18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very delicious and easy. I did find that the batter did not sick well to scallops when cooked. To solve this issue, I had seen a slight variation in another recipe where the author dredged the fish lightly in cornstarch prior to dipping in the batter. This made a 100% difference in the batter sticking to the scallops during cooking. Great recipe Janice. Thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Saskatchewan Bound February 21, 2010

Great foundation batter. Go ahead and add some spices like cajun, or oregano to give it more depth.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonkeyBoy February 28, 2009

I was looking for a beer batter recipe to make corn fritters. My family LOVES corn fritters, and this recipe more than satisfied everybody. Don't worry if you don't like beer - it just gives a yeasty "depth" to the flavour; there is no "beer" taste in the finished batter. Crispy on the outside, satisfyingly rich and chewy inside... and you couldn't ask for easier directions. Thanks, Janice!
p.s. I doubled the recipe and then used about 2 cups of corn (I think).
p.p.s. Use a bland, cheap beer (but not Lite). Don't waste a good beer or a strong one - the taste may be bitter or overpowering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay3fer October 22, 2011

Very good! Nice and simple!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rich3 October 25, 2009

I used this last night with some halibut that I had defrosted. This is very good...probably as good as any restaurant batter that I have had. I am going to try it as a batter for onion rings and other veggies next. Simple recipe with a great result. Thanks Janice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WaCookinFool August 21, 2009

My brother just loves fish and chips. He is disabled so it is hard to get him out a lot. So I decided to try my hand at making homemade fish and chips! For the first time making this batter, I followed it exactly as written. We both thought the fish turned out every bit as good as any restaurant prepared fish! This is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkoch960 July 19, 2009

This was a great batter. Like other reviewers I added a few spices to jazz it up. It made light and crispy deep fried mushrooms. I'll be using this often and plan to experiment with different spices. Can't wait to try it for onion rings. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY June 28, 2009

Very, very, good. I made as directed. Used for onion rings and they tasted just like my favorite restaurants. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo October 29, 2008

Good and crispy! I added cajun seasoning to the batter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deltagyrl April 12, 2008

Excellent! We used the batter on fresh fish. The only change I made was I used garlic salt instead of regular salt. Thanks for a new favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toadi March 05, 2008
Beer Batter