat 19.7 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 129.2 mg
    43%
    Sodium 658.5 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    39%
    Protein 50.7 g
    101%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites