Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer Braised Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Braised Onions

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2014

      Delicious! They taste great on everything!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      So delicious and so easy to make. While we don't drink beer, I keep it on hand for occasions such this as I love to cook with it. These onions really went well with your Chicago Beer Burgers. Made for PRMR, August 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I had these with the Chicago Beer Burgers and they were great. The beer combined with the caramelization has a zen-like quality that it gives the onions. I do recommend this on every burger!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2012

      Oh so good! These were so easy to make and tasted fantastic over a pan-seared steak. It was the perfect amount for just the two of us! I used a local Costa Rican beer - Imperial, but next time will spring for a darker import. Oh, and used a raw cane sugar rather than refined white. Yummy!!! Thanks for posting, Noo! Made for Fall PAC 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      This was so easy and so good! It made just enough for two servings. We loved the sweetness of the onions. They were tender and packed full of yummy flavors. Served them on top of Marinated Flank Steak for a delicious sandwich. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      These were awesome on our grilled bratwursts. Great flavor and very easy to prepare. I used St. Pauli Girl dark beer. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Wonderful flavour! We had these onions with burgers- they tasted great on top of the burgers and as a side dish. We'll definitely return to this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Yummy! Yummy! I love how sweet the onions get in this recipe. I didn't use the whole bottle of beer, so I'm making this again tonight! Loved it. I used Budweiser and it tasted fine. Thanks for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      Really tasty! I've braised onions with beer before but using a longer simmer time and more beer than I've used previously really did help soak up the flavour and gave a great result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Worked very well! Added some green pepper and used a light beer! Served with grilled brats. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      Simple and addicting! I made them to go along with grilled porkchops, and they were delicious. Can't wait to try this when the Vidalias come into season...Thanks, Noo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      These are fantastic and pair perfectly with Chicago Beer Burgers . I can see these being great on grilled steak or as part of a fajita mixture. Perfect. Will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Made using *Gull* (Icelandic beer by Egils) & to accompany your Chicago Beer Burgers tagged in the *Best of 2008* cookbook game ~ They were the star of the combo, an easy-fix & so versatile that I expect to find many other ways to use & enjoy them. Thx for sharing this great recipe w/us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Perfect Addition to your Chicago Beer Burger!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      These made for the most awesome cheesesteaks ever. These are easy enough that they can be made whenever you have burgers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Loved these onions!! I served over Teriyaki Flank Steaks and what a great combination it made for dinner. Very quick and easy to get together and I am sure would be great to accompany almost any type of meat/poultry!! Thanks for sharing the recipe Noo!! Made for Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      oh so good and oh so easy! especially when you are one person :) loved it with the beer burgers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      SO delicious: made exactly to the recipe - which I doubled for two of us - and immensely enjoyed with Noo's Chicago Beer Burgers and a shandy - 1/2 lemonade and 1/2 beer. What else do non-beer-drinkers do with the leftover beer! Yay! :)Beer is a great ingredient! I'll definitely be making these two recipes again! These onions would also be a great accompaniment to meatloaf. Thanks for sharing these two super recipes, Noo! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This was lovely on top of hamburgers & I think a lot depends on the type of beer you use, the onions really absorb it well. I would have liked it a little sweeter but it was still a lovely side, thanks Noo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Very good, easy to do recipe. We have been making fried onions forever with brats. I had never added sugar before. These were pretty good. I can't wait to try it again when Vidalias come back in season. Made and Reviewed for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders Tag - Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Braised Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (409 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 280.0
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    37%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.4 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1179.8 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 10.5 g
    42%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites