39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is SOOOOOO good!!! I wish there was more than 5 stars!!!!! I've made this batter several times. I added 1/4 c. cornstarch to the dredge flour...(have NO idea where I got the from, but it does work!) & I doubled the salt in the batter. One bottle of beer is perfect!!!
Tonite, I deep fried a pound of cod, made onion rings & battered mushrooms, too....gonna try some deep fried WI cheese curds, next time!!!!!
THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman February 05, 2011

This was my first time making battered fish and it was definetly a hit! I fed my fiance' and brother and both ate so much they "had to go lay down".. They told me to make sure I kept this recipe around! I added 1/4 cup of cornstarch to the 1/2 cup of flour like another review said and it was perfect. Thank you for this recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Britt #2 February 19, 2010

Made this today for dinner. Used pollack. Fish was great, really easy and very light crisp. I used 3/4 cup flour and 1/4 corn starch. The next time I make it I will use a little more salt. Makes a lot of batter. Made onion rings. Really Good!. Will make again. Make sure you have a lot of paper towels to drain oil from food.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookingmama11 May 01, 2010

Made this many times, exactly as listed. I love it, hubby loves it and two picky kids love it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yumyumNtumtum June 07, 2013

I'm giving this 5 stars because I know my problem was I got the batter too thin. I followed the instructions about how thin it should be, but didn't get it right. Even though that was the case, the batter fried up very crispy and tasted wonderful. I'll be using this again and just using a bit less beer. (Make the batter a bit thicker then test fry a piece before you drink the rest of the beer:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest November 14, 2012

I tried this recipe for dinner today and the hubby was VERY impressed. I used cod and it was delicious. I used 1/4 cup of cornstarch as another reviewer suggested and made sure the oil was at 375. It came out crispy and light...just like the restaurants do it. It was fast, very easy and not at all complicated. I'll be making this again, for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boyleheightsbaby47 August 16, 2012

Amazing...The best.Delicate and crispy...look no further for THE BEST fish.I did mix the flour with 1/4 cup cornstarch which may have helped make it so crispy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciurria6 September 05, 2009

Man I'm losing it, I swear I've reviewed this recipe before (this is the second time in a week!). Took me a while to find it, but it's so good I couldn't quit looking till I did. This is the perfect batter for real fish and chips, not the crap the sell in restaurants most places outside of the northeast and Michigan. Thanks so much for posting, I've been fiending every since we moved 8 years ago!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy January 11, 2009

So good! I also used 1/2 cornstarch for tempura-like crispiness, and used half again more flour/cornstarch than was called for; my batter was very watery without it. We had fish & fried button mushrooms w/ ranch dressing and they were light, crispy & delicious. Tomorrow I'm going to use the leftover batter on zucchini cubes. Thanks : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weewah July 19, 2013

Fabulous! Big hit with hubby and he said it's better than some restaurants. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
7Seven May 31, 2012
Beer Battered Fish (For Fish N'chips)