59 Reviews

I am making this for the second time tonight because it is that GOOD! I didn't puree it and used 1 can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos and omitted the cayenne. The spice level was perfect for the BF but a little spicy for me though served over corn bread it was AWESOME!! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate Plate March 10, 2009

This is a fantastic soup!!! I made it with 16 oz can of diced tomatoes and 8 oz can of tomatoes with green chillies. Left out the bell pepper, doubled the garlic. I drained the beef after cooking, for less grease. I added a 16 ounce can of pinto beans and topped with mexican shredded cheese and sour cream. I didn't puree it. Served with a Caesar Salad recipe #618000 from evelyn/athens and crusty bread. My DH and his friend devoured this. I wanted leftovers, but it's all gone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Imagenie February 06, 2009

I was looking for a pureed soup and made this exactly as described except that I left out the beef. (I don't like pureed meat.) I didn't really love it (maybe the meat changes the flavour profile quite a bit?) I ended up freezing it in a few batches and I'm going to add it the next time I make chili. Otherwise I would have thrown a lot of it out. I would not make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolyn January 26, 2009

Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrssmith66 November 07, 2008

A very tasty soup that all can adjust to their own taste. The basic concept of refried beans and beef broth as the base -- YUM!! I agree, ditch the celery and cinnamon, and add more of whatever beans you like. I agree no need to blender, though I did hand-cut the peeled tomatoes with scissors in the can before adding (my personal technique! canned "diced" aren't as tasty). I too only gave it 3 stars because no soup with this few vegetables can rate any higher with me, but I threw in some shredded Napa cabbage I had on hand -- disappears into it, and and ups the nutrition some!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie H. October 28, 2008

Made it as listed except didn't add the celery or cinnamon. I did add a 15 oz can of black beans. Without the black beans it would not seem complete. I did not blender it at the end. The texture does add to the goodness of the soup. It is a good change from chili. I would make this again with these changes. Only gave it 3 stars because it is missing something without the extra beans. Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawni October 21, 2008

We definitely liked the soup, but I have to agree with another reviewer . . . it wasn't "beany" enough for us . . . so I added an extra can of refried beans. I also eliminated the celery, due to personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miriachi September 03, 2008

This soup was good and really different. We prefer brothier soups which is why we might not make it that often, but its definitely a nice alternative to chili. I omitted the celery as it just doesn't go with Mexican food IMO. We added a bit more broth per the suggestion of another user, and although it thinned out the soup amazingly the refried bean flavor was still there making it very unique. Thanks for sharing - great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpknight22 August 27, 2008

This was delicious, and quite easy to make. The only thing I did differently was to add only 1/2 of a bell pepper (all I had on hand) and I threw in a couple chopped chipotles in adobo for flavor and heat. My only complaint is that this didn't taste very bean-y... I love refried beans, which is why I was drawn to this recipe. Next time I'll double the beans and half the tomatoes, and possibly leave out the celery as well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stella8037 July 18, 2008

This was a great a tasting soup...although I did add a lot more stock to thin it out and chopped jalapeno's. I topped mine with a handful of lightly crushed cornchips and grated cheese then zapped in the microwave so cheese melted. Mmm...a tasty Sat night's supper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie July 01, 2008
Beefy Refried Bean Soup