Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer-Braised Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer-Braised Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2011

      Made this yesterday entirely in the crockpot. Mixed the meatballs, formed them and place in the crockpot. Then I mixed the sauce together, poured over the meatballs and cooked on low for 7 hours. OMG, these are good! The meatballs were melt in your mouth tender. Served over rice with a salad for a DH approved meal. Like other posters, next time I will double the meat as it does make a lot of sauce. Will definitely do in the crockpot again, so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      I loved this! I didn't have any tomato paste, but it still turned out great. My boyfriend and I ate this with spaghetti, and we thought it was the perfect amount of sauce. Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      Great recipe! As pointed out already is a little too sweet, but that's easily fixed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      These are fantastic. I used ground turkey, cut the sugar to less than a 1/4 C & served them over egg noodles. Loved the idea of browning the meatballs in the oven first. It prevented them from falling apart. I also omitted the tomato paste; didn't think it needed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2012

      These were REALLY great! After reading all the reviews regarding the sauce being a bit sweet, I cut brown sugar in half. Also, I had no tomato sauce, so I used diced tomatoes instead. Still turned out good! Hubby loved them, too. We sprinkled a little parmesan on top when served.

      Someone said the recipe didn't make many meatballs, but we've already made 2 dinner of them and still have more left over. But then it's just the 2 of us. I would definitely make these again.........maybe even for company!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      Usually I find that if you use tomato paste, there is no need for ketchup. Of course a lot will depend on the brand of sauces you use - remember CHEAP is NASTY! Rather spend that little more and have a yummy end result. Also as others have said, reduce the sauce a bit as it is a tad runny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Good meatballs...next time I will brown a little longer to get a nicer color on them. The sauce was a little on the sweet side so I will try a little less sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      Very good but just a tad too sweet. I will *definitely* be making these again and maybe just cutting back on the brown sugar a tad. Served with spaghetti.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      The meatballs were tender and had lots flavor. The sauce was very good but a little too sweet for us. Next time, I'll cut down on the sugar. This recipe makes a lot of sauce so I served it on rice but may try it next time over potatoes. I've also saved it to my appetizer cookbook since I think they'd be a hit made and served in a crock pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      These meatballs and the tomato based sauce, were absolutely delish!! I doubled the recipe, but cutting back on the bread crumbs just a bit, (I only used 3/4 cup) even tho I doubled the recipe). If making a single batch of meatballs, I would only add a 1/3 cup, as I find that's plenty of bread crumbs. I baked the meatballs in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. If and when I make this dish again, I'm going to prepare a double batch of the meatballs, as I see I had plenty of sauce leftover. Even tho the sauce tasted great, I found it wasn't as thick as I hope it would of been. Also, it was a bit on the sweet side. My husband and I much prefered the sauce and meatballs over mashed potatoes, rather than on cooked noodles. If serving over mashed potatoes, the sauce doesn't taste overly sweet, but if you serve this over noodles, the sauce is a bit too sweet. I would suggest only adding 1/3 cup of the brown sugar to the sauce, but only if you serve this over cooked noodles. And by the way, I used dark brown sugar in this recipe. One more thing, I suggest simmering the sauce & meatballs for 30 minutes, to help thicken up the sauce. Thank you mydesigirl, for posting this wonderful meatball recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I made this for a potluck that I went to last night. not only did I love it but everyone else enjoyed it as well. Thanks for this. It will be a repeat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2008

      Very tasty. Followed the recipe exactly. First, made the meatballs as part of meatball sub for the kids and myself. Then, with leftover meatballs & sauce, my wife ate them in a bowl when she returned from school - yummy according to her. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      These are tasty meatballs! I formed them a bit larger then the suggested one inch, used the equivalent of one egg using egg subsitute and for the sauce I cut the brown sugar back to a couple Tablespoons as a personal choice and skipped the tomato paste. They cooked up really nice and I served them over egg noodles with a green salad for a quick and easy dinner! Thanks for posting, this will be a repeater here! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      These are really good. I made them for dinner tonight and I have ate so many of them. I followed the recipe and they just turned out great. Thanks for posting this recipe. I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Hey Hey Hey! This is a winner! I used bison (buffalo) ground meat which is very lean so I had to add a little vegetable oil. I did not use the tomato paste. It was enough taste with the tomato sauce (a 15oz. can) and ketchup and brown sugar. I enhanced the brown sugar and tomato taste with the beer with 1/2 tsp allspice. Thanks for posting I will use again with turkey. I am sure the results will be outstanding. I might use 1 tsp. italian seasoning with the turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer-Braised Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (458 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 628.8
     
    Calories from Fat 217
    34%
    Total Fat 24.2 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 9.8 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 181.2 mg
    60%
    Sodium 1936.0 mg
    80%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.5 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 46.8 g
    187%
    Protein 34.4 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites