39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This beer batter was AWESOME. We cubed the Halibut into 1 x 2 inch chunks and used 1 bottle of darker beer. My son says it's a 100 stars recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
singrano August 29, 2011

This was a quick and easy fish and chips batter, as good as the expensive, store-bought brands. We used whole wheat flour a St. Ambroise pale ale (only 1 bottle). It was a bit thick, so we will try a bit more beer next time. Also, we used fresh haddock which is delicious (so far it's the only way I can get my husband to eat fish).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DiGiacomo June 05, 2010

This was my first time to make battered fish. We loved fish´n´chips when we went to New Zealand and so we have to make them here as there are no ´chippies´ here in Rio. Will be trying this batter on all the different fish that we have locally. Thanks from Stela and Barbara who both loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwi carioca October 01, 2009

My sister called for a recipe because she was having guests over for a TV night and she happened to call just as I was printing this recipe to try. She made it first and called to tell me it was delicious (despite setting her apartment on fire twice trying to make it without a deep fryer). I made it following her rave reviews (though I used whole wheat flour...and a deep fryer) and she was right! Scrumptious! The whole family loved it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kirbyandjill May 06, 2009

I am not a big fan of fish but we were trying to eat fish on Friday's as much as we could. Bought two bags of frozen cod, used Coor's beer, and vegetable oil to fry the fish. I also did use a candy thermometer to make sure my oil was hot enough. Loved the flavor of the fish and the crunchy coating was so good. Very easy to make and next time might try the Old Bay seasoning like one of the reviewers did. Thank you Bethany Taylor for posting this recipe! Made and reviewed for Pick A Chef Spring 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 April 15, 2009

This was my first attempt at beer battered fish. I made a few changes to the recipe to make the meal as healthy as possible( whole wheat flower and peanut oil) I used fresh catfish rather than cod as it was on sale...turned out great. I skipped the paprika and added a few tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning to the batter. Four of us scarfed down 2.5 lbs of catfish so I would say everyone enjoyed this recipe. Roasted red potatoes and cole slaw on the side w/ plenty of cold beer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pcgrant2002 April 03, 2009

Great battered fish that DS and I both had with some fried potato wedges!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherylsprague68 March 14, 2009

this was wonderful if found the recipe and took beer from my dad so i could make this the same day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mp_coyne January 21, 2009
Beer Battered Fish (For Fish N'chips)