Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer-Battered Fish With Tartar Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer-Battered Fish With Tartar Sauce

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2006

      AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!! A KEEPER for LIFE!!!!!!!!! Thank you SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!! :) It truely was PERFECT!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      I would give this ten stars if I could. I tried this because it was 100% five stars. I don't like batter fried fish even in restaurants; the batter always falls off. This was the best fish and chips I've had so far... anywhere. Next time I think I am also going to batter vegetables like a tempura, onions rings ... I'm gonna have fun with this. So easy, so good. Thanks! If your batter isn't crisping, try turning up the heat a bit.<br/><br/>The tarter sauce is very good. I use it all of the time. I'll never buy premade tarter sauce again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Outstanding! Light crispy batter. The whole family gave it a thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      Since I only made the tartar sauce, I debated on whether to leave a star rating, but it was SO good, I threw caution to the wind and said, YES! This sauce... I don't even know what to say except A) it went flying into my ENCORE cookbook -- reserved for the best of the best -- and B) it was the best tartar sauce I've ever tasted and C) I'll never have another including in a restaurant. I'll bring THIS recipe! Thank you, ncmysteryshopper... FIVE BIG FAT STARS from us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      VERY good! I made it tonight for supper, and my hubby gave it several kudos, which is huge, as he thinks saying something is 'good' is the same as anyone else saying "Wow fabulous". So yah! Highly recommend this one. We used dark beer, and the flavor was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      Made this twice now, using Cod and Halibut.. I added sliced zucchini too the other day.. Looks and tastes like we bought it. Heats up the next day VERY WELL in the OVEN with a few water splashes. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      The fish turned out great, made homemade chips with malt vinegar, reminded of my days in New England. Batter was nice and light.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      This fish is excellent. The batter is light and crispy and the tartar sauce completes the wonderful experience. This is a recipe to use again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      We really enjoyed this. I used haddock, and had my DH make it for me! It was crisp and light and turned out great for us. Just like a fish and chip shop! This will be our batter recipe from here on in. The trick to making it crispy is to only do a few pieces at a time, as recipes states or else the oil will cool! Thanks for sharing Cheryl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      I used pollock filets instead of cod, but otherwise followed the recipe. The batter was very light and crispy, and DH loved it, saying that it was the best fish I've ever made him! He loved the sauce, too. Thanks for posting this one and making me look good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      5 stars for the batter and the tartar. We enjoyed this for a wonderfully relaxed Sunday night dinner. The batter was crisp and light...the tartar was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2013

      Very very nice. My mum and dad loved it. Thank-you ?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      So Simple, I used the batter only, my DD loves puffed fish as she calls it. I had some freesh Hogfish and fried up 2 fillets about 1kilo of fish and She downed 4 tacos in record time. I xserved them with a little mayo mixed with chipotle and lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      I used cod for this recipe and it came out wonderfully! Very easy recipe and quite tasty! Make sure your oil is hot enough, though, otherwise you'll get soggy fillets. This recipe is right on the money, and I will be using this from now on. Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      Very good made with haddock too. Made it your way as part of a big family fish fry and everyone gave it a thumbs up. Thanks for sharing another good one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      The batter tasted great. However, it didn't crisp up as much as I would have liked. I may not have had my oil hot enough? I didn't try the tartar sauce, but the batter was great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      WOW 5 stars !!! this fish is excellent, crispy and yummy, yummy, yummy. The batter is nce but you eat fish with batter and not batter with fish-in-there-somewhere. I made 14 small pieces for 3 of us and we ate the lot ! This is my recipe of choice for battered fish from now on. Please see my rating system, a wonderful 5 stars :) Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      Excellent Fish! The batter wasn't really thick so I was a bit worried that there wouldn't be much of it left on the fish, but the end result was beautifully cooked fish with a light crisp batter. You could really taste the fish without it being overpowered by a soggy heavy batter. We really enjoyed this. I didn't make the tartar sauce as I have my own recipe that I make so I can't comment on that. I highly recommend this batter for frying fish! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      While this was very tasty, the batter did not crisp up for me, maybe I did something wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      Wonderful! DD went to London last New Year's Eve as a parade participant and said that these were 'WAY better" than the ones she had there. Mama's cooking always tastes better! lol Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer-Battered Fish With Tartar Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (407 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 578.5
     
    Calories from Fat 205
    35%
    Total Fat 22.8 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 159.5 mg
    53%
    Sodium 708.3 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 46.4 g
    92%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites