13 Reviews

So Good! This bread has the perfect texture. I didn't have green onion, so I browned a cooking onion, which I loved. It tasted like carmelized onion! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u September 02, 2011

Very, very yummy! Moist and pleasantly dense. I added a bit more variety of spices and cheese and I also threw in a few heaping tablespoons of cooked breakfast sausage pieces. It was made for an early morning meeting at work and was a HUGE hit. Would recommend to anyone!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasCookieMama December 02, 2010

Mmmhmm. This is So good. Fixed exactly as written, used Budweiser. Served with spicy black bean soup. Perfect pairing! Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peg629 January 14, 2010

This was a quick very easy recipe to make!
The grating of the cheese was the longest part before baking.
Very dense and full of flavor bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
airlink diva December 12, 2012

I have made this 3 times now. It is simple, quick and deliscious. Thanks for sharing the recipe !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pond Lady December 26, 2009

EXCELLENT! So easy, so fast--and amazingly tasty! I made one loaf with roasted garic as well, and that was great. I used good old Budweiser and the flavor was perfect. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusanElizabeth November 02, 2009

Sensational!!! I was in a hurry so I baked as muffins. I never imagined something so easy would be so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bama Gal October 05, 2009

Yummy Yummy Yummy and so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vivaglam5 October 02, 2009

YUMMO (summed up in one word). Perfect hint of sweetness, beer, onion, etc. Great stuff and very easy. I used a wheat beer. Subbed Splenda for the sugar (which was great. . .no nasty aftertaste). I made my own self-rising flour with your recipe, using 2 cups regular flour and 1 cup wheat flour. I took Loula's lead and threw some sunflower seeds on top. Mine was cooked perfectly in 1 hour. Hubby came home and saw it sitting on the counter and said "Wow, that looks great!" which is quite a complement from my spoiled rotten hubby! I loved the rustic look of this loaf. Served this with some tomato based veggie soup tonight. Made for VEG*N Swap Aug 2009. THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride August 17, 2009

WOW, this is an AMAZINGLY TASTY BREAD! I saw the recipe in your cookbook yesterday night at 12pm and knew I had to try it, so I went into the kitchen and just started baking it. :) It was very easy to put together and quick, too. I had to bake it quite some time longer than stated (~1 1/2 hours in total), but that might have been due to my using a small loaf pan, which was very full. Coming from the oven the bread smelled heavenly-very cheesy and onionly. This morning then I had it for breakkie and oh the taste! The onion and cheese go so well together and the sweetness from the sugar complements this very nicely. I had some honey roasted sunflower seeds handy and thought they might be a nice additon, so I sprinkled them on top before baking, which made for a crunchy topping. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this winner of a recipe with us, Ravenseyes! Made and reviewed for Veg'n'Swap #12 July 09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 26, 2009
Beer Batter Cheese Bread