20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!! A KEEPER for LIFE!!!!!!!!! Thank you SO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!! :) It truely was PERFECT!!!!!!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildflour July 03, 2006

I would give this ten stars if I could. I tried this because it was 100% five stars. I don't like batter fried fish even in restaurants; the batter always falls off. This was the best fish and chips I've had so far... anywhere. Next time I think I am also going to batter vegetables like a tempura, onions rings ... I'm gonna have fun with this. So easy, so good. Thanks! If your batter isn't crisping, try turning up the heat a bit.<br/><br/>The tarter sauce is very good. I use it all of the time. I'll never buy premade tarter sauce again

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Dukes May 13, 2013

Outstanding! Light crispy batter. The whole family gave it a thumbs up!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cnjgilbert March 02, 2010

Since I only made the tartar sauce, I debated on whether to leave a star rating, but it was SO good, I threw caution to the wind and said, YES! This sauce... I don't even know what to say except A) it went flying into my ENCORE cookbook -- reserved for the best of the best -- and B) it was the best tartar sauce I've ever tasted and C) I'll never have another including in a restaurant. I'll bring THIS recipe! Thank you, ncmysteryshopper... FIVE BIG FAT STARS from us!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) July 18, 2006

VERY good! I made it tonight for supper, and my hubby gave it several kudos, which is huge, as he thinks saying something is 'good' is the same as anyone else saying "Wow fabulous". So yah! Highly recommend this one. We used dark beer, and the flavor was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luvinmyfamily November 03, 2008

Made this twice now, using Cod and Halibut.. I added sliced zucchini too the other day.. Looks and tastes like we bought it. Heats up the next day VERY WELL in the OVEN with a few water splashes. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco July 20, 2006

The fish turned out great, made homemade chips with malt vinegar, reminded of my days in New England. Batter was nice and light.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed&Theresa July 08, 2006

This fish is excellent. The batter is light and crispy and the tartar sauce completes the wonderful experience. This is a recipe to use again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy in Casco March 17, 2006

We really enjoyed this. I used haddock, and had my DH make it for me! It was crisp and light and turned out great for us. Just like a fish and chip shop! This will be our batter recipe from here on in. The trick to making it crispy is to only do a few pieces at a time, as recipes states or else the oil will cool! Thanks for sharing Cheryl!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ October 12, 2005

I used pollock filets instead of cod, but otherwise followed the recipe. The batter was very light and crispy, and DH loved it, saying that it was the best fish I've ever made him! He loved the sauce, too. Thanks for posting this one and making me look good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan October 01, 2005
Beer-Battered Fish With Tartar Sauce