Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Beer Batter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Beer Batter

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2010

      This was very delicious and easy. I did find that the batter did not sick well to scallops when cooked. To solve this issue, I had seen a slight variation in another recipe where the author dredged the fish lightly in cornstarch prior to dipping in the batter. This made a 100% difference in the batter sticking to the scallops during cooking. Great recipe Janice. Thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Great foundation batter. Go ahead and add some spices like cajun, or oregano to give it more depth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      I was looking for a beer batter recipe to make corn fritters. My family LOVES corn fritters, and this recipe more than satisfied everybody. Don't worry if you don't like beer - it just gives a yeasty "depth" to the flavour; there is no "beer" taste in the finished batter. Crispy on the outside, satisfyingly rich and chewy inside... and you couldn't ask for easier directions. Thanks, Janice!
      p.s. I doubled the recipe and then used about 2 cups of corn (I think).
      p.p.s. Use a bland, cheap beer (but not Lite). Don't waste a good beer or a strong one - the taste may be bitter or overpowering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Very good! Nice and simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      I used this last night with some halibut that I had defrosted. This is very good...probably as good as any restaurant batter that I have had. I am going to try it as a batter for onion rings and other veggies next. Simple recipe with a great result. Thanks Janice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      My brother just loves fish and chips. He is disabled so it is hard to get him out a lot. So I decided to try my hand at making homemade fish and chips! For the first time making this batter, I followed it exactly as written. We both thought the fish turned out every bit as good as any restaurant prepared fish! This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      This was a great batter. Like other reviewers I added a few spices to jazz it up. It made light and crispy deep fried mushrooms. I'll be using this often and plan to experiment with different spices. Can't wait to try it for onion rings. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Very, very, good. I made as directed. Used for onion rings and they tasted just like my favorite restaurants. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      Good and crispy! I added cajun seasoning to the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Excellent! We used the batter on fresh fish. The only change I made was I used garlic salt instead of regular salt. Thanks for a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      This was DELICIOUS! Very easy to make. We used the batter on Jumbo Shrimp and they turned out Perfect! :) Thanks for a recipe that my family will use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Excellent! We loved it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      this was a awesome recipe!! Can't wait to try it on Veggies!! I used it with chicken breasts and it came out great--I'm adding it to my "special recipe" book!! Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      Yummy and yet so easy. Makes awesome mushrooms. Great party food!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      I used this batter with tilapa filets. Yummmm!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      This was very tasty with Tasmanian scallops Janice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2006

      excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      Easy and perfect- mix it up, let it sit for a while, and dip away for the simplest, perfect beer batter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Beer Batter

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.7
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    55%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 692.8 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes