10 Reviews

These are very different and quite good! I made half the recipe using one lb of ground chuck. The beer flavor really comes through in a good way, and they are delicious with onions and a spot of spicy mustard. Next time I may sub onions for the relish. Thanks for posting! Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian December 20, 2010

Thanks to Best of 2011 Cookbook Official Game I picked this recipe to try.

The flavor is really good. I was not sure about the beer but that is what made this recipe. For the beer I chose Blue Moon Winter Abbey ale, which is one beer I love to drink.

Looking forward to trying different beers with this.

My picture of this recipe did not come out. Since this is now a family favorite of ours I will be posting a picture of this soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE January 31, 2012

Oh loof! These burgers are delicious! I cannot believe the amount of flavor I got from these.....however, I got the flavor using a charcoal grill and infusing the smokey taste by covering and letting the smoke seep in. II topped some with Havarti cheese and some with White American. Also added red leaf lettuce and onions as a topping. As i made them, this is a keeper burger recipe! Not sure how this would work out on a gas grill or cooked indoors, but outside on a smokey charcoal grill, these are absolute perfections. 5 stars!! Thanks so much for the recipe....definitely a make again recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 06, 2011

These make a really moist and flavoursome burger. I subbed a little hot salsa for the relish which worked out really well. Topped off with a slice of cheese, these totally hit the spot!
Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo July 31, 2011

I used stella artois beer and some relish. They were really yummy. Thanks loof :) Made for 123 hit wonders

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 05, 2011

I loved these burgers!!! I felt that they were nice and juicy and yet a more tender burger. I just made one burger, so scaled the recipe back to use 5 oz. ground beef. I took another's suggestion of using minced onion, as I love onions with burgers, in place of the relish as a personal preference. Thanks for sharing another winning recipe loof!!! Made for 123 Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 April 12, 2011

These are very tasty! I used Guinness for the beer and served these with pretzels and dill pickles. I really liked the flavour of the relish in there. I will probably do that in my burgers from now on! Also, I didn't chop up the pretzels completely so there was some texture from them. Yum! Made for 1,2,3 tag game. Thanks loof! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif April 05, 2011

Great-tasting, classic burgers. I loved the beer flavors in these- not overpowering at all, just a nice background flavor. The dill was a nice addition as well. I usually like to top burgers with crazy amounts of stuff, but these taste perfect with just ketchup and mustard. [Made & Reviewed for PRMR]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer June 10, 2013

I thought these were okay, definitely a different type of burger, hubby wasn't too keen so not something I'd make again but always good to try something new.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** September 10, 2012

these are really good but i like beer make sure you are using the kind you like cause the flavor comes through
i put a little mustard on top of burger after flipped and covered it with cheese it was great this way

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. July 02, 2012
Beer and Pretzel Burgers