15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this yesterday entirely in the crockpot. Mixed the meatballs, formed them and place in the crockpot. Then I mixed the sauce together, poured over the meatballs and cooked on low for 7 hours. OMG, these are good! The meatballs were melt in your mouth tender. Served over rice with a salad for a DH approved meal. Like other posters, next time I will double the meat as it does make a lot of sauce. Will definitely do in the crockpot again, so easy.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws November 05, 2011

I loved this! I didn't have any tomato paste, but it still turned out great. My boyfriend and I ate this with spaghetti, and we thought it was the perfect amount of sauce. Will definitely make this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiRaisin November 29, 2011

Great recipe! As pointed out already is a little too sweet, but that's easily fixed!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hellboy1975 June 28, 2011

These are fantastic. I used ground turkey, cut the sugar to less than a 1/4 C & served them over egg noodles. Loved the idea of browning the meatballs in the oven first. It prevented them from falling apart. I also omitted the tomato paste; didn't think it needed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
548171 January 30, 2013

These were REALLY great! After reading all the reviews regarding the sauce being a bit sweet, I cut brown sugar in half. Also, I had no tomato sauce, so I used diced tomatoes instead. Still turned out good! Hubby loved them, too. We sprinkled a little parmesan on top when served.

Someone said the recipe didn't make many meatballs, but we've already made 2 dinner of them and still have more left over. But then it's just the 2 of us. I would definitely make these again.........maybe even for company!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
born2dans June 24, 2012

Usually I find that if you use tomato paste, there is no need for ketchup. Of course a lot will depend on the brand of sauces you use - remember CHEAP is NASTY! Rather spend that little more and have a yummy end result. Also as others have said, reduce the sauce a bit as it is a tad runny.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chuckrobbie June 06, 2012

Good meatballs...next time I will brown a little longer to get a nicer color on them. The sauce was a little on the sweet side so I will try a little less sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alohanoa May 22, 2012

Very good but just a tad too sweet. I will *definitely* be making these again and maybe just cutting back on the brown sugar a tad. Served with spaghetti.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie April 16, 2012

The meatballs were tender and had lots flavor. The sauce was very good but a little too sweet for us. Next time, I'll cut down on the sugar. This recipe makes a lot of sauce so I served it on rice but may try it next time over potatoes. I've also saved it to my appetizer cookbook since I think they'd be a hit made and served in a crock pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes July 26, 2009

These meatballs and the tomato based sauce, were absolutely delish!! I doubled the recipe, but cutting back on the bread crumbs just a bit, (I only used 3/4 cup) even tho I doubled the recipe). If making a single batch of meatballs, I would only add a 1/3 cup, as I find that's plenty of bread crumbs. I baked the meatballs in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. If and when I make this dish again, I'm going to prepare a double batch of the meatballs, as I see I had plenty of sauce leftover. Even tho the sauce tasted great, I found it wasn't as thick as I hope it would of been. Also, it was a bit on the sweet side. My husband and I much prefered the sauce and meatballs over mashed potatoes, rather than on cooked noodles. If serving over mashed potatoes, the sauce doesn't taste overly sweet, but if you serve this over noodles, the sauce is a bit too sweet. I would suggest only adding 1/3 cup of the brown sugar to the sauce, but only if you serve this over cooked noodles. And by the way, I used dark brown sugar in this recipe. One more thing, I suggest simmering the sauce & meatballs for 30 minutes, to help thicken up the sauce. Thank you mydesigirl, for posting this wonderful meatball recipe. My husband and I really enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess June 07, 2009
Beer-Braised Meatballs